Beat logo

Blast From The Past...... My musical days with the late Ike Turner.

Good vibes with the late Ike Turner. By Diana Thornley aka Rainy Knight

By Diana ThornleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Good vibes with the late Ike Turner.

By Diana Thornley aka Rainy Knight

It's 1996 now as friend/producer Frankie in North Hollywood, California suggested I meet Ike Turner for musical purposes after hearing me sing my original song "Dark Cloud ". We debated the idea back and forth till we came up with a yes. Frankie said as a producer it wasnt his style but it was Ikes. Months went by until the introduction. I got a call and invitation to meet Ike and his wife for dinner one summer evening. He and his wife picked me up and we went to Laury's for dinner. Ike was very generous and had invited a couple other people to join us. This was the beginning. Ike said he was planning his solo comeback album which he later won an award for. At the time I'd signed a single deal with TBRC records and was waiting to record an indie single in studio city. Once they picked me up after coming from a tour and we went to Mnm's soul food with his wife and some other friends. I had just bought the new Johnny Lang cassette Lie to Me and after playing it he realized his song Matchbox was on it that he'd written. Interesting. It was 1997. Ike passed out his headshots out to passersby outside the restaurant. At a later date I played him my music videos and most recent studio project. I lived close to the van nuys flyaway and it was convenient at times to call me when they flew in from tourdates with the ikettes. His wife Jeanette invited me to their home in San Marco's for a couple days. He had referred to me as that hippie chick that sounds like Wolf man Jack once. I thought that was .funny. He had a certain charm to him and an old school manner ..once I recall him walking me into the drugstore as I ran an errand as if he was a protector. And very protective which was very nice. Ike and Jeanette were in love and a great loving couple. Once on a Christmas day he was in the area and called and i came downstairs and he opened his car trunk and gave me his headshot and a 100 dollar bill for a Christmas present. That was so cool.of him. Another time while visiting the Turners we had decided to go shopping and I was between jobs so not wanting me to feel left out Ike stuck another hundred and couple twenties in my pocket to shop. I thought that was very generous and thoughtful of him. Jeanette was a great lady and singer and a wonderful cook and did so with her southern cooking. I loved hanging out there and getting to sing with Ike . Finally one day on another christmas I called Ike and sang to him a song idea I had been working . He created a rough track and gave it to me to write on as a scratch tape. I was so stoked and excited to write a song with him called Friction. He was a legend and I felt so blessed. I had been a huge Ike and Tina Turner fan as many were from that era. One night I was woken up at 3 am by his wife to jam and sing with ike as he did late hours. This was my chance to show him what I could do and I was excited to try. He said my voice was unique and cute...not exactly what I was going for but I'll take it. Ike knew I was out of work and was going on tour so he asked me to an ikette rehearsal. I loved watching the girls perform but really didnt feel I had the coordination to pull off the performance as a dancer. However I did appreciate the offer and opportunity. I recall one evening as I was talking to Jeanette..I'd worked for years as a phone psychic advisor and wanted me to channel an old friend who'd passed on. At the same time I drank all their Godiva white chocolate for their guests although they did not indulge I shared my song catalog with her. I know she was very helpful in getting me the opportunity to work with Ike Later on after my publisher and ike came to an understanding of our song agreement. At a later date I was working with another indie and was gigging playing some songs we had written together...ike and I from the scratch tape. They came to a gig I performed with the label at The Joint in santa Monica. Leroy Lovett and his wife were present, my then publisher and ike and Jeanette came with friends.and it was great to see them again after so long. Another time Ike had invited me to Harvelles to his gig in Santa Monica. nid invited six friends but there was no room for them because of limited space..uh oh. I so enjoyed my time those couple of years with the Ike camp. It was a very special and memorable time for me. I'll always be grateful for their kindness to me. Ike Turner is gone now. I'm so glad he was able to make his comeback as a blues legend and achieve the success he deserved Ike was like an uncle and I was greatly saddened when his daughter told me of his passing. May he rest in peace.

60s music
Like

About the Creator

Diana Thornley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.