Beat logo

Avril Lavigne

Review

By Kristen ColePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
3
Avril Lavigne - "Head Above Water" (Official Video)

Hello readers! My name is Kristen and I wanted to share some thoughts about some current music that's out and about these days. The first song I would like to share my thoughts on is Avril Lavigne's latest single, "Head Above Water."

Bio

Born September 27, 1984 in Belleville, Ontario, Canada, although spent a lot of time in Napanee, Ontario.

Lavigne was discovered in the music industry in 2000 when she signed with Arista records. During the next 13 years she released five albums.

  1. Let Go - (2002)
  2. Under my Skin - (2004)
  3. The Best Damn Thing - (2007)
  4. Goodbye Lullaby - (2011)
  5. Avril Lavigne- (2013)

Throughout the years Avril has also been affiliated with RCA Records, Sony Music Entertainment, BMG Rights Management, Epic Records & Nettwerk Music Group to release her albums.

Lavigne has been nominated for numerous awards and has been awarded the winner of 7 of those nominations which are:

1. 2002: (MTV Video Music Awards): Best New Artist in a Video—"Complicated"

2. 2003: (MTV Asia Awards): The Style Award

3&4. 2003 & 2005: (MTV Asia Awards) International Award: Favorite Female & Breakthrough Artist

5. 2004: ACAP Award: Most Performed Song in a Motion Picture—Bruce Almighty

6. 2008: MTV Video Music Awards - Japan: Best Pop Video—"Girlfriend"

7. 2011: MTV Video Music Awards - Japan: Best video from a film—"Alice"

Lyrics

"Head Above Water"

I've gotta keep the calm before the storm I don't want less, I don't want more Must bar the windows and the doors To keep me safe, to keep me warmYeah my life is what I'm fighting forCan't part the sea, can't reach the shoreAnd my voice becomes the driving forceI won't let this pull me overboard God, keep my head above water Don't let me drown, it gets harder I'll meet you there at the altar As I fall down to my knees Don't let me drown, drown, drown Don't let me, don't let me, don't let me drownSo pull me up from down below 'Cause I'm underneath the undertowCome dry me off and hold me close I need you now I need you most(Chorus #1 repeated)And I can't see in the stormy weatherI can't seem to keep it all togetherAnd I can't swim the ocean like this foreverAnd I can't breatheGod, keep my head above water I lose my breath at the bottomCome rescue me, I'll be waiting I'm too young to fall asleepSo God, keep my head above waterDon't let me drown, it gets harderI'll meet you there at the altarAs I fall down to my knees

Avril Lavigne disappeared from the music scene for five years. Lavigne was diagnosed with lyme disease in 2014. She was bedridden for about two years, because the disease was at it's worst. She felt like she was going to die and accepted that fate. During that time she had started to write about how the disease made her feel which had the turnout of the hit song "Head Above Water."

Credit: https://www.womenshealthmag.com/health/a23931642/avril-lavigne-lyme-disease-billboard/

Lyme disease is an inflammatory disease that appears as a rash, headache, fever and chills. The disease can lead to arthritis, neurological and cardiac disorders. This is caused by bacteria that is transmitted by ticks.Credit: https://g.co/kgs/sWubb6

My Opinion of the Lyrics

When I first heard this song on the radio, I could relate so much to it. I instantly thought about the things I go through daily with one being depression. I could relate after listening to the lyrics, because to me, it is asking for help to not feel so alone and want to just give up on life. It is believing in a higher power to get you back down to where you need to be. I could write a few pages about my experiences but I will keep this short and sweet for now!

Thanks for reading!

~ Kristen

song reviews
3

About the Creator

Kristen Cole

Hello!

I am Kristen and I am new to writing. I am on here to get exposure to my pieces being read as I am currently writing a novel. I will be writing about a vast majority of topics. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Enjoy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Miss Shamim Akhtar3 months ago

    Bundle of thanks for liking my writings. Best wishes for your success.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.