Beat logo

Clearly

Out on ALL music streaming platforms!

By Lyrical Value Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
✨✨✨

It was bound to happen one way or the other 🤷🏽‍♂️.

Not to be all sales pitchy with my work but this particular song really did change my life...for the better of course.

Now, like some other things, I didn't expect this one song to take me where I am in my music journey so far. I'm currently one of the nominees for the Charlotte Music Video Awards and the winner will be announced this July so stay tuned!

Back to how this specific song changed my life...

You know how I spoke about in a previous article of mine that I do a lot of introspection, this song is the perfect representation of that. Now excuse the weed smoking, I added this element for the dramatic effect it displays in regards to my thoughts being once clouded but now I'm thinking clearly as I'm sure you've gathered if you watched the video before reading this.

Before I started active duty, I went through an experience where my ex got an abortion behind my back. That tore me up for a little while after that because I love kids. My thing was that she could've talked to me about this decision first before making it as if she got pregnant on her own...SMH.

Anyway, it was what it was but I'm over that situation of course. When I stumbled upon the beat to this song, I was immediately sold on the vibe that it gave me. I mean doesn't the beat give you a "reflective" type feel to it? That's what it gave me so that's how I decided to approach it and I basically "spilled the tea" as they say on my thought process about what happened in that abortion situation. I mentioned that my ex could've been the one that I'd end up having a long-term relationship with, but she fucked up and my current queen, Yasmin, swooped in to take her spot...oh well 🤷🏽‍♂️.

Again, it's all good. I've moved on and most importantly grown from it so I'm now onto bigger and better blessings in my life.

This song was essentially released to track my progress in how I handle tough situations. At the time, I tried smoking it away which I talk about in the second verse on how that's not the way to go. There's nothing wrong with weed itself but I used it as a crutch or a way to numb my pain. We have to face our issues head-on because that's the only way we'll learn more about ourselves. If we use everything but patience through the process of recovering to escape our pain, we'll never be able to overcome trials properly just to keep it 💯 with you all.

On that note, I think it's only right that I share with you that I'm about to have the biggest performance I've ever been a part of SXSW (South by Southwest) THIS MARCH! I'm also one of the runner-up candidates for the 2019 International Songwriting Competition and the grand prize winner will be announced for that THIS APRIL!

With all of that being said, there's so many exciting things to look forward to dealing with this song (as well as my other ones) this year and it's all just the beginning... :)

If you've made it to here, I would just like to express my appreciation for allowing me to share my stories with you. I'm continually growing into myself but I'm proud of who I am today. Can't wait to share more! Talk soon!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Lyrical Value

Your writing aficionado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.