Beat logo

Alexis Ray Parker

Vocal Media Women In Music Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Alexis Ray Parker

Alexis Ray Parker is a singer, songwriter, and actress born in Pine Bluff, AR, and raised in Conway, AR. Following in the footsteps of her musical family, Alexis drew inspiration from the beautiful voice of her mother and began singing at the age of two. Performing in several talent shows across the south, as she matured so did her gift. With a love for battle rap as her foundation for lyrical composition, Alexis wrote her first song in the second grade and continues to provide musical adventures with her voice and pen. like those on her 2020 EP With Love, Alexis Ray Parker, in 2020. Alexis' accolades include placements in 2 Minutes of Fame, working with Ja'Niyah (Bread Gang Music Group; MoneyBagg Yo), and being the First Lady of Change the Game Records, LLC.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

“Treat others how you want to be treated. Not how they treat you.”

- Alexis Ray Parker

"I really want people to know that I’m so dedicated to my music. This is something I’m so passionate about. I just hope that people are able to relate because one of my biggest goals with my music is to really reach people in an emotional sense."

-Alexis Ray Parker

Alexis Ray Parker

Tammy Reese: What are some must-have items you need while in the studio recording?

Alexis Ray Parker: I have to have a bag of nacho cheese Doritos. A pack of the All Reds Starburst, and a Cool Blue Gatorade. Those are the snacks that get me through the day.

Tammy Reese: Who are some artists you hope to work with one day?

Alexis Ray Parker: I hope to work with Lauryn Hill, Jhene Aiko, Sevyn Streeter, SZA, Summer Walker, Andre 3000, Kanye West, Ariana Grande, and Drake.

Tammy Reese: What is the best advice you received as a music artist?

Alexis Ray Parker: The best advice I've received as an artist is to be patient and not rush anything. That taught me to give myself room to grow and develop as an artist instead of trying to keep up with what others are doing.

Tammy Reese: What would you like to see more of in the music industry?

Alexis Ray Parker: I would love to see more women in Hip Hop and R&B collaborate. I always think about the chemistry between Mary J. Blige and Lil Kim. I would love to see more of that with my generation.

Tammy Reese: What was your childhood like?

Alexis Ray Parker: My childhood was pretty easy. I have great parents. I went through a lot of things outside of the household (in school) that not even my parents know about, but my parents always made sure home felt safe.

Tammy Reese: Who are some of the most important people in your life?

Alexis Ray Parker: My Mother is my number one. She's the absolute best. My Dad, Stepdad, Stepmom, all of my siblings, my cousins, etc. My family means the world to me.

Tammy Reese: What do you want your legacy to be as a music artist?

Alexis Ray Parker: Honestly, I just want to leave a positive impact on people's lives. I feel like music is my calling. It's how I'm able to connect with people. I just want to be able to touch people through my gift.

Check out Alexis Ray Parker music video "Waste My Time"

The thing that Alexis Ray Parker enjoys the most about being in the entertainment industry is having the freedom to do what she loves and get paid for it.

"Money isn’t everything, but it’s a plus for sure." -Alexis Ray Parker

Keep up-to-date with Alexis Ray Parker by connecting on Instagram @thealexisrayparker

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.