Beat logo

Blackpink's "The Album" Track-by-Track Review

The queens of K-pop have come to save 2020!

By Mi WorldPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you've heard songs like "How You Like That" and "Ice Cream" on Tik Tok, Instagram, or on Television, you'll probably want to check out the beautiful voices behind the music, who called themselves Blackpink.

Blackpink is a South-Korean girl group who has once again stolen our hearts and money by dropping their debut album called "The Album." The album consists of eight songs, three singles, and two collaborations with well-known Western artists like Cardi B and Selena Gomez.

Thanks to their ardent fanbase, who call themselves Blinks, Blackpink's album was ranked at the top of both the Billboard Global 200 and Billboard Global Excl U.S.

Following the release of the group's album, these talented ladies have made outstanding achievements not only with sales and what not, but the group has also won two awards for the comeback song "Lovesick Girls."

Now, without further ado, let's get into this lovely article. However, before I get into the article, I should give you a sense of what the album sounds like. "The Album," produced by Teddy Park, R. Tee, and many more talented producers in the entertainment industry, genres between pop, EDM, trap, hip-hop, etc.

1. How You Like That

"How You Like That" was technically announced as a pre-single. If you're looking for a song to motivate you after you've fallen to the depths of a bad breakup, this song is it. These girls were not kidding when they said, "look at you; now look at me." I mean, look at them; they are talented, beautiful women who know that they are coming out on top, despite all the hardships they faced in life. Let this be known; karma will always come back around.

2. Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez)

"Ice Cream" was a much different take from How You Like That. It just shows how Blackpink stays true to their image and their name when it comes to a black concept and a pink concept. In this case, "Ice Cream" is a pink concept. I have to admit. Genuinely, I was not too fond of the song. After a while of forcing myself to get into it, I was singing "Ice cream chillin'" all around my house at any random time.

3. Pretty Savage

Honey, don't even get me started on this song. This is my favorite song on the album. It just screams "bad b***h energy." The girls of Blackpink clap back at the haters who have criticized them in the past and called them out for hating on them. Not only does the meaning behind the song intiate an empowerful approach to negativity, but the beat is to die for. It's so addictive.

4. Bet You Wanna (feat. Cardi B)

This collab featuring female rapper Cardi B begins with short strummings of a guitar and from there, it's a hit. The vocals and the harmonies are what most would call "chef's kiss." Not to mention Jisoo's clear English pronunciation is exquisite, and I honestly couldn't be more proud of her practicing. At this point, she's a pro. Also, can we shine some light on Rosé's high notes. That girl has got some good windpipes on her. I guess she really does eat CDs for breakfast.

5. Lovesick Girls

"Lovesick Girls," which was their lead single in their comeback earlier this month was something that cheered me up just at the right time when I was dealing with something. But, that's all water under the bridge. Let's not get off-topic. This song is a song that I'm sure most people can relate to, especially if they have been in a toxic relationship. Although, it discusses admitting that one is suffering, it has a catchy beat to it. So, this can be something that you or your friends drive to on a long empty road, with the windows down. (FYI, the last scene where they're driving in the middle of a desert, gives me "Shout Out to My Ex" vibes).

6. Crazy Over You

"Crazy Over You" is probably one of my least favorite songs, but I still like the instrumental. I also admire the wind instruments that are being played in the background. As I stated earlier, Jisoo's English pronunciation is getting better and her deep voice fits the song as well. Jennie and Lisa's raps were phenomenal.

7. Love to Hate Me

"Love to Hate Me" is my second favorite song off "The Album" besides "Pretty Savage." I don't know why, but this song sounds like a song that I would hear in a club, that's just my opinion. The chorus is laidback and the vocals are soft in the beginning. It's definitely something that I would not expect from Blackpink. It's just something to me, that is different. If you guys need a song to convince whether or not you should go back to you ex, who just puts you down and is makes you feel like crap, get your headphones, plug them in, and listen to this song. As the queens once said, "you ain't worth my love, if you only love to hate me." (P.S. Lisa's rap in this is as great as her rap in their 2018 hit "DDU-DU-DDU-DU").

8. You Never Know

"You Never Know" is one of the sad song, but also uplifting, at least it is for me. I am so glad that Blackpink put this song on their first album because it truly represents who they are and explains how some people portray them as K-pop idols who are robots and have no feelings. After watching their Netflix documentary titled "BLACKPINK: Light Up the Sky," I developed an understanding about their struggles during their trainee songs. The things that they went through only motivates me and others to keep fighting for our dreams despite the world being in such a hectic state. If you ever feel discouraged about something someone said or if anyone doubts you, this is a song I recommend to listen to. It will definitely make you feel better, and hopefully put you in a high spirit, as intended.

If you've read this entire article, don't be stranger, you can catch up on more of my articles every Monday and Friday starting today.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Mi World

a safe place for poems, tv and movie reviews, album reviews, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.