Beat logo

Bops That Make Me Feel Empowered

A list of songs that make me feel empowered

By Virag DombayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A still from Dua Lipa’s Don’t Start Now video clip

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel very drained and exhausted, whether that be from work, study or life comittments or just the daily chronic pain from having endometriosis. Or maybe it’s the lack of sleep and social interaction that get me in a funk, who knows. To generate my energy and remind myself that I’m a strong independent woman that can tick off everything in her to do list, maintain a 7.0 GPA, be a living and supportive girlfriend, get to work on time and do all the regular life things, I’ve made myself a playlist of bops that motivate me to be the fierce female that I know I am. They are as follows:

1. Don't Start Now | Dua Lipa

This song is such a bop. I love to listen to it as I'm brushing my teeth in the morning to get me in the mood. It's a brilliant break up anthem but it's also a super empowering song about finding your voice and embracing all the things that make you you. The song also encourages you to let go of the people in your life that don't support your dreams. It has a super funky and nostalgic vibe that will give you good vibes for sure.

2. Woman | Kesha ft. The Dap-Kings Horns

The first time I heard this song, I was drunkenly dancing with one of my friends at one my best friends 21st birthday party, back when we could have mass gatherings. It had been nine weeks since my break up with my ex and hearing, dancing and singing along to this song in a way returned my agency and freedom that I'd forgotten about. It made me remember my strength, my worth and my identity that all exists and remains without my ex beside me; giving me a blanket of sorts to hold onto. This song has now become an anthem of mine, as well as the friend I was singing along to it with and has become one of our karaoke favourites.

3. NO | Meghan Trainor

This song always makes me feel like a badass whenever it pops up on my Spotify and encourages me to quote on quote, say no to people, jobs and things that I truthfully don't want to spend my time with or with the latter, tasks that I don't have the time and heart to do.

4. So What | Pink

This song came out when I was eight I think and i just loved singing it at the top my lungs with my Mum as she was driving me to and from school or rehearsals. I really believed that I was a rockstar and kind of still do.

5. IDGAF | Dua Lipa

This song is all about some self-love and I always love me some self-love and giving zero fucks about the people who don't accept me or love me for who I am. The video clip is equally as amazing (I'd give it a solid 10/10) as it shows your weaker side fighting with your stronger side only to realise that self-love is the only way to overcome any negativity or personal hardships that you might be facing internally or externally. You should definitely watch it, if you haven't already.

6. Dog Days Are Over | Florence and the Machine

I love this song. Whenever I listen to it I feel like jumping for joy and/or running around my living room table. I interpret this song about the joy and release after you're finally ready and able to move forward after something or someone that's caused you pain. It reminds us that there's light at the end of the tunnel and reminds us that 'we've got this.'

7. Fuck You | Cee-Lo Green

I remember when this first song came out I was eleven or twelve and thought it so naughty and rebellious of me to swear in a song. This song is so uplifting and just sets in a good mood whenever you hear it. It reminds me that some people just aren't worth your time and that it's better to let them go.

8. I Love Me | Demi Lovato

The title is a little bit misleading as the whole song is about Demi questioning when saying I love me will be enough. But it's still kind wholesome in it's one way as you get the vibe that at the end of the song, Demi's finally starting to love herself. Go Demi and go us.

And there's a lot more tracks where that came from. If you'd like to listen to the entirety of my playlist then you can do so by clicking here.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.