Beat logo

Ben Bakson’s Beat Goes On and On

The Prolific DJ/Producer Wraps the Season with a Hit New Dancefloor Single and a Packed Tour Schedule

By Ben NelsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ben Bakson by Simon Barnes

‘You Got Me’ is the latest single from DJ-producer Ben Bakson. The song was written by OMEO, an Australian-based pop singer who also provides the vocals on the track.

“’You Got Me’ is about leaving the past behind and moving towards a happier, freer self,” Bakson explains. “It’s about finding peace within and taking back your power.”

He says the song’s story is one he can relate with. “I’ve had so many naysayers tell me I couldn’t do this or I was too young to do that,” Bakson continues. “I have gotten rid of them all. If there is one thing I’ve learned, it is how important it is to surround oneself with positive people that encourage you to go to the distance. Anything worth achieving is going to take blood, sweat, tears and a whole lot of optimism.”

Ben Bakson is supporting the release of ‘You Got Me’ with an international tour that will take him to cities including Miami, Atlanta, Dallas, Panama and Madrid. We spoke with him from San Diego.

Are you someone who prefers to keep his private life to himself?

Ben Bakson: I do try to keep my private life as private as possible, especially my love life. It funny how most people think I’m the opposite. They assume that I am outgoing because I’m a DJ that celebrates my life quiet publicly on social media. They don’t realize all of that is part of my job.

Most deejays choose to speak their minds through their music sets.

I definitely agree, and I absolutely do that. Music is the one common language we humans have. For me, it is therapy. I can channel my emotions through music and I love when I get feedback from fans that my music helped them to get through a difficult moment. That makes me very happy.

Photo by Carlos Medel @carlosmdlphoto

Would you define your music as tribal?

I’m not a fan of labeling my music as a particular genre because I honestly think my music style crosses several genres.

Is that why your dancefloor attracts all genders and sexualities?

I have a lot of straight friends that come to my events and they love my music as much as the gay men and women. My goal is to be inclusive; to be loved by everyone. The big hurdle for me is that most of the big straight festivals won`t book any of the big DJs of the LGBT world.

What will it take to blur the lines between gay and straight?

We need party producers to create events that attract straight and gay people and then book DJs from both worlds that will unite all and create a unique musical journey.

Tell us about your new single, “You Got Me.”

It’s about a relationship with a toxic person and how important it is to free yourself from them. It resonates with me becuase I have been single for about a year now which has been the longest time in my life so far. Honestly, I have been very happy, sharing my time with amazing friends and my dog Macho.

Do you have a celeb crush?

JLo’s hairdresser, Chris Appleton.

Photo by Henry Wu

Besides music, do you have a secret talent?

I think I do, but I can`t talk about it here.

What is your greatest fear?

The music stopping during my set. It has happened twice so far, both due to technical issues that were out of my control.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Envy. I don`t really understand people who try to sabotage others. I prefer to be happy for them and support their success. It motivates me to work harder to be more successful myself.

Which living person do you most admire?

My parents. I am very thankful for what they gave me in my childhood. Education, lots of love and empathy; without them I would not be where I am now.

What is your most treasured possession?

My dog, Macho.

If you could have any magic power, what would it be?

Sometimes I think I already have too many magic powers. Like reading people’s minds and knowing what will happen next. I have a sixth sense! I also think music is my magic power. I can bring people together, make them feel happy on the dancefloor and even help them feel better at home through my podcasts. That’s pretty powerful.

Follow Ben on IG @ ben_bakson

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.