Beat logo

CISK0: A True Artist of 'The Valley's Finest' in Hip-Hop

Story of underrated talent that will rise

By TealPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Cisk0 the one on the left

From the edge of Bakersfeild to the edge of Clovis, California's Central Valley holds many talents, and they have much to show for in the music game, let alone the genre of Hip-Hop. All of this and more will launch a new series, called The Valley's Finest, which follow the journeys of the California Central Valley's independent musical artist who are in start of their career, and on their way for success. One journey we record is one of true raw talent, that proves once again that the underground artists have actual skills, compared to artists like Drake (no shade intended, but the boy is a poser). To talk realness now, let's talk CISK0. I know what you're thinking, and it's not from the song by WAR that goes, "Cisco kid was friend of mine," but CISK0, with a zero at the end. The CISK0 article will be the first to debut the new series, The Valley's Finest, and we are very happy to share his story, thanks to David B. at Teal fanbase. David B. tell us, "This guy can spit. Like damn, you really don't find talent like that anymore, thanks to him helping understand that even the most underrated independent artist has more skill in their left big toe than most artists have in their whole career."

Be was born in Central Valley's very own Del Rey, Ca., a small American town with a big heart that currently houses under 2,000 citizens as a part of the Fresno County. CISK0 tells us, "I always knew music was something I needed to do, but during a time I didn't know how. Luckily, at age 16 I started recording and releasing music." The now-22-year-old rapper is a proud father of a one-year-old boy, named Jordan. CISK0 lets us know that, despite the ups and downs of the industry, he will continue to keep pushing and nothing will stop him.

David B. and myself (Teal) have chosen a different select-few of questions, made just for CISK0. The reason behind, David tell us, is that "we really want to cover each aspect of the music business, and explore in the depth of each genre. As of now we are covering Hip-Hop, and are selecting artists who bring something different and exciting to the art." When I was interviewing CISK0, it was as if working with you know you can relate to. And the interview to follow:

Teal: When did Hip-Hop begin to influence you and help you become a rapper?

CISK0: Music in general has always been a part of my life. I remember first falling in love with Hip-Hop, around six years old. Me and my uncle would ride around in his Eclipse singing, "Hate it or love it, the underdogs on top, and I'm going to shine homie until my heart stops," and nothing really made me want to pursue music. It was just something I couldn't stay away from, just as it couldn't stay away from me.

Which evolution in the rap game touched you, on a personal level?

That 90s Hip-Hop was real. Tupac and Biggie's music really hit home, and you can feel throughout every word they say.

How do you feel the rap game is going now?

That's a good question, I see progression. This game isn't run by the players, but the fans. I feel like the fans are starting to appreciate true talent, rather than an image and controversy.

What do you feel that you bring to the table, when it comes to your craft?

Many things, but number one, I bring originality. No one sounds like me and I don't sound like no one.

Do you feel like you're going to remain independent, or you'll hit a wider audience?

I see myself as an independent artist for perhaps a long time to come, but if someone was to come along offering me the money, I wouldn't be against it, haha.

What would be your ideal collaboration, award, and televised performance?

The collaboration has to be with Ty Dolla $ign on the hook with Drake, throwing a few verses with DJ Mustard and OVO40 as producers. And, you know everybody wants a Grammy, playa! My television performance has to be at the super bowl.

Would you ever branch out into other fields, while continuing your rap career?

Not at the moment, so no. I want to be able to get past the point I want to be, before I can consider anything else. Right now, I am just super focused on being an artist, who is making music.

If you could make any prediction for yourself in the next five years, what would you like to see?

I see myself in a happy home, doing what I love for a living.

At the end of interview, both David B. and myself enjoyed listening to music, and we want to thank Millweed for showing us this artist, because the originality and voice in CISK0 is unlike any other. This is definitely not someone you should be sleeping on. And, this will be the greatest edition of the Valley's Finest. CISK0 continues to make great music that is available on platforms, and you can follow him on social media, at _cisk05200.

David B. concludes with, "CISK0 is something you have to see. I feel like the more he grows with his music, the more fans will get to see a new representation in the game of Hip-Hop. The past artist, Teal and I have had the pleasure." This is the best part of indie art: finding someone who will change the game of Hip-Hop, and when you have the pleasure of saying "I knew him before he was that big," well, David B. wasn't wrong, because his views grow on the videos, and stream sales are rising. Not long after this, we will be seeing more from the artist, music choice, and who?

Watch out, Tulip Gang; The Valley's Finest will be coming soon to a platform near you. CISK0 is just the start of something new, and the beginning of Hip-Hop's rescue. Check out the latest below!

interview
Like

About the Creator

Teal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.