Beat logo

Atlanta pop artist BRIANNA writes 2020 anthem “Survive”

BRIANNA

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read

1. What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

Brianna Shelko, famously known as BRIANNA, is an American Musical artist and songwriter from Atlanta, GA.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

I had to be an entrepreneur first. Although music has always been the forefront of my whole life, I had to earn it. No one’s picking up the recording fees (yet). So, since I was seven years old I have owned a business. I’m a serial entrepreneur with 10 businesses and five of them are revenue streams to support my music career. My hustle sets me apart from the rest. My music doesn’t need wordy fluff. I sing from a place of honesty and incorporate stories from my life. I like to keep music personal and vulnerable. Sara Bareilles was onto something when she said, ”I’m not going to write you a love song cause you asked for it...” and I feel the exact same way. You’ll never have to wonder how I feel about something when you listen to my songs.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

My focus is on generating a following that brings unity and supports one another. And with that support, I hope to win a Grammy (or three) and write for major artists like Demi Lovato, Carrie Underwood and JoJo. I also dream of writing music for television and film. And to top things off, I want to perform at the VMAs, Super Bowl and tour as an artist around the globe.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself as the CEO of my own mega marketing agency offering branding, PR and music for artists and businesses alike and touring the world as a house-hold name. If we’re being specific, I see myself having at least been number 1 on the music charts three different times by then. I imagine being on tour, doing what I love, and contributing to other artist’s success by writing catchy show-stoppers for them all while living out my dream as an entrepreneur.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring authenticity. I’m a curvy girl myself and during my musical reign, I hope that men and women of all body types will feel empowered, inspired, loved and supported. If your family doesn’t support you because of your sexual orientation, I’m your family now. If someone knocks you down, I’m your cheerleader. If along the way you lose some friends, I’m your new bestie. I want my fans to know my music is for them, no matter what they’re going through. Not to mention, my songs are catchy and a lot of them I write in 7 minutes or less.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

I honestly just hope to leave the legacy of “hard work pays off” and share my journey as an artist and entrepreneur and how I made it. I’ve been working my way up in the music industry for about 18 years now, and when I make it, I’m giving someone else a hand. Forget about celebrities and influencers who make it and forget about the rest. I’m bringing you guys with me. There’s always room at the table. My legacy will promote growth and opportunity for other artists like me, who’ve worked for every second of this dream and bridge the gap between celebs and non-celebs. I want everyone in the world to know they’re special and have purpose regardless of their status in this world. Changing lives is what it’s all about.

interview

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jason James Written by Jason James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.