Beat logo

Album Review: Tremonti - Marching in Time

Will this thrash album stand the test of time?

By Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Artist: Tremonti

Album: Marching in Time

Genre: Speed/Thrash/Alternative Metal

Released: September 2021

Album length: 58:51/12 tracks

Background

Tremonti is a band from Florida, created in 2011 by Mark Tremonti, best known as the lead guitarist of Alter Bridge. The band embraces Tremonti's speed metal influence, together with his melodic vocals. Marching in Time is their fifth studio album, featuring a new drummer and bassist.

The track breakdown

On repeat: Let That Be Us, Not Afraid to Lose, Marching in Time

Skip it: Bleak, Under the Sun

For the gym (150+ BPM): A World Away, Let That Be Us, In One Piece

---

A World Away gets the album off to a fantastically thrashy start! I appreciate this track because it sounds pretty different to any of their other stuff as it's heavily distorted. I really enjoy the difference between the almost downbeat verses and the perky, freeing chorus. As usual, Tremonti shows off his songwriting prowess with impactful lyrics.

It drops into delightfully stripped guitar, which slowly builds back up again to Tremonti's vocals and a glorious drumming performance from Ryan Bennett. The solo on this is stunning and closes the track with more thrashy vibes. It's a great track. A World Away was the third single from Marching in Time.

Now and Forever was the fourth single, released three days before the album. It follows on similar thrashy vibes from A World Away. The verses are really fun in terms of the cadence. The chorus sounds upbeat, but the lyrics betray that happy feeling!

My once jaded heart's been fortified

But left on empty

And now each step I take does not feel right, no

One more wound and I may never heal

There's two instrumental breaks on this track, which I really like! The solo to close the song is awesome, and I love the tuning on this track. The contrast between the low thrashy guitar and the higher riffs is top-notch.

If Not For You was the first single from the album. I was a bit apathetic about this track when I first heard it, but after a few listens, it grabbed me nicely. There are some fantastic elements to this track, like his melodic vocals on "Lift me up from the floor , oh from the bottom. Make me just thirst for more , for I've forgotten. Take me far from this place , we'll run forever. Leave here without a trace." It's this songwriting that makes his music so magical and relatable, and I love it! Again, there's a stunning outro, and the tuning gets a big YEP from me. However, I think it's quite safe for them compared to some tracks on this album.

Thrown Further hasn't really grabbed me yet, but I know it'll grow on me as I find new things to like every time I hear it. To me, it's reminiscent of tracks on Cauterize. The drumming is again really stellar on this track, and I also like how the solo is a change of pace. Often, they're the fastest part of the track, but this one has a slow solo, which really makes you pay attention. The main thing that's got me excited about Thrown Further is two solos. TWO. That's a Tremonti treat that I need more of.

Let That Be Us is one of my favourite songs from this album. I honestly can't praise this one enough. Tremonti did a sneak preview of a track on a livestream, playing the outro from this song. I recognised it as soon as I played it! I knew it was worth waiting for. As usual, he's showing off his talents as a lyricist and guitarist, and wow.

The verses are a little slow for me and follow a similar style cadence to the earlier tracks, but the chorus is actually probably one of my favourite ever Tremonti pieces. It's a real stunner:

Long live the day

Carry the truth, walk with me

Let that be us, let that be us

(Now, imagine listening to those lyrics while walking your rescue dog at sunset while they lovingly smile into your eyes. That happened to me release day, and I think it added a little extra specialness to it.)

The solo takes this song to another level, with a thrashy outro, and I honestly want to listen to this song every day for the rest of my life. So far, I can't get it out of my head, so maybe I'll regret saying that.

The Last One of Us is a gorgeous acoustic that gradually builds up. It's a really chilled, laid back track with lovely lyrics (naturally), and it gets stuck in my head. Again, it feels potentially a little safe, but I guess whacking a ballad in the middle of a thrash album isn't safe. Tremonti whips out his vocal power for "after all we've been through, see it to the end". Gorgeous solo again too, with some lovely little riffs, alongside the acoustic. Very nice.

In One Piece has some really disturbing chorus lyrics that kind of put me off listening to it. As someone with a not so fun background, listening to abuser's words is not my favourite pastime, and these are intense!

However, I've listened to it a few times since, and when I'm not actively listening to the lyrics, I really enjoy the vibes of the song. I've studied the lyrics and while it could be a victim/abuser narrative, it could also be about depression and the way it makes you talk to yourself. I'd love to find out what the lyrics are actually about.

It's a shame because this song has some of my favourite Tremonti vocals on it. He vocalises "but you're mine" at the end of the track so beautifully. The drumming and guitar are seriously awesome too. Their switch from emotive vocals to thrash is inspiring.

Under the Sun hasn't stuck with me yet. The intro is really different for this album, and I can actually imagine this on Alter Bridge's Fortress album up to the chorus. Speaking of the chorus, really not a fan. It's a drag. Then they follow the chorus with a gorgeous little riff and a powerful verse, so I can't just write it off! The instrumental break and build up to the final verse is unique and it's an excellent part of the song. It doesn't have a solo, and that's something I always miss with Tremonti's tracks. Overall, I like it, but the chorus ruins it for me, so I think it's one I'll skip.

Not Afraid to Lose is an absolutely beautiful track. I need to get past the intro sounding like Mr. Brightside though. I've already designated this as a future wedding song. It's perfect.

I will not hold you down

No, we will touch the sky

And then we will make a pact

These days will never die

It has gentle instrumental breaks, no solo, and I don't think it needs one. Yep, shocked myself by saying that! It's definitely one of my favourites from this album; it's pretty different for Tremonti.

Bleak is another one where the lyrics aren't appealing to me, and I don't like it when Tremonti sings with the slow, dragged out style. This makes the verses boring for me. The way the song builds up is pretty unique for this album though, starting acoustic, and gradually adding in some drumming and a little extra. Then the song kicks into full metal for the chorus. I actually really like the catchy chorus and the drumming is impressive on this track, too! Another solid thrashy outro as well. It'll be one I'll listen to on shuffle, but I won't be picking it out like Let That Be Us or Marching in Time. That triumph is still to come!

Would You Kill has an intro that sounds strangely reminiscent of Arm Yourself, off Cauterize! This track has grown on me a lot; I wasn't a fan when I first heard it, but I actually quite appreciate its construction now. I think it was the, "would you kill, would you beg, steal or borrow?" that was a little cheesy for me on first listen. It has two solos. Automatic points.

The first solo breakdown is inspired. It drops three times, and on first listen I found the third drop unnecessary... until it really wasn't, and I realised it added so much anticipation! The solo itself is good, but a bit low for me, I'd have liked a bit more oomph to contrast the song. The second solo and outro is where it's at for me. Real quality stuff with Tremonti's incredible techniques on display.

Marching in Time is a true masterpiece, and their longest track to date. They released this as their second single from the album, providing a glorious insight on what was to come. This track closes the album, finishing it perfectly. It's hard to know where to start with reviewing a 7:33 song, especially when it's crafted so beautifully, so I guess the intro makes the most sense ;)

It starts off acoustic, with Tremonti's rousing vocals. Bennett adds really proggy drums, and they add a hell of a lot to this track! He gets a lengthy solo, which is fun. The first time I listened to the track, I was almost disappointed because of the lengthy drum solo where I was like "why drums and not guitar?" That was pretty narrow-minded of me when taking the solo into the context of the whole song, even as a guitar lover. The track keeps building and dropping again throughout, and it's truly enrapturing.

Marching in Time is one of my favourite Tremonti vocal performances. There's so much emotion and beauty in these lyrics and the way he sings them. "Oh, please promise me, you're my everything" is a particular highlight for me. Apparently, this track was inspired by the recent birth of his daughter, Stella, which really added another layer of meaning for me.

Don't let this cold world change you

Don't ever go astray, and don't you

Fail to keep on giving

Don't fail to show your strength

The outro is two minutes long. TWO MINUTES. Yes. Yes. YES. That's precisely what I look for on a lengthy track, and oh my goodness. Tremonti's guitar is a thing of magic, and there's more prog drumming from Bennett. It's a seriously awesome track that's in my top 5 of all time from Tremonti! If you listen to any from this album, choose this one.

In Summary

Full disclosure, Tremonti is one of my favourite bands, so I'm a little biased here. I also think a favourite band comes with certain expectations, so the tracks that disappoint me may not have the same effect on others.

I feel like this album has showcased Tremonti's vocal abilities perfectly, and much more than previous albums. As usual, his guitar work is stunning, but I almost feel like I prefer his playing on his other albums. One of my favourite things about this album was Bennett's drumming. The unique, prog-metal vibes added a lot to this album, and as it's a genre I've really got into this year, I had particular appreciation for it.

However, shuffle popped Dust on afterwards, and I don't think any song off Marching in Time roused emotion in the same way that track did. The same applies with Leave it Alone, that solo bores itself into my brain and transports me to another dimension, and I didn't get that here either.

I'd absolutely recommend listening to this album, especially if you're a first-time Tremonti listener! The thrash vibes are fun, and there are more emotive tracks on here if that floats your boat too. Let That Be Us has fantastic hard rock elements if that's more your thing. Overall, fantastic album and worth the listen, without a doubt!

Album rating: 8/10

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Everything from tasty low-FODMAP recipes, to album reviews, to mental health topics.

You can follow me on IG for more delicious recipes: https://www.instagram.com/fodmapfeasts/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.