Beat logo

Dance It Out - 2020.

"We have to dance it out. That's how we finish."

By KamPublished 4 years ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
4

The quote that has probably crossed most of your Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter feeds in the past couple months reads:

What if 2020 isn't cancelled? What if 2020 is the year we've been waiting for? A year so uncomfortable, so painful, so scary, so raw - that it finally forces us to grow. A year that screams so loud, finally awakening us from our ignorant slumber. A year we finally accept the need for change. Declare change. Work for change. Become the change. A year we finally band together, instead of pushing each other further apart. 2020 isn't cancelled, but rather the most important year of them all.

I agree wholeheartedly with this statement. I think that 2020 has the power to change everything - our outlook, our politcal systems, our ecosystem, our government, our health, all of it. However, 2020 is only half way over and I think we're all starting to feel the ramifications of that. You can only watch so much Netflix, Hulu, and Disney+ in one sitting. For me, I decided to rewatch all 16 seasons of Grey's Anatomy. 10/10 recommend.

For those that have seen Grey's Anatomy, Christina and Meredith deal with their issues in a different way than most people - dancing or as they refer to it, dancing it out. I'm adopted this tactic for myself. I think that to deal with rest of 2020, to get through Covid-19 and push through being cooped up another day it's time to just let go. And since I'm one of those people that turns to music for just about everything - waking up, driving, showering, breakups, makeups, cooking, you catch my drift, I did what I always do - find music. For anyone else that feels like they need some new music in their life, I've I compiled a list of new music, old music, slow music, fist pumping music, feel good music, and cry your eyes out music. Who doesn't love a good playlist for just about every emotion in the book, eh? I call this specific playlist, yeah, you guessed it - dance it out.

The Optimist - Evie Irie

Every Morning I Feel Like Running Away - TOMI

Three. Two. One. - Lennon Stella (Full Album)

Mr. - Leslie Odom Jr (Full Album)

More Than We Know - Alicia Keys

The Adventure - Angels & Airwaves

I Don't Belong To You - MILCK

VICES - Mothica

Move It Like This - Baha Men

F*ck With Myself - Banks

You Should Be Dancing - Bee Gees

Old Friends - Ben Rector

6's to 9's - Bild Wild

My Strange Addiction - Billie Eilish

Get Up (Rattle) - The Bingo Players

Make A Move - Lawrence

Lessons - Sinead Harnett

Slow Down - Mac Ayres

Moonwalking - Kwassa

Casualty - Lawrence

Tomorrow Tonight - Loote

Never Too Much - Luther Vandross

Love You Like That - Dagny

Easy - Mac Ayres

Banana (Minisiren Remix) - Conkarah ft Shaggy

Dancing In The Street - Stephen Day

Day 1 - HONNE

Love Train - The O' Jays

Blame It On The Boogie - The Jacksons

Get Down On It - Kool & The Gang

More Today Than Yesterday - Spiral Staircase

Where Does the Good Go - Tegan and Sara

It's Raining Men - The Weather Girls

Tubthumping - Chumbawamba

Boys - Lizzo

Future Nostalagia - Dua Lipa (Full Album)

Bust A Move - Young MC

So Good - Dove Cameron

RSVP - Maren Morris

I Miss You, I'm Sorry - Gracie Abrams

Summer Lovin' - The Tuesday Crew

Hey Mickey - Toni Basil

30,000 Feet - Ben Rector

High Horse - Kacey Musgraves

Homecoming Queen? - Kelsea Ballerini

Waiting Games - Trella

I Don't Want It At All - Kim Petras

So if you need a moment to dance it out, or cry, or laugh, or just sit and listen - I gotcha covered.

dance
4

About the Creator

Kam

My belief: Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.