Beat logo

Alexander Hamilton The Musical Soundtrack Review

And Im Not Throwing Away My Shot!

By Blue DymondPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Alexander Hamilton The Musical Soundtrack Review
Photo by Call Me Fred on Unsplash

"What are the odds the gods would put us all in one spot

Poppin' a squat on conventional wisdom, like it or not"

Alexander Hamilton the Musical was released to Disney Plus due to the pandemic and I cannot express in words how much this musical has inspired me to keep moving forward no matter the distractions, challenges, or judgments around me. Delivering greatness with its all inclusive cast of mostly Latinos and African Americans; the history shown in Hamilton is the perfect representation that there has been little change between then and now.

Hamilton used a profound moment in history to not only expose the racial injustice of African Americans but also to inspire people to push on no matter the chaos around them.

I've watched this musical at least 20 times and constantly listen to the soundtrack. Like the lyrics state above, we are all being placed in the same spot ( financially and emotionally during the pandemic) and the social norms are being broken and reformed!

This soundtrack not only keeps me motivated with its singing of working through distractions, inequality, and fear but it also made me happy due to how it spoke of African-Americans in a positive light even at a time when slavery was still in place.

So, take a listen below at four of my favorite soundtracks from this musical and read on about what they mean to me.

1.) Alexander Hamilton

"The ten-dollar Founding Father without a father

Got a lot farther by working a lot harder

By being a lot smarter

By being a self-starter

By fourteen, they placed him in charge of a trading charter"

The opening song "Alexander Hamilton" starts with explaining the hardship of Hamilton's life and how even as a young orphan he knew that he had to work harder than everyone else to get seen in a world that looked over people like him. It speaks of how no matter his accomplishments and the hard work he puts in to make a name for his-self they still tried to tear him down. He ignored their negativity and stayed focused on his dreams.

2.) Dear Theodosia

"You will come of age with our young nation

We'll bleed and fight for you

We'll make it right for you

If we lay a strong enough foundation

We'll pass it on to you, we'll give the world to you"

This song in the musical is about Hamilton and his enemy Burr both having their first child. Hamilton having a boy and Burr a girl. They both sing of how they are fighting to make the world a better place for their children to grow up in. Having two young African-American boys myself, this song resonates with my desire for our country to be in a better place for them when they are adults. It keeps me hopeful and motivated to keep marching, fighting, and speaking out against the wrongs done in this nation so that my kids can live in a world without fear of being targeted because of their skin.

3.) Wait For It

Life doesn't discriminate

Between the sinners

And the saints

It takes and it takes and it takes

And we keep loving anyway.

We laugh and we cry and we break

And we make our mistakes.

This song "Wait For It" hits me right in the feels every time. It reminds me that we aren't always going to be loved and accepted but its important that we love anyway. We all get a chance at this thing called life and that's one area where there is no discrimination or inequality. We are all alive and breathing and its up to us how we move from there.

The character Burr although shown as a villain was my absolute favorite character! He represented the internal struggle, we as people, go through when we are striving for something. His emotions, struggles, and envy are expressed so perfectly to the point where you have to admit that he's actually really relatable.

4.) My Shot

" but we'll never be truly free

Until those in bondage have the same rights as you and me

(That's right!)

You and I. Do or die. Wait 'til I sally in

On a stallion with the first black battalion "

This last song hits in a way that has me jumping around my living room in excitement. The Chorus, " I'm just like my country, I'm young scrappy, and hungry, and I'm not throwing away my shot" is always belted at the top of my lungs with determination and happiness.

This whole song speaks of breaking the chains and bondage of my people and how Hamilton fought to get us to equality. This will forever be my favorite soundtrack and I'm happy that it was released to the public. People who would have never gone to a musical live got the chance to see what I deem the most influential and motivational masterpiece ever created.

Author's Note: As usual, if you liked what you've read don't forget to leave a heart down below and/or a like. Also, if you have any comments, remarks, opinions, or just want to discuss Hamilton feel free to message me on Instagram @thatgirlbluedymond.

album reviews
7

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.