Beat logo

A Modernist's Take On The Futurist Movement in Italy

An account of my solo journey through Milan to learn about the Futurist movement at Museo del Novecento

By Earica (EP) ParrishPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
A photo of the outside of Museo del Novecento, located in Piazza del Duomo

During the spring season, I finally got the opportunity to embark on a solo trip to explore major cities in Italy. Ever since my college years, I have always dreamed of visiting Italy and studying abroad there.

After taking a semester of Italian 101 my sophomore year to prepare for a potential summer abroad, I was disappointed to learn that my university did not offer any courses in Italy that would fulfill my graduation requirements (which led me to go to Madrid instead as my first study abroad experience). However, I never gave up on my desire to experience the beauty of this country. With careful planning, I created an itinerary that allowed me to witness the most iconic landmarks, savor the unique regional cuisine, and explore contemporary art museums in every city I visited.

As a curious traveler with a passion for art, it was no surprise that I made sure to visit some of the most remarkable contemporary art spaces in Italy. Learning is something I enjoy, which is why I was drawn mostly to exhibits that not only showcased beautiful art enclosed within these spaces but also ones that provided insights into the context and history behind the works and the artists themselves.

The first part of my Italian adventures began in the city of Milan, where I visited a few art spaces, including Museo del Novecento. The museum, whose name translates to "Museum 900" in English, is located in Piazza del Duomo. The museum is home to a vast collection of over 400 works from the 20th century. Since its opening in 2010, it has showcased the works of many renowned artists such as Lucio Fontana, Henri Matisse, and Pablo Picasso. For a mere €10 (with reduced ticketing options included), visitors can enjoy the museum's beautifully designed interior and breathtaking views of the iconic Duomo di Milano without having to worry about overcrowding by tourists and visitors on the plaza grounds.

View of Il Duomo di Milano from Museo del Novecento

Aside from the interior and the outstanding panoramic views, the museum also features works and exhibits that explore the history of Futurism in Italy. The Futurist Movement was an avant-garde art movement that originated in Italy in the early 20th century. It was founded by Filippo Tommaso Marinetti, who published a manifesto in 1909 that called for a rejection of traditional art forms and a celebration of modern technology and industrialization.

At its core, Futurism wanted to highlight the dynamic nature of the present, using an array of artistic mediums as a way to make socio-political commentary on feminism, Fascism, and attitudes toward Italy's involvement in World War I. Museo del Novecento features the works of well-known Italian Futurists such as Giacomo Balla, Umberto Boccioni, Carlo Carrà, Fortunato Depero, Luigi Russolo, Gino Severini, and Mario Sironi.

Futurism is widely regarded as one of the most significant art movements of the 20th century, with its international and political nature stirring controversy among artists. Futurism was influenced by other artistic movements such as Cubism and Expressionism, but it stood apart in its emphasis on speed, dynamism, and the beauty of machines. The movement's recognition on a global scale challenged artists to experiment with mediums like music, poetry, abstract art, and sculpting, exploring movement and sensorial experiences. I found the sculptures and figure drawings on display to be particularly impressive in the collection of Futurist works.

de Chirico, Giogio. 1922. Museo del Novecento, Milan, Italy. (34 in × 23 in, Tempera on Canvas)

From my understanding, the concept of Futurism can be compared to various social art movements of that era. Though it was inspired by the Cubanist and Expressionism movements, I can see parallels between Futurism with the Harlem Renaissance movement among African American artists. During the 1920s, African Americans sought unconventional ways to break into the art world, while mainstream America continued to disparage their identity and art. This cultural movement produced political art that used multi-dimensional mediums, featuring writers like Richard Wright and Langston Hughes and collage artists like Jacob Lawrence, shaping the narrative around the Black experience at the time through art. On an international level, Futurism breathed new life into art in Italy in unexpected ways.

While thoughtful art doesn't always have to be a means of protest, it's sometimes necessary given the circumstances and ways of communicating thoughts to others. Learning about Futurism made me reflect on how I can use my creativity as a tool to revitalize culture and society, even in times when the future seems bleak. It has shown me that art can transcend time and help bridge differences among various cultures.

Additional Articles for Reference:

1. Italian Futurism: An Introduction, by Emily Casden for Smart History

2. "Future Liberty: Avant Garde and Style" at The Museo del Novecento and Palazzo Morando by Arte Magazine

"Art Term: Futurism" by Tate Modern UK

--

I am a creative multi-hyphenate with a strong passion for the arts. To check out more of my journey and the different art exhibits and events I go to in real-time, follow me on Instagram at @erparrish_

If you would like to read more of my poetry and prose, as well as see some of my visual photography all in one place follow me on Instagram at @wordsbyep_

industrytravelart
Like

About the Creator

Earica (EP) Parrish

Maneuvering through life with purpose and integrity, hoping to leave a meaningful impact on others✨

IG: @erparrish_ ⚡ www.erparrish.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.