Beat logo

'ARIZONA baby'–Kevin Abstract Review

The Trilogy Release

By Kay KindschyPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Cover of the 'ARIZONA baby' Set of Songs

We haven’t heard much from the men of Brockhampton since their 2018 release of Iridescence, their fourth album, after the Saturation Trilogy. So, naturally, fans were ecstatic when Kevin Abstract (Ian Simpson), released a three-song album/EP titled ARIZONA baby. The set of songs include singles, “Big Wheels,” “Joy Ride,” and “Georgia.”

Now, it doesn’t take much to listen to and review three songs. First and foremost, I must mention that the set of three songs have a very appropriate sound for summer time. Brockhampton has always released music that sounds the best during the summertime; listening to it with the windows down in your car and your best friends beside you.

“Georgia” is the slower, softer song out of the three. A lot of fans on Twitter claim “Georgia” as their favorite. Despite being through so much in his 22 years of life, Kevin Abstract always produces music with positivity inscribed into the message:

“I got Georgia on my mind, aint nobody left behindIt’s just me, my team, my weed, my baby’s Audi parked outsideCall my mom and let her know everything is alright”

Despite this new release, fans of Brockhampton are questioning what’s next for the self-proclaimed boyband. Each member seems to have their own separate music careers as well. I, for one, cannot imagine their careers ending anytime soon. They have basically been building up an empire for themselves, and if I have learned anything from music, silence usually leads to bigger and better things for groups.

I saw the boys of Brockhampton last July at the Agenda Festival in Long Beach, California, and it was the first time they ever headlined a festival. Of course, after that they also performed at Coachella last year. With this being said, I cannot imagine them not headlining many festivals to come!

Kevin and Joba Onstage at the Agenda Festival in Long Beach, CA in July, 2018

I’m hoping the rest of the group also releases some individual singles as well. Brockhampton is also not like other groups. They’re a bit unpredictable, but they are all young and sitting on top of a popular empire for themselves. Considering how quickly they produced everything for Saturation (three albums in one year that were very well thought out, and multiple music videos for those songs along with the releases), we all know what Brockhampton is capable of.

With the summer season approaching, I’m anticipating something that Brockhampton has up their sleeve to be revealed, since they’ve proven summertime to be their time. I could be totally wrong, in fact, but I don’t believe that this silence will last. Honestly, I hope Abstract expands on ARIZONA baby, and maybe makes it into a series of releases. I guess the only thing we can do as an audience is be patient, and watch what unfolds.

The day after I began to write this piece of work, Kevin Abstract tweeted about an update of Brockhmapton’s work, and how he has been working with the group on new music, debunking any break up rumors!

I guess, to conclude, make sure you listen to ARIZONA baby and keep your eyes peeled for new releases from Abstract or any of the other members of Brockhampton! Also, if you haven’t already, make sure to listen to "American Boyfriend" by Kevin Abstract, and all of the work done by Brockhampton to Spotify or Apple Music today!

Thank you for reading! All your reads and tips mean a lot to a broke college student. If you’re interested, check out my other music-related stories to support my writing! Thank you!

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Kay Kindschy

Music makes the world go ‘round and I love to tell you all about it! Thank you for reading my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.