Beat logo

Chris Carter—Kansas City’s New Hope?

Chris Carter

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Tell us about you:

My name is Chris Eaddy and my Artist name is Chris Carter I am from Louisville, KY but currently based in Kansas City, MO. What makes me different as a person is that I'm me a hundred percent of the time . No matter who i’m around I don’t lose myself nor will I be anyone else to make someone else happy. I grew up like many other people, dad not around, single mom and Army brat life so I moved around a lot . All of that makes me seem relatable to people which as an Artist that’s what you want but it’s also what has individualized me . I don’t hold all of the same values and outlooks on life as the people I tend to be around. The life I lived made me want to go a different route, to live more boldly not get trapped in the status quo. I don’t want to be defined or put into a box. I want to create music that feeds me and hopefully others I don’t want to be bound by a label that someone else created. What do I want to accomplish in life…. What’s funny is that even from a young age we’re asked a variation of this question this complex but oddly simple question. I think as people we’re all headed for the same basic accomplishments, happiness , generational wealth ( so we can stop the perpetuation of systemic poverty) and a fulfilled life . Who’s to say how we get there though, we’re kinda just along for the ride. As of right now the car taking me on that ride is my music which I want to get miles on. I want to accomplish all that I can with music because this is my passion. In five years, I’d like to be a household name. I see myself with my wife and two boys actually living life and no longer surviving. I see us living wherever my wife has inevitably spent the last five years researching and planning while I tour . I’d love to be touring through Europe showing my family the world. I also want to have other business ventures going such as a clothing line and whatever else comes my way. What I bring to the music world is realness, I’m giving people what they need, what I need . I’m not always going to put something out that is a club song just because that’s what's hot right now. I’m not writing music for anyone but myself the songs that I put out are songs that are me, they are parts of me that I didn’t know until I wrote it down. Music literally uncovers who I am, daily I’m always surprising myself . I don’t put on a front with my music; what you see is what you get . I’m not going to speak on something that I'm not actually living.

The legacy that I want to leave behind is creating music that fuels people the way that music has fueled me my entire life. I want to show and not just tell my kids to not let fear hold them back to use it to drive them. That the only person that gets to define you is yourself. Most of my life I followed everyone else’s rule book until I realized that there is no written plan, nothing that I have to do. At the end of the day people can say whatever they want about me but I want them to only say one thing about me musically that “ He is a great” I want that to be undeniable.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.