Beat logo

Chloe's Halloween

I enjoyed creating this Spotify party playlist for Halloween 2021!

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 3 years ago • Updated 3 years ago • 8 min read
2
Chloe's Halloween
Photo by Matt Eberle on Unsplash

I have always loved Halloween! I remember being in back Grade 7 and being told I was too old to go trick-or treating by my mother and father. Now looking back at that time in my life, I think it is utterly ridiculous. I always loved dressing up in costumes, and the halloween treats were always delicious. I definitely was not too old to continue to go trick or treating back then. I can realize that now as an adult, although I know most people have differing opinions on Halloween and trick or treating, it never felt fair to me back then, watching my classmates continue to go out on Halloween while I was forbidden. I actually used to steal my younger brother's candy from them after I was forbidden to go out. (In my defence, they were quite a few years younger than me and didn’t need all that sugar anyways.)

Now as an adult, I just relish getting that opportunity to spend time with those trick or treaters. I remember this one house that was next to my elementary school growing up that was always decked out to the nines with Halloween decorations. I cherished every single year getting to trick or treat at that woman’s house because she made Halloween fun.

Halloween is one of those holidays that should just exist more than just one day a year. I tried to compose a small little playlist for Halloween 2021, as if this stay-at-home mom of two even parties, but I enjoyed creating this “party” playlist more than I can express into words. All I want to do when I play this playlist is dance my heart out and sing as much as I can.

I was slightly inspired by my Movies and Television Spotify playlist that I had created a few weeks ago while designing this playlist for this Halloween Challenge. (Speaking of that, here is a link to that Vocal post if you are interested at all.)

All that being said, this is my Halloween Spotify Playlist for 2021! I hope that you enjoy it as much as I do.

Mad Hatter by Ray Garrison

One of my favourite people in the world showed me this song. We all are a little mad, and this song owes no explanation for being on this playlist, even if I never was much of an Alice in Wonderland fan, to begin with. (The person who showed me this song actually tried to get me to watch the live action movie and I just couldn’t. I tried though!) Sometimes my attention span just isn’t there for TV shows and movies. But this song screams at me some days.

“My pain has become laughter, I think I fucked up my life.”

save me from the monsters in my head by Welshly Arms

I think that everyone desires to have someone save them from the monsters that reside in their head. This lovely slow song has always held a special spot within my playlists, but I love the Halloweeny vibe to the song. Everyone desires to have that one person to keep them safe and sound from their nightmares. This beautiful song is the perfect song to slow dance to in my opinion.

“Would you find me when the lights go down? And hold me steady when I’m freaking out?”

Spooky by Lil Reive

Again, one of my favourite people showed me this song a long time ago. It fits the spooky season supremely well in my honest opinion. The title of the song kind of explains why it belongs in this playlist, but it is such a beautiful song to vibe along to.

“I don’t want to live nomore, I don’t want to live nomore. Can you take me away?”

Carry on Wayward Son by Kansas

Supernatural was a TV show that ran for far too long in my opinion. I stopped watching the show after Season 9 but this song makes everyone think of those two boys in the Chevy Impala. Supernatural is such a fall television show just solely for the monsters the writers enjoyed exploring. By far, the first two seasons are the best. Carry on Wayward Son is one of the perfect songs for Halloween.

“Though my eyes could see, I was still a blind man. Though my mind could think, I was still a dead man.”

(Don’t Fear) The Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult

This classic rock song is one of my favourite songs. It is such a lovely addition to this playlist. It reminds me of my old high school best friend and his love for rock music. (He’s going to be supremely pissed off that I added that tidbit of information but I don’t really care that much.) I miss jamming out to rock music with him more than words can express. When we broke up in high school, we spent the whole time just listening to sad breakup songs together. I miss that time period in my life.

“Valentine is done; here but now they're gone. Romeo and Juliet, are together in eternity.”

Zombie Love by Bohnes

A new friend of mine showed me this song. Instead of the classic “Monster Mash” where people think of Zombies and Frankenstien, I selected this song. I think everyone holds that desire to be loved, even if you kind of feel like a zombie at times.

“I’ve been living six feet down, baby I’m alive right now.”

Demons by Imagine Dragons

Nothing beats this song in my opinion. Especially since everyone has their own inner demons that they try to hide from everyone else. It’s nice knowing that you’re not alone with your mental health struggles. And it is such a beautiful song to sing in my opinion.

“I wanna hide the truth, I want to shelter you, but with the beast inside, there is nowhere we can hide.”

Thriller by Micheal Jackson

I had no choice but to throw this classic Halloween song in this playlist. I have loved Micheal Jackson from such a young age. (Most likely due to my recreational dance days.) I remember performing a tap dance to Smooth Criminal back in the day. Micheal always deserves a spot on any dance playlist in my opinion. Maybe my obsession with Twilight as a child is why I love werewolves as much as I do. ;) Vampires are completely overrated.

“It’s close to midnight, and something evil’s lurking in the dark, under the moonlight.”

Supermassive Black Hole by Muse

When I first read Twilight when I was ten years old, I fell in love with the whole werewolf and vampire dynamic. I even remember my mom’s turn reading the novels. She ignored all three of us kids for four days to finish reading the novels. I enjoy laughing about it now because she literally stole my books and ignored us for days because of how OBSESSED she became with the series. I absolutely adore this song. The whole baseball scene in the first movie was completely framed by this spooky rock song. It definitely holds a special place in my heart.

“You set my soul alight.”

I Put A Spell On You by Annie Lennox

Fifty Shades of Grey is such a terrible movie. I enjoy mocking it so much more than people realize. (Shitty Twilight FanFiction that never ever should have been made into a movie series in my honest opinion.) But this song makes me think of the masquerade ball that was held in the second novel. This song is enchanting. It brings me witchy vibes which allows it to earn it’s place on this playlist. Even if I find the movies to be extremely trashy.

“I put a spell on you because you’re mine.”

Young And Beautiful by Lana Del Ray

One of my creepy ex-boyfriends happened to show me this song. It makes me smile when I think back to that chilly October when I first listened to this song. It makes me feel utterly immortal whenever I listen to it. I think about that guy often actually.

“Will you still love me when I’m no longer young and beautiful?”

An Unhealthy Obsession by The Blake Robinson Synthetic Orchestra

This song brings me back to my high school days. I call this song the stalker song. It is just such a chilling, fitting Halloween song. I absolutely love showing people this creepy, stalkery song. I can sing almost every. damn. word. I love jamming out to this very creepy song. It usually puts a smile on my face for some reason.

“You don’t know me yet but you love me and I love you the same. One day we will have a pretty wedding and I’ll be your everything.”

Mad World by Riverdale Cast

The original of this song is utterly enchanting. But man oh man do I enjoy making fun of Riverdale. I enjoy how chilling Lili Reinheart’s voice is within this show. (Even though they heavily sexualised this 16-year-old within this episode that they showcase this song, I feel as if Mad World is just another one of those beautiful slow songs that you can just fall in love with.) I remember the first time I heard the original version of this song by Gary Jules. I had pulled it from one of those cheesy horror movies that landed on Netflix almost a million years ago. I can’t even remember the name of the movie, that's how awful it was. I found a good song out of it though.

“All around me are familiar faces, and worn out places.”

Well this sums up my Halloween 2021 Spotify playlist!

I hope that you enjoyed listening to it as much as I enjoyed creating it.

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6LfTToWNO0uXqnBQiZVrxl?si=3DNqhVmXQbWkT4yhGRAhyg

Chloe Rose Violet

P.S. Don’t forget to tip your writer.

P.P.S. I added a special bonus song. Zeus by Emimen. (Because I am God-like)

alternative
2

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    Outstanding play list. I think I will try to write some of these for submission.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.