Beat logo

Daft Punk: An iconic era coming to an end

Sadness, hits and uncertainty

By Anastasia SPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Daft Punk: An iconic era coming to an end
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

2021 - where shall i start? Why did you have to do this?

After 2020, you were meant to be the light at the end of the tunel. I guess you were laughing at all of us here hoping for a much better you, and here you are with a major hit to the system. Daft Punk splitting after so many years - and we are yet to find out why.

Who is Daft Punk?

Daft Punk were - you have no idea how heartbreaking it is to write in past tense about them - a French electronic music duo that came to life in 1993. They quickly become famous in the 90's with their House style of music combining elements of so many genres of music. Over the decades, they conquered our hearts and minds with so many popular dance hits that I dare to say you are yet to listen to any of these if you were born in the 90's.

I am still in shock. How can I process this news on a Monday evening here in the UK, 6.12 PM my time as i am reading this news. This is a duo that shaped my childhood. I grew up to their tunes. Listening to those EDM beats during some of the most important parts of my life.

Once you free your mind about a concept of harmony and music being correct, you can do whatever you want.

- Giorgio by Moroder, Daft Punk

The only bright side of this sad news is the Twitter community. It is so lovely to see so many people either sharing their connection with the duo's music or their favourite song or how much the duo's music meant to them. The impact that music has on souls can be so wide that we should never take it for granted. I am so incredibly grateful for the wonderful memories and feelings that their music gave me.

As I sulk over the loss of potentially great music, let me introduce you to some of their best hits. Dance and electronic music defines the musical movement of our era.

"Lose Yourself to Dance" feat. Pharrell

This song is about dancing, giving in to the tunes and get funky on the floor. It is about that friend that drags you out of the booth you just wanna sink in, and that friend in this song is Pharrell. The layered robotic vocal harmonies are just the best making this such an iconic song.

"Aerodynamic"

Now ladies and gentlemen, let me present you with the best guitar solo in electronic music history. I really wanna be so selfish and say that might be the best out there. If you haven't listened to this song yet, please do. This song was released around 20 years ago and it brings me as much joy today as it used to back when I discovered it.

"Get Lucky"

70's and 80's disco and soul combinations getting us one of their biggest hits ever: Get lucky. Bringing Pharrell and Nigel Rogers, an amazing song has risen from the ashes. This song has been a break from their normal, a change that was welcomed by some of their fans. While I am sure they might have lost some old fans with this song, I know they gained so many more.

"Around The World"

Where do I start with this incredible song? From the choreography, the music video to the club sounds, it has it all in my opinion. What amazed me about this song and it made it stand out from the crowd is that every time you listen to you, you can focus on a different type of sound and it can be such a wonderfully different experience. Try listening to different sonic elements each time and how much fun that is. I deeply believe this is a piece of pop culture that we can reply to again and again forever.

"Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger"

The first time I heard this tune was on Cartoon Network's Toonami when I was a child. As time flew by and I realised I loved the computer science field so much I wanted to study it, this song was on repeat on too many late-night assignment nights at university. This track also gained so many new fans when Kanye sampled it, making it so much more successful.

"One More Time"

How can you describe in words the greatest party anthem of our generation? A song about celebrating and dancing free one more time. A song that will live throughout time. When it was initially released, the song did originally have some backlash, but soon after it raised to the tops. I think as a song it shows how great it can be to let people discover music when it is great for them.

This song just simply hits all the right tunes, the right spots. It just makes you tune in and scream the lyrics from the top of your lungs.

"Epilogue"

As much as it brings me sadness, I love the way they announced their split. Epilogue is their video that has just been released. It is based on an excerpt from their 2006 film Electroma. Towards the end, as one of the robots disintegrated, the caption that broke our hearts appears: "1993 - 2021".

As of this moment, we are yet to know the reasons behind the duo's split and if I am to be honest with you, I am not sure I am ready to find out. I love the enigma they are creating with their video, the original idea of how they did it.

I have spent most of my evening going through the comments on their YouTube channel video or the #DaftPunk on Twitter and I cannot see a more loving and passionate community of people.

Daft Punk, this is my thank you for providing a space and music that will transcend time. I will forver miss this duo.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Anastasia S

I always loved writing, but I never got the courage to start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.