Beat logo

An Interview With: FR:EDEN

FR:EDEN’s latest single, “Before the sunrise,” is out now.

By Nathan SartainPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like

FR:EDEN is an artist who undoubtedly has potential. Still very much in his artistic infancy, the singer has managed to show off rapid improvement throughout each of his releases and, although he mightn’t believe it himself, has created an idiosyncratic style of blending distortion, emotion and melody together to form songs that never fail to be defined as memorable.

December’s EP, Novel: Rear Blast, was a culmination of his work so far. Tracks like “would you mind if i,” a trap-infused, sonically resolute offering which switches between gritty, industrial distorted noise and stripped-back, plodding acoustics, peaks the interest instantly, whilst “Sigh,” a fast-paced, guitar-leaning song, shows more vocal versatility and favours accessibility over raw emotion until a roaring climax brings the track to a end with a finesse-filled flourish.

And now, back with new single “Before the sunrise,” FR:EDEN seeks to show a more trimmed down, soulful side of himself. Mostly reliant on tone-heavy guitar riffs as the singer breezes through the subtly atmospheric cut, the song is a low-tempo affair until its final third. From there, the falsetto slips under rising guitar and cymbals sounds, before reverberating back down to a simple conclusion. It’s a fantastic effort, and one that further cements the South-Korean as someone to keep an eye out for in the future.

And, with the release still fresh in our memories, we spoke to FR:EDEN about “Before the sunrise,” his December EP, and much more.

Firstly, talk us through “Before the sunrise.” What was it like writing and recording the song, and what does it mean to you personally? 

I made a guide version with a guitar for the first time. I wrote down the lyrics in a calm manner. Making a song can be something strange and special to people, but it is natural for me. It didn't take long because I expressed the feelings that I had in my head in the song. Rather than a song that I wanted people to sympathize with, I wanted to let them know that I'm in this state right now.

One particularly striking part of the song is its climax. How was that particular section composed, and how did it play out in recording it when working with viewhorse?  

From the guide version, I made it thinking about the heightened emotions in the second half. Sunrise, the beginning of the day, was not a very welcome thing for me at the time. In the latter half of the climax, I wanted to capture the magnificent feeling of sunrise and the explosion of emotion.

When I was working with producer viewhorse, I originally had only one meintrack, but I wanted to draw a little more of my complex emotions, so I made a lot of chorus tracks. It was composed of guitar, pad, string, and bass, and it was difficult to make a grand feeling with just guitar and bass, so I added the rest. Viewhorse proposed to me to mix the main track in several layers and I accepted it.

It’s a weird time to be releasing music, but the response seems to have been fairly positive to the track. How nice is it that your music is still being responded to and engaged with at a time like this?

I can't say I got a good response because I'm not a very famous artist. But I am still thankful that I can do music. It's all thanks to those who listen to my songs. It makes me very happy that there are people who like me, an artist who is not easily encountered anywhere. I think I'm a very lucky man. If people continue to support me, I want to give them a better result.

The single comes just a few months after your last mini-album, .Novel: Rear Blast. Since you’ve now had a bit of time to reflect on that, what are your feelings towards that release?

It is an album about the pain and regret that an ordinary man experiences after a breakup. The first track is about a fight with a girlfriend, the second track is about a breakup, the third track is about regretting a breakup, the fourth about a willingness to forget her ex-lover, the fifth about longing for her who disappeared from her daily life, and the last track is about you winning. I made a series of stories for the first time, and I realized once again how hard it was. The reaction in Korea was not very good and I felt that I was still musically lacking.

Similarly, what did you learn from that, if anything, to help you with your latest single?

I thought I should play the guitar better. I think it is an instrument that conveys human emotions well. If I can play guitar and other instruments better, I want to release an album that I made by myself.

Moving on, you’ve also recently featured on “Used To” by Alisha. What was that collaboration like, and how did it play out?

I am the same age as Alisha and one day suddenly contacted me and asked me to make a song together. It was a story about parting and I readily accepted it. I felt that it was not obvious because it was not a normal breakup but a cool breakup story. Alisha sent the guide first, and I wrote the second verse from the man's point of view and handed it over. I remember her being very satisfied. It was a pleasant experience because I rapped again after a long time.

You’ve never been someone to shy away from collaborations and features. How important is it to you that you can work with other artists to perhaps help make their song better, and also learn new things for your own music? 

It has the advantage of being able to experience a genre that I don't usually do. And I'm happy to feel recognized by them (other artists). In today's age, collaborations are an essential factor and are taken for granted. It makes music more diverse and lively. It is also a good device to make sure the song doesn’t get boring. I’d like to collaborate with more artists than I do now.

In the current situation we’re facing, how are you staying creative? 

I try hard to concentrate on certain words, or try to think or feel from someone else's point of view. Love is a happy thing for me, but I find another side of words every moment, just as it can be an incomplete feeling for someone.

Actually, I can't write songs well these days. It's because my daily life is monotonous. I want to experience more, but it's not easy in reality. I want Corona to end soon.

And, as an extension, has anything been inspiring you whilst you try to make more music?

These days, I'm trying to be honest with my feelings. But that's not easy. Because I'm not a person who talks about my problems easily to others.

I think I have to tear down the wall to become a little more wonderful as an artist. The biggest inspiration for me now is my reality. The desire to do better in music and the anxiety of those in their late 20s living in the Republic of Korea are hard feelings to coexist. I want to tell such a story in the song.

In general, you tend to write a lot of your own songs. What does that allow you to do in terms of lyrics given you can write about any aspect of your life and discuss any topic you’d prefer?

Songs that people have heard so far are not actually my experience except for a few. I like using indirect experience. In the song, I can be someone else, not me. That is why music is attractive and necessary in our lives.

I want to give people laughter and empathy through straightforward lyrics. Abstract and difficult lyrics don't fit my inclination.

Before we wrap-up, how has 2020 been for you so far?

First of all, the end of 2020 is still far away, so this year's goal is to do music without being pressed for time. If possible, I would like to release a full album. I think there are many people who are having a hard time because of Corona; I hope everyone can cheer up. I'm going to have a year where I can concentrate a little more on me and I believe that's a necessary time in my life. I want to empty a little bit because I am a greedy person. Then I think I can play better music for people. I would appreciate it if people always cheer for me.

And, as a continuation, what are your goals as we move through the year and beyond?

It would be nice to become a more famous artist and be able to reach people easily, but it doesn't matter if I don’t. When I first started music, I thought I could do music for a year. But as I said before, the reason why I can do music is because of those who listen to my songs, and I will continue to make music. I think I can make much better music than now. I hope people can look forward to it. I'm trying really hard.

My final goal is to be in a band. In order to do that, I think I need to experience various instruments and various genres. I just want to be a versatile musician. This year and in the future. 

And finally, is there anything you’d like to add?

I sincerely thank you for giving me the opportunity for this interview. It's wonderful to find me abroad. I hope for the opportunity to visit other countries will come sooner. Please remember the name FR:EDEN. I will greet you again with good music soon.

 

interview
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Sartain

A lifelong music fan with diverse taste.

Email - [email protected]

Twitter - @nathan_sartain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.