Beat logo

Birds who fly solo

Birds who fly solo...

By JahangupPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

Birds who fly solo are said to have the strongest wings.These birds welcome companionship but do not need it.Here's to striving to be such birds. Free. Free to live life to the fullest on our own terms!

I don't care if the valentines week vibes have gotten you to become a mushy mess.Breaking news: there's no knight in shining armour coming to pick your broken pieces up and make you feel loved.YOU, yes you, are responsible for doing that yourself! YOU have to hug yourself tight enough so all your broken parts fix.

You ought to focus on your life goals and accomplish the hell out of them.And then just wait and see the gush of self love and respect that'd fill you up, never to make you miss vulnerably depending on others to invoke such feelings within yourself from.You live life on your own terms and then anyone else who tags along will just be a supplement to your happiness, with you knowing fully well that you're still the main driver.You're in control of you! You're in control of how you see yourself, how you feel, how you want to tread forward in your unique life journey.You call the shots! Cause YOU are the boss of YOU!

So keep doing you, and if the right partners tag along - great!, and if not - we'll be good anyway cause we, say it with me, WE LOVE OURSELVES ENOUGH TO LAST A LIFETIME! Yes, we do!!

And while we are at it, here are 5 songs to channel our inner independent and empowered personas:

1) 7 rings by Ariana Grande: "....Wearing a ring, but ain't gon' be no "Mrs." Bought matching diamonds for six of my bitches I'd rather spoil all my friends with my riches Think retail therapy my new addiction Whoever said money can't solve your problems Must not have had enough money to solve 'em They say, "Which one?" I say, "Nah, I want all of 'em" Happiness is the same price as red bottoms...."

This song puts life into perspective so well : empowerment trumps love.There I said it! Well, someone had to! Don't get me wrong, having romantic love is great and all.But working harding to be able to afford yourself and your close friends and family the life of their dreams, is just another high all-together.

2) Love Myself by Hailee Steinfield: "...I know how to scream my own name I love me! Gonna love myself, no, I don't need anybody else Gonna love myself, no, I don't need anybody else Can't help myself, no, I don't need anybody else. Anytime, day or night I'll take it nice and slow Feeling good on my own without you, yeah Got me speaking in tongues The beautiful, it comes without you, yeah I'm gonna put my body first And love me so hard 'til it hurts I know how to scream out the words Scream the words I love me!..."

Loving oneself, putting our own selves first like this song suggests, I'm all for that! Haven't you heard in airplanes: put your own mask first before helping others.Similarly, learn to love yourself first before sacrificing your all to love others. This is crucial for both parties to keep confident in their own skins individually, to then be able to come together and keep their relationship healthy and happy as a team, especially in the long term.

3) Idol by BTS: English translations of their song lyrics (originally in Korean) "...Keep on chit-chatting, saying this and that I do what I do, so you do you You can’t stop me lovin’ myself.... There are hundreds of me’s inside of me I’m facing a new me again today It’s all me anyway So instead of worrying, I’m just gonna run Runnin’ man.... Even if it takes a while sometimes It’s okay, I’m in love with my-my myself It’s okay, I’m happy in this moment..."

Love the message here: Instead of worrying about all the external chitter chatter around your status (relationship or otherwise), keep focusing on developing your intrinsic self.Keep exploring hundreds of versions of yourself.Keep understanding yourself more and more deeply with every passing day, keep growing and keep loving yourself. Im totally standing by this!

4) Kill this Love by Black Pink: English translations of their song lyrics (originally in Korean) "...After all, in the end we lie So what? So what? If I end up forgetting you So sorry, I'm not sorry What should I do? I can't stand being so weak While I force myself to hide my tears I need to bring an end to this love We must kill this love (Yeah, yeah!) Yeah, it's sad but true Gotta kill this love (Yeah, yeah!) Before it kills you too Kill this love (Yeah, yeah!) Gotta kill, let's kill this love!..."

Because when love ceases being constructive in your life, its wisest to kill it before it kills you.Hope it doesn't come to this unfortunate stage for most people, but if it does, I know I'm going to vote for being happy alone than being miserable together.Only one life to live folks, stay happy!

5) Roar by Katy Perry: "....You held me down, but I got up (hey) Already brushing off the dust You hear my voice, you hear that sound Like thunder, gonna shake the ground You held me down, but I got up (hey) Get ready 'cause I've had enough I see it all, I see it now I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter Dancing through the fire 'Cause I am a champion, and you're gonna hear me roar Louder, louder than a lion 'Cause I am a champion, and you're gonna hear me roar..."

Strength in the face of adversity: picking ourselves back up regardless of however many times we fall and thereafter roaring our loudest, i.e doing nothing but our absolute best.NOT to prove anything to others, but to live up to our own fullest potential and shine as the brightest possible versions of ourselves. Because we owe this to ourselves!

Happy valentines week, folks! Go immerse yourself in the purest form of love : Self Love!

list
2

About the Creator

Jahangup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.