Beat logo

Armando Cervantes Baldwin

Armando Cervantes Baldwin

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1

What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

My name is Armando Cervantes-Baldwin but I am better known as Teal. I was born in the central valley of California and have grown up in the small town of Farmersville Ca where i have lived for my whole life.

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

I have always tried to be a homebody, because people feeling great about themselves can make a great environment and the people around me always consider me the father type figure, which is basically the Dad Friend or solely just as Father. I am always choosing to be a pillar of the community rather than someone who observes success. As an Artist I take that motivation of staying dedicated to every task I take on and every project that I pursue, in journalism I make sure to gain the perspective that is never discussed or brought to light in the most clear way. In music I strive to write what lessons in life you have to learn the hard way as well as the essence of what makes me who I am.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Some major key things I want to accomplish is establishing myself as one the most influential Music Journalist and Songwritter of my generation. By this time I want to write songs for major artist and trailblazer who have come before me and continue to reign their success. I hope to learn and earn my way to an iconic status for always making sure success is never downplayed by the glitz and glanour of overhyped media grabbers.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I hope to establish my own publication where I provide the tools to all aspiring journalist, artist and of course the fans to have their voices heard and be able to seek the answers from the people who inspire them, that way every question is not left unanswered. It will be a place where people artist can have a strong coonection with their fans, all while maintaining boundaries and gaining the insiders perspective. Another thing i want to accomplish is establishing a foundation and award show that honors all Urban Culture and those who make a difference, I feel this is something lacking in the industry. As a person of color I see how corporations limit and ostracize foundations who try show the whole truth of the world around them and standing up for what they believe in. Lastly as a musician, I wish to have grown up and mature my knowledge as a songwriter and vocalist. I hope to expand my range and versatility, and hopefully be recognized for my attributes in music.

What do you bring to the music world?

5. In the world of music I consider myself as a apprentice because even if you are a legendary singer l, that doesn't mean you stop learning something new. Because I feel in music; you never stop learning how to imporve or how to reinvent yourself as an artist to adapt to a whole new element that you discover in music. I am nothing but amateur. Yes I have gone to school to study music and I still have much to learn and that is what I bring. The ability to grow and show people that I can adapt and am willing to adjust to the new sounds people create. However I grew up in a traditional setting and musically it takes me time to adpat to new artist. I grew up listening to Gospel, R&B and Soul, and Jazz. Musicians such as Smokey Robinson, Otis Redding, Ralfi Pagan, Rick James, Usher, Ginuwine, Frankie J and Bruno Mars have inspired me. I also have to Mention Mary Wells, Ruth Brown, Etta James, Teena Marie, Aaliyah, Monica and Paula DeAnda as well. I pay homage to these artist because their styles have given me so much and I want to grow as a singer and singwritter to be recognized as they are. Music Journalism goes hand in hand with song writing and it is just one benefit of self improvement

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

The Legacy I want to leave behind is the one of a person who didn't wait around to make something happen. I want to recognized as ambitious innovator who didn't wait for success to hit, but instead fought for what was right. I am a real person, I take up causes that I believe in and stand up for those who feel oppressed. Because every voice should be heard and every question should have an answer. I want to be a giver and someone who inspired people. Whether it's musically or through journalism, I am a voice and I hope to be heard by many. Importantly a person who heard every voice. The last thing I want is to be remembered as a dull Celebrity who uses money and big labels to capture a monent. I'm real and their is nothing that defeats this purpose. All around I want to be remembered as a good person

interview
1

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.