Beat logo

Chantae’ Vetrice

Chantae’ Vetrice

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Chantae’ Vetrice is an American Musical artist and songwriter from New York, NY.

What sets you apart from the rest?

I think what sets me apart from the rest is that I have continued to stay true to what resonates with me, despite the trend. I’m a lil hip hop, a lil rock-n-roll, and a lil pop. I take a lot of influence from Prince, Janet Jackson, and Gwen Stefani but my music has a modern and edgy sound to it. However, I believe it is so important to really understand who you are first. Once you can master that, everything else will fall into place. People recognize authenticity and appreciate it despite what may be popular at the time. It took me moving to Europe and living in Spain for two years in order for me to “find” myself and really come into my own character in music. I love experimenting with my voice and all it can do…from a sweet and airy sound, to the dark raspiness, I try not to put myself into a box when it comes to creating my music and how I want to represent myself to the world. The funny thing is that a lot of people have equated me to a young Grace Jones…I take it as a compliment.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Life is about setting goals and doing what is best for you. My plan is to be successful in my music career, take care of my mother, and have a family. I was raised by a single mother so, family is very important to me because mine was so small. I love the idea of having a big family..2 or 3 kids at some point with the dog and husband. It may sound lame but that is one of my dreams. But at the end of the day, I hope to accomplish enough that will leave opportunity for my children’s children. Generational wealth.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I hope to be doing performing my music, touring, and working in film and/or television. I have always had a love for acting and know that if I can perform, musically, then acting is just another form of artistic expression that I can master. Additionally, ownership is very important and I would like to have my own eyewear company and music school for underprivileged young women where they can explore their musical talents in a judgement-free zone, get the necessary resources they need to be on a level-playing field in life, and have fun! Growing up, my mother kept me very busy in after-school programs and music lessons so, I understand the value it brings to someone who may not have all the tools available to them that others might due to socioeconomic status, etc.

What do you bring to the music world?

I hope that I can bring happiness, a sense of self confidence to the black female community in music where we don’t feel like we have to fit a particular mold in order to be “really black” but just be ourselves, and good vibes because that is what music is about. Music should be a place where people can go to escape the drama of the day. I want my music to take people to a fantasy that maybe that don’t have the opportunity to explore in real life. I want them to get lost in it.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

When I’m gone, I want people to say that I stood for who I was and never wavered. The struggle in music, as a black woman, isn’t easy but I hope that I can inspire other young females, like myself, to continue to push forward and live out their dreams. I don’t know what the future holds for me but I know that I can control how I react to it and I want to leave behind a legacy of grace and class no matter what happens. Will I have moments where I fall short? Absolutely, but overall I would hope that people will say I was a person who not only made people smile, laugh, and cry but I gave back to the community and made a difference.

Website:

Follow Chantae’ Vetrice:

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.