Beat logo

Chill, Cinematic, & Climactic Songs for the Utmost State of Relaxation

Whether you want to be high on chill vibes, relive your TV/Movie's with their scores, or really get into songs that build. I've got you covered with this eclectic selection of zen.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Chill, Cinematic, &  Climactic Songs for the Utmost State of Relaxation
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

I came across a podcast called Lore. I was instantly HOOKED. The biggest problem for me was that I would have to re-listen to the podcast because I found myself OBSESSED with the music playing in the background. Lucky for me, Aaron Mahnke, the creator, writer, host, and producer of the show, says who the fantastic musician is providing these eerie tunes as an accompaniment. So, who is it, you're wondering? Chad Lawson is the mastermind Composer behind Lore.

Chad Lawson

I used to have these three albums on REPEAT for MONTHS. Of course, some variation is needed from time to time...

It's important to note, that these can take on whatever feelings you're feeling. I have listened to these albums when I was bored, sad, tired, happy, or chill and simply needed something to listen to in the background, etc. While they were created for a scary story podcast, I don't feel creeped out when listening to them on their own. Yes, they aide perfectly for the eerie storytelling podcast, but they don't give me shivers down my spine as a scary movie might.

Lawson's album re: Piano might be my absolute favorite though it is difficult to decide. Here he plays a clip from the song Love is the Flower of Life. I'M IN LOVVVVVEEEE. Ok I've already said as much... give it a listen.

By Sage Friedman on Unsplash

Next, we move into a more "traditional" zen, meditative state playlist.

There were a days, weeks, and months when I would be super stressed. My anxiety would be high and nothing in my saved albums or playlists were cutting it. I started typing in Meditation Music on Spotify. I will say, meditation music is hit or miss for me. There is some of it that is a little out there and not up my alley. The kind where bells are ringing, or a gong is hit in intervals...not for me. In fact, there were a lot of playlists where maybe a third of the songs I could barely tolerate. THEN I FOUND THIS ONE (posted above). I love it. It's the perfect album to zone out, zen out, chill out, whatever it is you do to get into your state of relaxation.

By Jared Rice on Unsplash

You can listen to any of the songs/artists mentioned while you're driving, meditating, taking a bath, doing the dishes, ANYTHING. I find myself listening to this type of music daily. It's my go-to music when I get in my car, I'm working in the garden, I'm typing on Vocal, well you get the idea.

Movie/TV Scores

You might be raising a quizzical brow at this one, but hear me out.

Outlander - Unless you're living under a rock, you have surely heard of this steamy TV series. The music is AMAZING. I won't link all of the albums from every season, but I will drop the main intro for your listening pleasure. (and just know, that they are ALL good)

The Witcher - A Netflix Original Series. If you haven't watched this, I highly recommend you do! I am impatiently awaiting the next season. This isn't the main title/intro, but it's one that I love.

The Lion King - "Remember" is such an emotional builder for me. This is one of those songs that you need to listen to at full volume capacity.

No Time To Die - Quite literally, there is no time to die while waiting for this movie to be released! Oh the anticipation is killing me! Wait, no no! There is no time to die! Ok, that got a little out of hand... let's move into the song, also called No Time To Die by Billie Eilish. (Side note: She also falls into the chill category if you like her stuff!)

Odds & Ends

I'll leave you with this last two of my favorites of all time. This is one that my daughter did a modern dance to during a ballet intensive. The choreography was beautiful and the song stuck with us both. I'm not allowed to share that video due to the rules of the studio. However, there is this live performance from youtube.

If I had to choose an anthem for my life, I would choose this song. While the first 0:53 seconds might seem painful, with the high pitched tones, emitting from the orchestra...The song starts off quiet and slow. You think all is well and things are moving along nicely. You start to question if things will change or stay the same. You're brought back to the beginning when you feel like you're in control...until it brings you into an acceleration of panic and chaos. You feel pulled in all sorts of directions without knowing where to go and which direction is "right". And just like that it's over. It ends. Did you solve life's puzzle? Or were you left with more questions?

November by Max Richter, I honestly do not know if I have words to describe the level of love and appreciation I have for this song. Ok, well I guess I did above, but who knows if it will actually resonate and make sense to anyone except myself.

Enjoy this post? Consider leaving a tip, sharing the post, or giving it a heart ♥️ . Check out some of my other work here.

list
3

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.