Beat logo

All the Things I Said to Myself While Listening to 'Fine Line' for the First Time

believe me, there were more than just tears

By hannah irelanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Harry Styles’ album came out at midnight today! (I never use exclamation points; can you sense my excitement?) Honestly, after listening to it for the first time, I can honestly say that there’s nothing in the world that I love more than this album right now.

With that being said, I haven’t done an album review yet, and that’s just because I’m still struggling to put all of my thoughts into a coherent sentence that makes sense. My emotions are all over the place. I’ve laughed. I’ve cried. I’ve been both torn apart and put back together by this masterpiece of an album. Harry outdid himself.

Here’s a comprehensive look at all the thoughts that went through my head while I listened to “Fine Line” at 3:19 on Friday morning.

Disclaimer: I’m excluding the singles (“Lights Up,” “Watermelon Sugar,” and “Adore You” from this list because I honestly can’t remember my reactions to them. This will just be my reaction to the new material.)

Golden

*when the beat dropped*

“Wow, didn’t expect that, but I like it.”

“Woah, the deep rasp is something we deserve to hear more.”

“This will sound AMAZING as a tour opener.”

“I’m going to take a drive tomorrow for the sole purpose of hearing this in the car.”

“How can the lyrics be so sad, but the song be so upbeat?”

“Wow, that ‘da-da-dada” is HOT.”

Cherry

“Not what I was expecting, but I’m totally NOT complaining.”

“Wait, his voice sounds so… soft?”

“Harry does not deserve to be sad. Ever. Who’s allowing this?”

“I thought I loved the deep rasp, but the quiet, gentle whisper might be my favorite.”

“Harry, please stop breaking my heart. We’re only on track 5.”

“Does this album ever get happy?”

“That voicemail though.”

“Someone give me his address so I can go fix his broken heart.”

Falling

“Wow, I’m NOT crying. It’s only the piano intro. I haven’t had time to be sad yet.”

‘And there’s no one to blame but the drink and my wandering hands.’

“Wait, WHAT.”

“I’m not crying, there’s just water pouring out of my eyes.”

“Harry does NOT deserve to be sad.”

“Oh my god, please just rip my heart out, it’ll be less painful.”

“Harry, just give me your broken heart so I can take care of it like it deserves.”

“That high note though.”

“Okay, I admit it, I’m bawling. I’m okay with it though.”

“If Harry’s this sad, I quit.”

To Be So Lonely

“Wow, I love her.”

“Again with these damn sad lyrics.”

“Harry, don’t ever call yourself that again.”

“I really can’t take any more sadness from this album.”

“Is it possible to die from sadness?”

*googles if it’s possible to drown in your own tears*

She

‘Finally, something slightly less depressing”

“Huh, this sounds like something familiar.”

*realizes it sounds like ‘Woman’ from HS1*

“This is so HOT.”

“Get it, Mitch.”

“I need this song tattooed to my forehead.”

“KILL US, MITCH.”

Sunflower, Vol. 6

“This is really cute.”

“THIS IS REALLY CUTE.”

“I actually can’t handle the energy this song radiates.”

“My mom claimed this song, and I’m pretty sure she won at life.”

“Is Harry even real? How cute is he?”

“I adore this song, truly.”

Canyon Moon

“Stevie Nicks, is that you?”

“This song is a MOOD.”

“Stan this song for good health.”

“Awe, my BFF loves this song. Thinking of making this our theme.”

Treat People With Kindness

“Honestly sounds like a sitcom theme song, but--”

“Okay, Harry sounds good, I can roll with it.”

“It’s getting catchier by the minute.”

“But I’m ready for Harry to scream TPWK at me on tour so”

Fine Line

“And after all of that, I’m back to having a full-on meltdown.”

“Does he think it’s okay to make be BAWL like this?”

“He should be arrested for assault. My heart is shattered.”

album reviews
3

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.