Beat logo

A Journey Through My 2020 Music Playlist - From Future Nostalgia to Folklore

Get ready for a complete journey through my music playlist in 2020 in the next 5 or 6 minutes. Quarantine allowed me to explore so many different artists and different genres of music, which I don't think I ever would have done in normal times.

By Let's Discuss Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

2020 has been hard on every one of us, being alone in the middle of a global pandemic with no one to comfort or help us. Music served as one of our best friends helping us get through tough times, motivating us, and comforting us, no matter what the situation is. Quarantine allowed me to explore so many different artists and different genres of music, which I don't think I ever would have done in normal times.

As you might already know, Spotify released their " Year In Review" like every other year. You probably would have seen many of your friend's " Year In Review" in their Instagram or Facebook Stories. But as an Indian, I don't usually listen to songs on Spotify. I listen to them mostly on Youtube and only occasionally on Spotify. And as Youtube doesn't release any " Year In Review", I am going to rely on my memories.

So get ready for a complete journey through my 2020 music playlist in the next 5 or 6 minutes.

JAN: Future Nostalgia is the Name

The year started with a banger by none other than Dua Lipa. Without a doubt, Future Nostalgia is my favorite album of the year.

Future Nostalgia

If you see my Spotify 2020 rewind, all you see will be Dua Lipa's Future Nostalgia songs. And I always know this would be the case, as I have been vibing to these songs all day, all year. She single-handedly made my quarantine life a thousand better. I know you would have heard it a million times already, but I have to say it " It's such a great album and will take you back to a trip through the 80s".

My Top Songs of 2020 in Spotify

Another song that was ringing back in my mind throughout January is Blinding Lights by the Weeknd. It's catchy and never pandering with its amazing vocals and a theme that will make you dance. According to me, this has been the best song by The Weeknd in his entire career.

FEB: Those 90s Indian Song Vibes are really kicking up

Muqabla Song from The Street Dancer 3D

This is a remake of an iconic 90s Tamil song by Prabhu Deva himself - it couldn't have been any better. For those of you, who haven't listened to Indian songs before, this is the song for you to start with. It will just light up a fire inside you every time you watch the video. Everything from the set to dance is just mind-blowing.

ButtaBomma Song from AlaVaikunthapurramullo

The background set, the costumes, the music, the voice everything in the song is just mesmerizing, amazing, and cute. The song has a great happy vibe to it and will make you want to dance forgetting about all the setbacks that you have in your life.

If you think that as you don’t know the language, you can’t enjoy the song, then you are so wrong. I don’t think even half of the BTS fans know the Korean Language. And me, an Indian, I know only 2 Indian Languages, but I listen to songs from 5 different languages and enjoy them.

MAR: Discovering the Best Cover Artist on Youtube

Wow, March has not been great for anyone, with the COVID-19 cases starting to increase more than expected and school and colleges getting closed. I didn't know what to do at those times - most of my time was spent on Youtube.

That's when I found out this gem of an artist - Kurt Hugo Schediner, his song covers are just on another level compared to others. He is also the guy who got me interested in K-POP in the first place. I am thankful for him for making my quarantine more fun.

MAY: I am Stuck with U, Stuck with U, Stuck with Uuuu

This is the song that everyone needed in Quarantine. They got the perfect theme - dancing with your partner stuck inside the house. Two top artists, Justin Bieber and Ariana Granda join together to give us all the perfect quarantine songs. I never would have thought their collab will work out, but surprisingly it was so good.

Stuck With U song by Justin Bieber and Ariana Grande

JUN: Be Kind to the One That You Love

Be Kind by Marshmello and Halsey

How can I miss this one? One of the biggest names in the DJ industry, Marshmello, and one of the biggest female singers, Halsey join together to give a masterpiece. The vocals, the music, the visuals everything is just stunning in the song. I have always liked Halsey and she stepped up her vocals in this song.

JULY: The 1 We Never Expected

Folklore by Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift took the whole world by surprise with this album. This song will give you the vibes of just sitting on your window and watching the rain falling from the sky. Oh wait, I think that's pretty much what I did during this Quarantine, so not sure if it's the vibe. Lol. Taylor Swift gave us something when we needed it the most and that was not something of her usual pop vibe.

AUG: Joining the BTS Army cause I uh uh am in the starts tonight

I was not interested in BTS before listening to one of their covers of the song " Dynamite " by KHS. I went to the BTS Official Channel and started listening to the original, it was amazing. Everything from the music, vocals, choreography, dance is just damn exceptional.

Previously, I was like “ How come you guys even like a song if you don’t even understand the lyrics” and now I am vibing for that song for more than a month.

From that point, I started going backward in their journey, listening to every one of their songs and it got better and better. I even went a step further and started to listen to all the covers that I can see for their songs. They were all great and they lit up my mood during these tough quarantine times.

SEP: COME ON DANCE WITH ME

Dua Lipa delivers one more time this year with an amazing song yet again - LEVITATING.

Her collaboration with DaBaby and Madonna this year for the song worked out for the song. Seems like this is what they are thinking while writing the song " Just freaking get out of your bed and start dancing ".

OCT: Losing someone, even if you don't know them personally, hits hard

Dil Bechara from the movie Dil Bechara

This is a Hindi-remake of the movie The Fault in Our Stars. The song protagonist of the song is the late Sushanth Singh Rajpur, who died of suicide this year for unknown reasons. The song has been shot entirely in a single take.

I always liked the actor and this was his final movie, so it was particularly special to most of the Indian Audience. It’s a nice background melody song that you would hear repeatedly when you are working.

These are pretty much all the songs that were on repeat throughout 2020. I also want to give some honorable mentions to the songs which even though I liked, didn't make it to the top list.

1. Golden By Harry Styles

2. Wonder By Shawn Mendes

Well, if you have come this far, thanks for taking a journey through my past.

Merry Christmas and A Very Happy New Year to everyone.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Let's Discuss

Topics related to Technology, Movies and Games.

Subscribe to our Newsletter on https://500ish.substack.com/

My Website - http://www.unbalanced.space/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.