Beat logo

Breaking The Glass Wall

Supporting my friends’ music when it matters most

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
16

My taste in music is all over the place. I’ll listen to pretty much anything (...except country). I’ve got something from practically every genre for every mood. And these days, I've been running the full spectrum of both my favorite music and my emotions.

Sometimes I need something chill and soothing. Sometimes I’m in the mood for something I can dance to. Sometimes I want something more intense that I can vent my feelings to (both physically and mentally). Other times I need something that’s just comforting, that makes me feel understood and lets me know I’m not alone.

But in times like these, supporting your artist friends is more important than ever. So lately I’ve been listening to music made by my friends more than anything else. And their music can cater to pretty much any mood.

To be honest, I'm not exactly a fan of Spotify. The only reason I even made an account was because my friends' have their music on there and I wanted to be able to support them, give them more streams, and share their songs around more easily. These guys are all such talented, hard working, and dedicated artists, and they deserve all the love and support and good vibes in the world.

My friend, Scott (relatable, I Am Somewhere, Turn Life Lunar, etc.), is a friend of mine from college and a pop singer/songwriter. He writes, records, and produces all of his music on his own. And on top of working on his own music, he’s also a freelance producer and co-writes and produces other people’s music too.

He’s always had a unique sound, and it’s evolved so much over the years, taking influence from several different styles like ambient electronic to acoustic to dark pop. He’s always adapting and growing as both an artist and a person. And each project and style he’s had has its own vibe.

relatable brings a combination of gorgeous music and some much needed realness.

I Am Somewhere is full of cool, ambient, spacey sounds, perfect for an escape from reality.

Turn Life Lunar is brings all the fun party vibes.

Toast Stories shows some dope storytelling, illustrated with spacey ambient sounds.

One song in particular that stands out is Focus; it serves as a reminder to step back and remember to take care of yourself, which I think we all need now.

All of Scott's music is great for when I need either something laid back, something I can dance to, or something to cry to. While on the other hand, The Solace of You’s record, Conceal // Reveal, is good for those times where I need something more intense.

The Solace of You is actually my brother, Ryan’s band. He and his bandmates, Corey, Tim, and Chris, first started out as a band in high school almost 10 years ago. Initially, they would get together and just jam for fun. But around 5 years ago, they got serious about making their own music and started trying to establish themselves as a band.

That process turned out to be more difficult than anyone could’ve expected. But it’s ultimately proven how resilient and persistent they are.

First, they tried to find a vocalist as a 5th member of their band. And when they couldn’t find anyone, Corey stepped up and taught himself how to scream. Then, they looked around for someone to record and produce their album. And when several prospects fell through, Corey stepped up again and taught himself how to record and produce music. The guys all pitched in and bought all the recording equipment they needed, and last year they finally got their album recorded and released. They also got band shirts and CDs made, and they’ve been selling them to all our family and friends. And through all this, Ryan's been able to learn first-hand all the different aspects of managing a band, from social media, to merch, to booking shows.

They’ve come such a long way, worked so hard, and overcome so much to get where they are now, and we’re all so proud of them.

As far as their music, there's so much to love. Their lyrics center around the theme of human suffering and flaws of man, which really illustrates how this pandemic has affected people. And their songs have a kind of flow where it’ll do a hard left into another section that you wouldn’t have guessed would come next (Exhibit A: Attention to Detail). And I love that. That unpredictability makes it so much more exciting, and it's something that's not done often enough in music.

I feel like this line from The Glass Wall really fits this current situation:

“The glass wall sets us apart. If only I could break this down and place my hand on your heart.”

Metal is personally one of my favorite genres; it helps us express those more intense feelings (both positive and negative). I think that's something really necessary in life, especially now.

I love it when I have this playlist on shuffle and it goes from something off of Conceal // Reveal to something off of The Backyard of the Universe. The difference is actually hilarious. But it really shows that this playlist has pretty much any kind of music to complement any mood, whether you need to scream, cry, dance, or chill out.

But more than anything, when I listen to this playlist I feel proud. Proud of my friends, their hard work, their passion, and their persistence and dedication to their craft.

Through listening to their music, I’m not just giving their music more streams. It also helps me feel more connected to them in a time when we’re all being kept apart.

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this article and playlist, I'd appreciate it so much if you shared it and left a heart and a tip!

metal
16

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.