Beat logo

Christina Aguilera Made Me Bisexual

Revisiting Tactics of Sexual Manipulation In Children Through 'Good Vocal Range And Top Notch Fashion.'

By Anna ZarwyndePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Christina Aguilera Made Me Bisexual
Photo by Artem Labunsky on Unsplash

I recently rewatched a video of Christina Aguilera belting for 20 seconds straight her highest note in her underwear in front of 20,000 people on stage, with only skulls and bones protecting her P8SSY and a tiny sequined bra covering her chi-chi's at 21 years old. She would sing the chorus in black leather boots, Amazing, then turn around to the crowd and yank her thong with her fingers making it go deeper into her skin. I remember feeling pain in that area from just watching her as an 11-year-old. 'Why did she do that?' I remember thinking innocently. 'Was it necessary...a part of her performance... her management?' The whole stage was also lit up like an exclusive private club BSDM cave for the rich and bored. Her backup dancers had mascara running down their cheeks, rhinestones all over their bodies, and the men only wear pants with black leather straps for shirts. What world were they allowing children to enter into at such a young age... performing at the VMA's..MTV'S etc? Even if just through the imagination and performance of their favorite 'pushed forward' artists. There is so much talent in her voice. So much power in just being who she is. Why does she need to - what I now see as a sexual manipulation - induce a state of trance and emotional confusion in her generation of worshippers? I personally did not know what was happening, until I was much older and found myself not attracted to the opposite sex, the same way I was 'phenomenally' attracted to Christina. I learned all her lyrics, followed her performances world tours, and magazine covers. I knew more about her, than about my own family to be honest. But then all of a sudden at the age when we discover sexual fantasy's and the power of that, I longed for someone with her poetic strength and talent, but also legs, hair, and basically body. I found myself in a strange position, because I never thought about women or love with a woman when I was younger, and it came unnaturally for me to do so. It felt sculpted through the pop star narrative and pushed on children who were idolizing their favorite artists - as their taught to - but simply weren't ready for the subconscious programming that came with the whole game of them partaking in the narrative or worshippers and followers of their favorite pop stars own belief's and tastes. I don't understand why they had to undress her before us, when she was greatly talented, had an impeccable vocal range, and could have been the Edith Paif, Nina Simone, or a spiritual poet of our generation. Right before she basically quit, Christina released 'Not Myself Tonight' where she appeared with a black rhinestoned ball gag in her mouth with spears sticking out of her throat off the first shot, and the rest acted out her dominatrix fantasy where the whole world revolves around her. Is this the attitude to pass onto your children? I love that women love other women! I am all for LGBT, free love, and universal awareness. But was I a part of a cult ritual run by a pop star dressed in leather panties on stage as I see in BDSM now, when I was growing up? Why are young women who want to be famous today, subjected to the punishment of being sex magnets, instead of representing normal women who walk in society? Is it to induce a fantasy... or to induce obedience? Christina Aguilera made me bisexual, but she also made me think deeply about my childhood, for the first time.... in a verrry loooooong time.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.