Beat logo

Actresses On The Rise: A Conversation With Award-Winning Actress Kathi Muhammad

Vocal Actress Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Award-Winning Actress Kathi Muhammad has always loved acting. She began acting in 2017 and enrolled in Réussir School of Modeling, Acting, and Refinement to get the proper training. Once Kathi graduated, she then auditioned for a Talent Agency. The first role they secured for her was that of a mourner at a funeral. Kathi continued to take classes and was cast in television shows, movies, and industrials. She decided to act as her own agent and booked many roles for herself including music videos, commercials, and web series.

Congratulations and being an award-winning actress! What has the acting journey been like for you so far?

Kathi: My acting journey has been an education. There is so much work that I have to do to ensure that I give my best performance. I take acting classes and I practice a monologue daily if I don't have a script to rehearse. There have been highs and lows. This is expected but this is my passion and I will continue to submit for roles.

We would like to know who are some of your favorite actresses and why?

Kathi: I would love to work with Viola Davis. She is one of the few actors who has an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony award. Her journey wasn't easy but she is at the pinnacle of her profession. Meryl Streep is a favorite. I admire her versatility. She immerses herself in her roles. She is a chameleon. Angela Bassett is a professional who plays self-asserted women. Her image is important to her. Those are my top 3 favorites.

What is your creative process like to help you get into character and keep that character throughout the films and stage plays you are a part of?

Kathi: I develop a story for the character. Before memorizing the lines, I read the entire script. I develop my character by asking myself what is their background? Who are they as a person? I become that character during filming or on stage.

What have been some of the most memorable acting experiences in your career so far?

Kathi: The very first role was exciting. My talent agent submitted me for it and when I got the call that I was selected I was overjoyed. I traveled out of the state for a TV series where I had a co-starring role. My role as Ms. Sheila in my first stage play was amazing. I spent my birthday on set of a movie and the cast and crew sang Happy Birthday and presented me with a cake.

What are some upcoming roles you're currently preparing for?

Kathi: Currently, I am preparing for the role of an office worker in Avariciousness, a client in the Museum, the Water Queen in Power Dog Comics Promotion Pictures, which is an action film scheduled for 2024, and the Social Girls Club, The Sisterhood. A Stevie Film Production.

Are there any roles you haven't portrayed yet that you hope to obtain one day? If so what?

Kathi: I would like to portray a judge, detective, and educator. I am interested in roles that are positive and uplifting. I would like to be a recurring character on a weekly series.

What are your future goals as an actress?

Kathi: My future goals include winning an Oscar and Emmy for playing my role brilliantly. In April I will receive an award as one of the 10 actresses in the District, Virginia, and Maryland. That is just the beginning. I will continue to hone my skills and take chances to develop characters that are outside of my comfort zone.

What advice would you give to aspiring actresses?

Kathi: I would tell an aspiring actress to believe in herself and her abilities to continue to take acting classes and business classes to learn about the business aspect of acting. Networking is especially important. When she is on set, meets people and has a conversation.

How can we keep up to date with you on social media?

Kathi: Please follow me on Facebook: Kathi Muhammad -Actor

Instagram: @IamKathiMuhammad

interview
2

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.