Beat logo

Another list of underrated 80s songs

The Hits that went Missed

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

The 80s had many musical wonders that no one got on their retro radar, so I’ve comprised another list of songs to bring attention to for your playlist of the nostalgic misses. You'll find that you know this specific artist or band for an iconic song they are known for, but to find out what else they did that went unknown to others. Get your hairspray, your leg warmers, and take a trip back to the past.

1. Love hates by Marianne Faithfull

This was a song Marianne did for the movie Tuff Turf. It’s a song that I love to play at night if I’m in the mood for an eerie vibe or I need something for a sense of comfort after a problem. I was surprised to find out that Marianne Faithfull was the one that sung this song since it’s different then what I usually hear from her. Looking at the title, I’d have to say it’s the accurate feeling of love, how that feeling that channel others various emotions. The duality of the strongest emotions that come together for the conflict with whatever is going on. It’s a song for those that need some kind of relatable relief with sketchy pop sounds.

2. Gangs in the Street by Loverboy

This was one song that I stumbled upon when I went through my Loverboy CD for some other songs I haven't heard from them besides Turn Me Loose or Working for the Weekend. From the first guitar riff, I was hooked. It is a song that is invigorating and pumped for a fight night. If it’s a fight they want, it’s a fight they get. The dice had been rolled, time to show up for the showdown. It’s very similar to the song I mentioned in my previous list, “Don’t need a gun” by Billy Idol, and reminiscent to "Beat it" by Michael Jackson. I’ve just had to accept that when this song comes on, I have to turn my stereo to MAX volume.

3. Never by Moving Pictures

This was unfortunately the only song that was their hit before indefinite breakup. This song is more of a cult hit for the association of this song for the scene in Footloose where Kevin Bacon dances his frustrations out in an abandoned mill. It is an anthem for those who feel the world is against them. Despite the fact that it's primarily connected to Footloose, it does stand on it's own, whenever I hear it, I don't think of the movie, I just enjoy the song as it's the anthem for the misunderstood. They were a short lived band, but they did make one heck of a great song that never goes away.

4. Notorious by Duran Duran

The song for rebellious individuals that cause trouble and damn proud of it. We all have a trouble-making side to us, this is a great anthem to those moments where we can’t help who we are. It’s been heard here and there but I don’t hear this gem that often on the radio, and a tiny snippet for the talent show scene on Donnie Darko .Even though the title of the song is called , Notorious, it really is glorious.

5. The Order of Death by Public Image Ltd.

For the last song for this list, once again, I have a pick I found from an episode of Miami Vice. This one was the very end of the episode, “Little Miss Dangerous” (S2,E15). There's plenty of great tunes in that episode, but The Order of Death is the one that sticks out the most. It’s a repetitive song that only says the same lyrics, “This is what you want, this is what you get”. It’s a repetitive for a reason , not many songs can get away with just saying the same words. It’s a song with a sinister vibe of karma. It’s true with some individuals that act on something and have to accept the consequences.

80s music
2

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.