Beat logo

Are you (Un)Lost?

The real reason why The Maine are here to save your life.

By Brody GrahamPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

(Un)Lost

In my opinion, The Maine have easily been the source of the biggest influence towards positive growth throughout my young adult life. But, even before songwriting had become an outlet for my thoughts, their lyrics had been storming my ears. Their constant messages of vibrancy and an acute attention to mental health really struck a chord. As a child, when times were low and survival seemed impossible, one particular song stood out – ‘(Un)Lost’ from The Maine's 2015 album ‘American Candy’. (Un)Lost is substantial enough to have earned its place permanently on my skin - not once, but twice, in the form of tattoos on my wrist and hips. A constant reminder of who I was, am and will be. Growing up I was dealt with circumstances that I wouldn’t wish on anyone else. Separated parents, suffering from Depression and Borderline Personality Disorder, and discovering I was gay in a strict Christian household… These are just a small piece of those difficult circumstances. I was confused and lost. Eventually I gave up on finding a purpose … a sense of gravity. I dabbled in many different career aspects - cooking (which I still love), gaming, graphic design, fitness and personal training, media and even psychology, but nothing stuck until more recently, when I gathered the tools and confidence to fold absolutely into music and creative writing. In those early years it was easier to follow the tide of mediocrity – “Get a job” and “Finish school” was what I was told. So I kept my head low and somehow survived. Hence when I heard the lyrics:

"I'm not looking to be found,

Just want to be (Un)Lost"

… my eyes lit up, ears twitched and I stood a little taller. This was it! This was (ironically) what I'd been looking for. I distinctly remember 17 year old me, sitting in the school yard shouting:

"Whatever this is, it doesn't get easier"

It was like I was in a church of my own, spirituality flowing freely through me. Still, louder I got:

"So take it slow,

Just take it slow."

If music can heal, The Maine took away my pain in a way no doctors ever could.

(Un)Lost tattooed on my wrist in early 2018

Now, many years later, as a young adult, while the beat may have changed my anthem stays the same. When I stare at a wall feeling a lack of purpose, or when the voices in my head scream "give up!", I listen to (Un)Lost and bathe in its radiant melodies. The truth of those lyrics sink in , envelop my being and fill me with glee. By no means is it a cure to the heavier disease latched to our minds and conscience, but, if you let it, it can certainly lighten that burden.

Following me into song writing, (Un)Lost sets a high standard and goal to reach for. It exemplifies how I want to sound, the message I want to send with my own sounds. It sets a kind of melancholic beat. A beat that one day, however far in the future, I hope to reach.

Who knows, maybe one day I'll see someone with one of my songs on their body; an indication that I've done for them what The Maine did for me. Without The Maine - and that song, I would not be here in the first place, sitting here pouring out my heart about a song and it's words of power.

I always try to think about how it could be applicable to the future. Not just my future, but the future of every lost soul there too. If you are struggling with your own purpose listen to the voice of Lead Vocalist John O'Callaghan as he sings:

"But I know I'll take the leap

If it is worth the fall.

So long as the bloof keeps flowing,

I'll set sail and swim across."

Such a clear message is preached to me, especially in collaberation with the following verses:

"With my eyes closed this feels like home,

Adrift in my own head."

And:

"The world is ours,

But for a flash,

And you are not allowed to be anybody else.

Control what you can

Confront what you can't.

And always remember how lucky you are to have yourself."

In a generation that appears guilty of obsessing far too much over validation in relationships and social media, I find these lyrics bring clarity to how differently we could deal with those frustrations. We are such a lost herd. I truly believe that at times music is the real shepherd, if we would only open our ears and hearts to the sound.

"Control what you can, Confront what you can't... Always remember how lucky you are to have yourself." The Maine really does make it sound achievable. But of course, for some, catchy words to a slim beat is not enough to pull us out of the dark pits of our mind. But again, I urge the truth of these lyrics to be heard. Physical changes will come when we are ready and willing to try. It is just a matter of letting go until then. We as a species might not get a defined answer as to why we exist. But maybe that is just it. Maybe we don't need instructions to find ourselves. Maybe we just need to learn to feel (Un)Lost.

alternative
Like

About the Creator

Brody Graham

Just on a Journey of music and sounds that will light up your world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.