Beat logo

An Interview With: Seungrae

The Rising Star discusses his musical process, appearance on “Sign Here” and future plans.

By Nathan SartainPublished 5 years ago 9 min read
Like

To call Seungrae Kim a hidden gem would feel like a gross understatement. The hip-hop artist (one that has recently made the transition into the Korean music scene) is fresh and innovative; delivering his songs with a unique vibe, and drawing on a wealth of influences and styles with seamless success. Tracks like “Mama” feel old-school and raw, with the razor-sharp lyrics both easily digestible and perfectly intricate, whereas more buoyant releases such as “1969” are a lot more carefree, and have a completely different, but nonetheless brilliant colour to them.

And, after appearing on the MBN programme AOMG: Sign Here, things are only going to get bigger and better for the versatile artist. More eyes and ears than ever before are on his music, but with an undeniably strong learning experience under his belt, it’s clear that Seungrae will have more than enough to handle whatever comes next.

In the meantime, we were fortunate enough to ask the rising star some questions about his recent TV appearances, his approach to music, and his future ambitions.

Nathan Sartain: Firstly, we must talk about your appearance on Sign Here. What was that like as an experience?

Seungrae Kim: Sign Here was simply an amazing experience. It was the first time I was given an opportunity like this. I got to meet and network with a lot of talented artists, and I learned a lot about the Korean hip hop scene. It was a great introduction for me into the scene as well.

Of course part of the charm of that programme is that participants get to perform in front of artists from AOMG such as ‪Jay Park‬, Gray and ‪Simon Dominic‬. Is that something that inspired and motivated you to audition?

That was definitely one of the reasons why I chose to participate in this audition/program. AOMG is undisputedly one of the top labels in Korea with a talented line-up of artists. On top of that, with Jay Park being signed to Roc-Nation, it inspired me to try auditioning for this program in hopes that ‪Jay Park‬ would recognize the work I've put into music.

Your tracks that can be found on platforms such as Spotify or Soundcloud have English lyrics. Obviously as Sign Here is a Korean show, you performed in Korean instead. Is that an indicator of how much this opportunity meant to you, and proof of the hard work you’re willing to put in to reach your goals?

I'm not going to lie, I sacrificed and gave up on a lot of other career paths to pursue this opportunity. That's how much this opportunity meant to me. Moreover, this was the first time I've ever written lyrics in Korean. It was definitely one of the hardest things to do as I had to work on so many things in such a short amount of time.

To expand, just how difficult was it preparing a song in Korean for the show?

It was extremely difficult, I had to constantly work whenever I had to prepare for the next mission. It felt like I had to start from the basics, but at the same time continuously elevate my lyrics and flow, so that I could show something new each time.

Since your appearance on the show, and your chance in round three to work with Code Kunst amongst other competitors such as Maddox to create a song, has your approach to music changed in any way?

Rather than changing my approach to music, it just made me realize that there are a lot of talented artists out here in Korea. After working alongside Code Kunst, I realized there were still so many elements in music that I needed to work on. I guess you could say that Code Kunst helped broaden my perspective on music. He is a talented producer, and it was an honor working with him in round three.

Back in round two you got to work with OSA crew, what did you learn from that? And how was it learning from and working with experienced artists like those three?

No words can express the gratitude I have towards the OSA crew for taking me under their wing. Especially as someone with no experience in the Korean hip hop scene, I'm thankful towards the OSA crew for teaching me a lot about the culture.

It was an incredible learning experience; I could feel their professionalism and experience whilst working alongside them. Working with the OSA crew definitely expedited the process for me in terms of helping me understand more about the Korean culture, hip hop scene, and language. Beyond the show, I can safely say that I've met three brothers that I will be continuing to contact throughout the future.

To move topics slightly, during the song you performed in round two, "Bruce Lee," you used a Hong Kong noir concept. As you lived in Hong Kong for some time, how did that impact your musical style, and musical outlook?

"Bruce Lee" was originally a song that the OSA crew had released a few years back. For the second round, they decided to revamp the song to include a verse from me. Hong Kong is my home. I've lived there for over 20 years. My experience with the underbelly/dark side of Hong Kong has definitely influenced my musical style and outlook. I enjoy sharing the stories and experiences my friends in Hong Kong and I have shared and gone through.

Additionally, do you feel your experiences from your time in Hong Kong may give you something that some other rappers might not have? If so, what do you think it gives you?

I believe that my experiences in Hong Kong have definitely shaped me into the person I am today. I grew up around a lot of people from different races and cultures as Hong Kong is as international as it gets. I would have to say that being able to understand and vibe with people is one of my greatest strengths. If I were to translate this into music, I would like to believe that I'm able to write lyrics through a variety of lenses.

To rewind back to your childhood. What was your upbringing like, and how did that ultimately effect your music and how you chose to make it?

It's not something I'm proud of, but I've had a troubled past and upbringing. It was difficult for me to express what I wanted to say at times. However, through music, I really felt that I could get across what I wanted to express. I remember it feeling so refreshing as if a huge load was taken off my shoulders.

Furthermore, who inspired you as an artist, and kept you motivated to stick at your dream?

There are a lot of artists who inspired me and motivated me to continue working towards my dream. However, if I were to pick a few I would have to say: ‪Kid Cudi‬, J. Cole, ‪Kendrick Lamar‬, ‪Freddie Gibbs‬, and ‪Jack Johnson‬. It's difficult to explain, but I really felt as if their music was speaking to me. Their music has helped me get past through a lot of hard times in my life.

Moving on to talk about your own music, one thing instantly noticeable from listening to your songs is the cleverly written lyrics and the tight, effective production. How do you approach writing songs, and does this process come naturally to you now?

I appreciate you recognizing that. There are a lot of different methods I use when writing songs, however, the most effective method I would say is through using my feelings and emotions, and applying them to my experiences or experiences from the people I've met throughout my life. I would have to say, because of the influences from the artists I mentioned above, I enjoy trying to explain difficult concepts in simpler terms for people to understand easily. This process does not come naturally to me. Of course, I still have a lot to learn, and have yet to understand so many more things in this game we call life. I just hope that my music can touch the lives of at least some people, the same way my inspirations have touched my life.

You seem to dabble in numerous different styles of hip-hop from a production standpoint, yet all of your songs have a recognisable quality to them. Is keeping your mind open to new styles something you feel is important? And how easy was it for you to find and create your own style and colour?

I really do enjoy dabbling in numerous different styles of hip-hop. I do believe being versatile is one of the greatest strengths an artist can have. I think keeping your mind open to new styles and music is an extremely important factor when it comes to finding success in hip hop.

It was definitely not easy for me to find and create my own style and color. In fact, I still think I have a ways to go before I can confidently say that I've found my own style and color. However, I'm thankful to those who've continuously supported my music and recognized/distinguished me from other artists.

The public seem to enjoy your music too. For you personally, how encouraging is it that your songs are met with a positive response?

Personally, it means the world to me, I'm thankful to those who send me messages and continue to support my music. At times, it still feels unreal. It's one of the reasons why I continue to work on music.

For those who haven’t had a chance to listen to any of your work, is there a track you would recommend to them?

Honestly, there's no one track or album I can recommend, even I don't have a favorite track or album, it’s really up to the listener. However, I can say that I am constantly trying to develop my skills and sound. If you have the chance to listen to my music, I hope you don't just look at the numbers.

And finally, to reflect on your career so far, how would you say it has been? And, where is it that you want to take it in the future?

Looking back, I have to say I've come a long way from when I first started. I've had my ups and downs with music. I’m not sure where I want to take it in the future. Instead, I'll simply just let it be. Much love to all those who've showed love to me, I appreciate it from the bottom of my heart.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Sartain

A lifelong music fan with diverse taste.

Email - [email protected]

Twitter - @nathan_sartain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.