Beat logo

Chloe's Small Spotify Playlist from Movies and Television Series

A small playlist composed of my favourite songs from movies and television series like How I Met Your Mother

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 3 years ago • Updated 3 years ago • 6 min read
2
Chloe's Small Spotify Playlist from Movies and Television Series
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

I really am not much of a musical expert by any means. I am just your average stay-at-home mom with a lot of apparent free time on her hands to compile all of my random music into playlists.

I have always been a tiny bit obsessed with the music that accompanies my favourite movies and television series. The score behind certain scenes can just perfectly sum up a feeling that the show is trying to portray and I really admire how well certain songs suit the moods behind the films.

I tend to enjoy a lot of Netflix shows if I am being completely honest. I learned that my anxiety tends to make me rewatch the same shows over and over again, solely because it became a sort of safety thing for myself. Anyways, here is a small list composed of my favourite songs that I have pulled from television and movie soundtracks to this date. There are ten different tracks I have written about in total on this list!

Take Care by Beach House

from Chemical Hearts (2020)

I fell in love with this sweet melancholy song from this Amazon Prime movie back in November 2020. It slowly became one of my favourite movies. It was beautifully written and filmed from my perspective. The song Take Care is heavily featured within the movie.

To Build A Home by The Cinematic Orchestra, Patrick Wilson

from the television show, This is Us (2016- present day)

This beautiful song broke my heart the first time I heard it. The scene that it was playing in was utterly heartwrenching. (any die-hard fan of This Is Us would know exactly what scene I am talking about.) I remember falling in love with the show right before the birth of my first child. In a building block kind of way, this song just suits the way the show feels and I truly admire the way it was selected.

(I've Had) The Time Of My Life by Bill Medley. Jennifer Warnes

from the movie, Dirty Dancing (1987)

This was a beautiful finale for the back then, controversial movie. I loved watching Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey dance together. This movie was introduced to me at our family cabin with my mother and grandmother. I was told that it was a movie that every girl has to watch at least once in their lifetime. I enjoyed this final dance piece so much more than words can express. This song just truly makes me feel happy. And in an even bigger way, this finale summarizes the entire film in such a beautiful way.

Blood // Water by Grandson

from the television show, Riverdale (2017-present day)

Back when Riverdale used to be good, and I am talking like so many years ago, I had found this song from season two. I enjoyed pulling songs throughout the entire series but this one happened to be my favourite. One of the charaters had appeared dead after this scene. I did not happen to really enjoy the later seasons after season two was over and done with, as much as I wish I could have. The concept was so good at the start, especially since I was always a fan of the Archie comic books growing up. But then it became one of those stereotypical teen dramas that everyone obsesses over.

Can't Help Falling In Love by Elvis Presley

from the movie The Conjuring 2 (2016)

Everybody knows this song by Elvis Presley. Although I happened to give it a whole new appreciation after watching The Conjuring two years ago. James Wan is an incredible director. I have fallen in love with several of his films over the past years. But this scene and this song, was just so sweet within the horror film. Bonus points, horror has always been one of my top favourite genres, but usually, the music is cheesy. This song just completely sums up Ed and Lorraine Warren's feelings for each other, at least in my opinion

Come Away to The Water by Maroon 5

from the movie The Hunger Games (2012)

This song takes me back to being in high school. The Hunger Games Trilogy turned into one of my most favourite novel series. Our class had ended up doing a novel study which ended up with us watching all of the movies instead. I love the melancholic vibe that the song brings to the playlist, and The Hunger Games will always be one movie series that I cherish. It is just so good. I could rewatch this series any day of the week. Catching Fire will always remain my favourite movie in the series though. Just because it matched the book beautifully.

My Girl by the Temptations

from the movie My Girl (1998)

I have been in love with this movie ever since I was eight-years-old. The movie was based on the novel My Girl by Patricia Hermes. This sweet childhood love story will always belong on my top number one movie list. So I wanted to make sure that I included this song within my playlist. Just for how much I treasure this childhood favourite of mine.

The Funeral by Band of Horses

from the television series, How I Met Your Mother (2005-2014)

This song breaks my heart in an utterly different way. How I Met Your Mother has one television show that I have treasured throughout the past few years of my life. Whenever I don't feel good, I throw an episode on because I have watched the series so many times before that it just is an instant comfort for me. Especially during cold and flu season! Even though this song is sad, (I mean come on life can't be happy all the time) it truly suits this playlist.

Coming Down by Dum Dum Girls

from the television series, Orange Is The New Black (2013-2019)

This happens to be one of my go-to feel-good tv shows. Whenever I am in need of some desperate laughs, and a few cries, this is the television show I choose to turn on. This song breaks my heart in little ways I did not even know were possible. This song plays when one of the main characters is sent down to a maximum security facility. It just crushes me internally.

Apocalypse by Cigarettes After Sex

from the television show, The 100 (2014-2020)

I had truly enjoyed this tv show so much throughout the years that I really felt obligated to add this one in. I will forever treasure this beautiful post-apocalyptic teen drama. This scene in specific was just utterly gorgeous within season 6 of The 100. I could binge-watch this television series any day of the week. In my honest opinion, it is absolutely addicting to say the least. Bonus points, it happens to be based off on a book series titled by the same name. They were written by the author Kass Morgan and the novels gave me a different perspective on the television series. I enjoyed what the show writers did more with the plot concept. I actually happen to feel really guilty about that fact since I usually feel the opposite way when novels turn into movies or television shows. (Note: My opinion on the Hunger Games.)

Well, I think that this sums up my tiny little playlist of songs from movies and television soundtracks that I truly enjoy. Feel free to give the playlist a follow if you enjoyed the way the music flowed!

Chloe Rose Violet

P.S. Don't forget to tip your writer :)

pop culture
2

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.