Beat logo

Brittney Crush

Singer-Songwriter Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Singer-Songwriter Brittney Crush

Indie R&B/pop singer-songwriter Brittney Crush dropped the official music video for her single, "Window,". The nostalgic 70's-themed music video follows the January release of her newest groove, now available on all digital platforms including Apple Music, Spotify, and Tidal. Brittney Crush’s new single “Window” is a powerful women’s anthem about chasing dreams, living life, and trying to find love amidst a crazy time. The live guitar-backed song was recorded in Los Angeles at Zoom Studios and co-written and produced by Arranger/Producer and Guitarist Corey Cooper. The song was engineered, mixed, and mastered by Latin Grammy-nominated Music Engineer, Nando Costa.

Watch the Premiere of "Window" Below

Brittney Crush released her independent R&B/Pop debut album, Chameleon, on August 13, 2018, followed by music videos for the singles, “Bad Girl,” “Pick Them” and “Big Joke.” The LA-based songstress has developed a head-turning stage presence, performing live at STAPLES Center for the LA Clippers & LA Sparks, Taste of Soul Music Festival Atlanta, and opening for Legendary disco queen Gloria Gaynor.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Singer-Songwriter Brittney Crush

Tammy Reese: What do you love most about being a music artist?

Brittney Crush: I love that it’s a new way to express myself and be vulnerable in ways I might not be so open to being in real life. I can be somewhat of an introvert so I love how music is an outlet for me.

Tammy Reese: What are your studio must-haves?

Brittney Crush: I absolutely must have my Singers Throat Spray, my Throat Coat Tea, and some room temperature water. Those are definitely my three go-to’s.

Tammy Reese: What impact do you intend to make through your music?

Brittney Crush: I really want to bring back the idea that women can do whatever they want regardless of their “likeness” in appearance. Too often, it’s been shoved in our face that to gain success or have certain opportunities, we have to dress or talk a certain way. Those days are now over. I hope through my music I can inspire and empower other women, and just people in general to go after their dreams.

Tammy Reese: Please tell us how your single "Window" came about?

Brittney Crush: Window is still one of the fastest songs I’ve ever written. It’s just such a vibe that when my producer loaded it up, I instantly began to pour my feelings out in the lyrics. We were amidst the pandemic and I felt so uneasy about how life would be as a full-time independent artist.

The song talks about how crazy and chaotic the entertainment industry can be and how amidst it, love is needed. I think everyone can relate to that feeling of making things look like they’re fine for social media or your career but knowing deep inside you know that like everyone else, you're fueled by the love and energy of those around you. I also wanted to talk about how material things and success could never replace the feeling of genuine love.

Tammy Reese: How has your creative journey been during the pandemic?

Brittney Crush: It’s actually been great! I’m truly thankful to God for that. Lately, I’ve been able to focus on my project and goals way more and tap into avenues I had previously procrastinated about. I also feel like the uncertainty somewhat motivated me to just go for whatever it is I want in life and create what I feel without limits.

Tammy Reese: What was the experience like performing at the Staples Center for the LA Clippers and LA Sparks?

Brittney Crush: It was unbelievable! I’m a HUGE basketball and NBA fan so they were definitely some of my favorite performances to date.

Tammy Reese: What are some other memorable moments of your career so far?

Brittney Crush: I really enjoyed interning for international recording artist Marc Anthony back when I lived in NYC. It taught me so much about how the industry works and gave me the knowledge and experience that a lot of independent singers and songwriters, don’t get.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Brittney Crush: I’m currently working on the next single I’m releasing. It’s done and ready to go, just planning a date!

Tammy Reese: What are you looking forward to?

Brittney Crush: I’m looking forward to what the future has in store for my music and all the different platforms and ways I can share my gifts. Whether it’s helping and motivating young kids to write songs, assisting other recording artists with their next big hit, or bringing people joy by performing at music festivals. I just want to be a vessel for healing and good energy through my music.

Tammy Reese: What is the best advice you have ever received in regards to your career?

Brittney Crush: Put God first and never lose sight of yourself and direction.

Tammy Reese: What would you like to say to your supporters?

Brittney Crush: Saying thank you doesn’t even do it justice anymore. I’m truly humbled by the outpour of love and encouragement from my supporters and I thank God for each and every one of you!

For more information, please visit www.brittneycrush.com.

Instagram: @brittneycrush | Twitter: @brittneycrush | Facebook: BrittneyCrush

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.