Beat logo

A Dreamers Reality

S.H.A.W

By Christopher ShawPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Artist Name

S.H.A.W

“A Dreamers Reality”

What's your full name/artist name and where are you from?

My full name is Christopher Shaw and I’m from Mather, Pennsylvania. My artist name is S.H.A.W.

What makes you different as a person/artist?

What makes me different as a person/artist, that sets me apart from everyone; is my passion to help others. I have always been the one that everyone confides in but I never had someone I trusted to completely do the same. There were times in my life that I dealt with traumatic experiences from childhood troubles to being homeless as an adult, going to jail, and more; I always found ways to cope through self-motivation and determination. I never really found that outlet or productive way of channeling my emotions into a passion; until I started writing and doing music. I’ve struggled with extreme depression because I always felt like I understood others but no one understood me. When I dealt with adversity, it was always out of anger and I ended up making my situation worse.

Music gave me the emotional healing that I needed because I felt like I could truly express myself without fear of judgment from others. I don’t make music with the intent to become rich. I make music with the hopes of one day being able to have a platform to show others that you don’t have to resort to selling or taking drugs, violence, or anything negative to make it out. A lot of those who want to find a way out of their negative environment don’t have the tools or encouragement to truly pursue their passion. Through my music, I plan to inspire and also create a business of my own to help creatives fully utilize their talent. We live in a time where popularity, image, and money are key to being successful. When I make it, I have a plan to not only show people that I’m a different type of artist but I’m human as well, I don't profit from being selfish. I want to reinvest and change the music/entertainment industry in big ways.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years, I plan to be an independently verified musician/ artist and business owner. I will own a production studio and label with multiple connections to help develop as well as promote underground artists. My services will include mixing/mastering, video/audio production, booking shows, social media marketing, photography, image consultation, and much more. I will be financially independent and traveling the world to work with aspiring creatives not only in music but outside of music as well.

A lot of people say that it's best to focus on the one thing that you are best at but I have wasted a lot of money depending on others to help me. I put time and work in my craft to become independent. I want to show others that you don’t have to be the most popular or have a lot of money to get noticed. You have to believe in yourself and others will follow. The artists now mainly focus on making money but if I never make another dollar, I want to be known for helping people chase their dreams. I’ve watched my own mother work her entire life and never pursue her dreams because she felt like she couldn’t. I’d give everything up, to see her happy. All the times where I felt like life was over and it wasn’t worth living; I want to show others that no matter what you are going through in life, have faith in God and focus on what you love doing. It’s never too late to make your dream a reality. I will be an example of that.

Twitter: @shaw_ty24

Instagram: @officialshaw_

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/christopher-shaw-8

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/4QPuf8QJYuKosmeBo6ycNl

Apple music: https://music.apple.com/us/album/2morrow-single/1501967476

Email: [email protected] or

[email protected]

interview
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.