Beat logo

Candy, Pork, and Beans

Since having my cake and eating it too isn't an option.

By Brittany ArmstrongPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I honestly do not remember where or when I first heard the song "Pork and Beans" by Weezer, but clearly I am a musically consuming genius. Little did past me know, this song would revolutionize her odd little adult life.

First things first, let me give you a just of what my life circumstances have been like these past couple of months:

I recently broke up with my boyfriend of five years...for the second time. Yikes...I know. I promise it's a lot more complicated than 600 - 5,000 words can express.

Nevertheless, the relationship was stressful, tiresome, and lonely. That's because we lived 2,912.9 miles away by car, and I don't know about you, but I'm feeling horny blues (haha - no not 22). No, but with all seriousness in mind, LDRs are not built for those with codependency issues. I say all of this to say, I was in a limbo between wanting to have sex with other guys or settling and going back to my ex.

In this odd ass limbo of emotional turmoil and confusion, I decided that I needed to go back to my first love: MUSIC.

I remember I started to come off of my sickness and I wanted to listen to a quick pick me up. It started off slow, with Lautyn Hill's "Gotta Find Peace of Mind". I sped it up a little bit with Paramore's "That's What You Get" and then - random thought of a line from Pork and Beans pops up in my head.

I immediately search it up and it is like I am brought directly back to fifteen year old Brittany. That infectious monotone singing and the treble in that bass sets me off.

The

BOOM.CLUP.BOOM.CLUP.BOOM.CLUP.

of the drums is what gets your head bobbing before those sick guitar rips in the chorus. And omg, the chorus. Sing it with me people...

"IMMA DO THE THINGS THAT I WANT TO DO, I DON'T HAVE A THING TO PROVE TO YOU! IMMA EAT MY CANDY WITH THE PORK AND BEANS! EXCUSE MY MANNERS IF I MAKE A SCENE BUT I AIN'T GONNA WEAR THE CLOTHES THAT YOU LIKE..."

And ladies and gentleman, the lines that have your girl shooekth....

"I'M FINE AND DANDY WITH THE ME INSIDE. ONE LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND I'M TICKLED PINK! I DON'T GIVE A HOOT ABOUT WHAT YOU THINK!"

Those lines right there, set me free. And no not just with the idea to go get my fix from one of these men, but from my ex's ideas of what kind of girl that'd make me for even wanting that. To build on that, it brang me to the realization that what I do with MY life does not need to be approved by anyone, but ME.

Thank you for reading, now give this bop a listen!

bands
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.