Beat logo

Big Bro goes to THE CLUB

Mattfou continues to explore different styles and sonic ideas with this new song.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

MATTFOU is a recording indie artist and producer based from Switzerland. His songs are a journey through different genres and sonic aesthetics.

At the moment he is busy with his project MIXMUSICALARTS. The idea behind his *M!XMUS!CALARTS* project is not to limit himself to one genre.

Being a versatile artist means that MATTFOU can easily explore different styles and sonic ideas, and his music is a perfect example of this excellent creative balance, showcasing the artist’s personality and value giving to human being and cultures.

Matt also play drums in a rock band called HÆDNUT.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I write my own music and have also co-written with artists on certain songs.

What is your creative process like? Where did the ideas come from, how are they transformed in your mind?

I have thousands of melodies in my head and sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and record them on a voice memo.

As for the lyrics, I usually get a feeling for the melody to the song and then it goes into a theme and I just start writing.

Tell us a bit about your new single ‘Big Bro goes to THE CLUB’.

At the creation of the song, about 4 years ago, I had defined the name "Big Brother Is Watching You" the idea back then was that there is always big brother watching you.

Because it's a very long name, I decided now to use the shorter version "Big Bro" and the concept of the song is actually that GiGi, the pug, is the Big Bro of everyone in the world who gives you tips on how to be freer and make your wishes come true.

The single, "Big Bro“ is a motivational single. He says don't lose your morals. Life is not only the daily grind but much more… Forget the people around you who drag you down … Don't always be on your mobile. You can always break out of this system - Just dance !

Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

GiGi, who is the pug on the cover, told me that there might be another canvas.

What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

I am a creative chaotic perfectionist.

What is the best song you released to date and why?

I personally feel "Exactement ça", because this song is a socially critical, direct, revolutionary motivating and racy energetic one!

What song do fans seem to favor?

The song that is not to be taken too seriously "Crazy Cash“ 🤑

Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

We already perform live with the band HÆDNUT. The solo project MATTFOU MIXMUSICALARTS would be very flattered to perform live. But this would be another stage in the process.

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

"Fever“ with the incredible Rapper Strat and Drummer and producer MASSY Q

Has your musical journey had a deliberate direction, or did it simply evolve in whatever direction it found?

It is an emotional journey with a lot of feeling and location. It's about the journey of life and the experiences we have and the hurdles we have to jump and The different paths we take.

Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

I don't have a marketing concept if that's what you mean? I make music according to my feelings and look forward to every resonance and look forward to each and every person I reach in their heart with my music.

What would be your ideal press headline, either now or in the future? In which publication? Why?

The song "exactement ça" by MATTFOU INSPIRED ME TO GO MY WAY. I told my boss, who has been oppressing and exploiting me for years, my direct opinion in his face and then resigned without a future job because I trust the path of my life and who is allowed to be who I am and have my opinion.

I have no concrete idea where this should be published… New York Times first page!? hahahaha

Why? because you only have one life!

What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

Once the HÆDNUT guitarist emptied the entire Jack Daniels bottle over his Jack Daniels amp during a live performance. Unfortunately, the AMP was not Jack Daniel-Proof.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I want to transport emotions through my music and reach hearts.

Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

The next release is "Dive Under" with "já vou" to follow. Both will be very exciting releases which are very fitting for the summer.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

For the connection to the fans I move mostly in the IG world… my music is available on the most popular streaming platforms such as Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon, iTunes, Deezer, Tidal, etc

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I would be very happy about everyone who listens to my music and don't forget you only live once! Make something of it. It's in your hands!

interview
1

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.