Beat logo

Be Considerate of the 1D Stans in Your Life

It's been a busy promo season already, and we're drowning.

By hannah irelanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Before you even ask, no, 1D stans are not okay right now. We’re melting, actually disintegrating. We’re on the struggle bus right now, that’s for sure, but it’s not for the wrong reasons. We’re drowning in all the new, unbelievable content that our five favorite human beings have been gracious enough to gift us. Between Zayn’s two new songs and once-in-a-lifetime selfie, Louis’s single, promo, and tour dates, Liam’s new songs and promo, Niall’s new song and promo, and Harry’s oddly active Twitter, confusing tweets, new single, and upcoming promo and tour dates, we’re emotionally overwhelmed by literally the idea of them existing right now. We’ll be okay (we think), but right now, a little understanding as to why we’re constantly on edge and stressed would be very much appreciated.

If you have a 1D stan in your life, and you’re just trying to think of a way to be considerate of their emotional instability right now, try these tips.

Understand that there are going to be some songs that we enjoy more than others, and that’s okay.

Don’t judge us. There are five of them. We’re surely more likely to listen to some songs more than we do others. Just because I don’t particularly care for “Nice To Meet Ya” by Niall doesn’t mean that I don’t stream it constantly to support him. Yes, I listen to “Lights Up” and “We Made It” consistently on a continuous loop throughout the day, and most of the time, I curse the day for only being 24 hours long because that puts a limit on how much I can stream in a day, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t support all the boys in my own unique and special way. They’re all important to me, and I always make sure to give them all the love in my heart.

We’re tired, therefore, we’re a little cranky.

If you talk to me and I come across as somewhat grouchy and a bit prickly, that would be because I’ve most likely spent one half of the night catching up on Louis’s US promo that I missed through the work day, and the other half of the night reading fanfiction that has rendered me in tears. I’m an emotional wreck most days. You’re lucky to still be alive, honestly.

We are having song withdrawals.

Especially during the workweek. At least on the weekends, I can stream as often as I want for as long as I want. However, when I’m in the middle of a lesson with a group of first graders, the only streaming I’m getting is me attempting to hum the song in my head without shamelessly bursting out into full-out concert mode in the middle of the school day.

We aren’t trying to be annoying with our selfless promo; we’re just excited.

I’m sorry if I talk about how adorable Louis is or how attractive Harry is 5,960 times a day, okay? It’s been two years since I’ve seen Harry’s face, to be honest. I’m just thrilled that he’s alive and remembered his Twitter password. Let me be excited, okay? Humor me, just for a little while. These moments of pure, undoubted happiness don’t come around all that often anymore, and if these five boys can bring me a little joy in a chaotic life, let them.

Yes, we talk about them like they’re our children. Leave us alone.

Yes, I call them my babies. Yes, I love them like they’re my own children. Yes, I scold their poor decisions and praise their successes. I will never stop supporting them with everything I have. They’ve given me everything I could’ve ever asked for in my life. Making some room for them in my heart is the very least that I can do.

We love them all equally.

Sure, I have a favorite. You’d be lying if you said that there wasn’t one of them that stuck out to you a bit more, but that doesn’t mean that you don’t support and cherish them all at the same level in your heart. I adore Louis and Harry. They are the two that I stay up at insane hours of the morning for, and the ones that I sneak into the teacher’s lounge to catch up on their promo for the day. However, even though I don’t fully keep tabs on the others, that, again, doesn’t mean that I don’t wholeheartedly stream and support their musical endeavors.

We’re going to be proud of them. Let us.

Let me love them. Don’t make me feel guilty or silly for how much I choose to express my love for them. They’ve saved my life. Let me show them how much I appreciate their existence because for a long time, they were all I had. Let me be proud of them.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.