Beat logo

Catching up with Suzic

Suzic recently released a new single, My Life, ft ThatKidFrom94 and Lillia K.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Suzic is a songwriter based in Waterford, Ireland. Her love for music came from her grandfather, Samuel McNulty, who played the fiddle in a show band. She looked up to her grandfather as a source of inspiration and as a role model. It was in those early years that Suzic fell in love with music, as music has always been part of her life.

Her journey through music began in 1982 when she started recording her music in Dick Keating’s studio’s. Keating is known for writing the song 'Here Today Gone Tomorrow' which was a representation of Eurovision.

Suzic’s music genre of choice is pop and electronic dance music (dance pop). She has worked on many albums such as “All My Love”, “The Flow of Life”, “Classic Dreams” and her latest being “Worlds Apart” released in 2019. She has also worked on song’s (singles) like ‘Your My World’, ‘Heaven, Crazy Love’, ‘Paradise’, ‘Sunset’ (dance mix), ‘Lovin You’, ‘Heaven’ (dance mix), ‘Horizon’, ‘Our Children's World’, ‘Raising Above’, ‘Wild Dreams’, ‘Skylight, Child's Vision’, ‘Christmas Time’ and ‘This Our World’.

She has set off at a good pace where she has dropped hits like High Energy, Only a Woman Heart, This is Your Time to Shine, Peace and I Never Wanna Let Tonight Go, Free, I Love You Babe, Baby Baby, Heaven. Recently, releasing My Life and All I Want is Love.

Suzic has been in the music industry for over 25 years and her journey to growth has been one to be emulated by many.

Q: What 1st drew you to music?

What drew me to music is my love of it and my Grandfather played the fiddle in a showband In Derry in the North of ireland and i was inspired by him to go into music.

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself. Your (music) background?

I started writing songs back in 1985, at that time there was the Live Aid concert organized my Bob Geldof and it inspired me to try and write a song which was inspirational, I was based at the time in County Westmeath and loved writing songs and music and entered some songwriting competitions at the time also. and also had the Influence of my Grandfather who was in to music.

Q: May I ask how you arrived at your artist’s name? Give us the scoop.

How I arrived at my Artist Name Suzic, I thought about it one particular day with a friend of mine, she thought about the first three letters of my name Suzanne and i thought of Music and thought the last two letters of music are ic and thought just put them together the suz and the ic and make Suzic, so that was it.

Q: Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I write most of my songs myself but recently i am collaborating alot more with other artists which i really enjoy alot and find it very creative.

Q: Your new single, “My Life”, is different from your previous singles. Can you tell me about the song?

Yes, it is different, I felt inspired to write a song which was hip hop in style, and was influenced by Eminem with this song, song was about my struggle in life in my music and my sometimes hard relationship with my Father who did not support with my music from the beginning so felt good to get my feelings into music.

Q: Do you have any other plans relating to this release?

A video. Not at the moment, have been promoting it and also it is been promoted for Sync Opportunities and also getting on Playlists for In Store Radio in different parts of the world.

Q: Do you create and release or do you plan each release?

I usually create and pretty much soon after I release the track, I try to get as many releases out during the course of the year, like every second or so release a new track to keep the interest going.

Q: It looks like 2021 was a creative year. Does this have anything to do with the pandemic or just feeling creative? Will we see the same energy in 2022?

I was just feeling I think very creative. Yes, 2022 will have even better energy.

Q: What is the best song you ever released and why?

The best song I ever released I think is My Life, and why because it meant a lot to me and was very heartfelt

Q: What song do fans seem to favor?

I think song Heaven was very popular and people seemed to really like that song a lot.

Q: Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

I usually write the songs and work with artists who perform them for me and so I myself don't perform live.

Q: Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

If performed live I think song My Life who be fun to perform live.

Q: What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

I think I value more creativity.

Q: What would be your ideal press headline, either now or in the future? In which publication? Why?

My ideal press headline would be "Irish Artist Goes Global with Her Heartfelt Songs". The publication would Be NME.

Q: Share a funny moment or positive experience that has happened during your career.

I had a funny experience many years ago when I lived in the capital city of Ireland, called Dublin, these were the early years of my music. I had a meeting arranged with famous Irish Composer, Bill Whelan, who wrote the music for River Dance. I lived on the other side of the city and went on the bus to get over to the part of city he was based in, I was running late, with no cell phone, as at that time cell phones where not popular, so I ran off the bus and went into the nearest phone booth and rang his office, spoke to him and apologized for being late and tried to organize another meeting but he told me, he was too busy and that was a lost opportunity I felt afterwards.

Q: Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Yes, to touch people's lives through the message in my songs, to make people happy when they listen to my music and I to make a difference in the world via my music.

Q: Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, CDs, or downloads?

My preference would be vinyl and cassettes as I grew up in a time when they were all that were available and my early recordings would have been on cassette tape, I remember one of the first vinyl records i bought was from Kenny Rodgers and song was Coward of the county.

Q: What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Spotify would be one of my favorites and Twitter, too.

Q: Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

Yes, I am currently working on two projects most immediate one is a collaboration with Dj Artist Revelz who is based in Germany, I am collaborating with him on a new track, already collaborated with him on two other tracks, but a new one which is soon to be finished. I am really looking forward to that track being released.

Also I have started work on a track which I am going to write myself and release myself. Both tracks are in the EDM Genre.

Q: Is there something you would like to say, that I didn't cover?

No, I think that is everything for now.

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.