Beat logo

A Colors Show: A YouTube Channel Fit for Everyone

All Colors, No Genres

By Christie CibereyPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
Mac Demarco performing on Colors YouTube Channel

About a year ago I stumbled upon the most unique, avant-garde YouTube channel in today’s society called Colors. Colors is based in Berlin, Germany, though their followers reach worldwide. Their motto is "all colors, no genres," providing a platform for not just a solo artist but also bands, to have a place to perform where they are associated with a color rather than a genre.

Not only has this channel introduced me to endless amounts of new artists from all around the world, it also made me realize that a musician does not have to be defined by a single genre. Nowadays, many artists are combining their sounds with different musical techniques producing music that does not necessarily fit into one category or style of music. This channel provides freedom for artists to come and perform and connect their work using colors and aesthetically, it is brilliant.

I have always used this channel as my refresher for when I am stuck in a music rut. When I am tired of listening to my same old CDs and when I am yearning to discover something new. Colors have been my secret weapon for when I get in music sharing battles with my friends, and I always win when I pull up a video from their channel.

What originally got me hooked on Colors was this Goldlink "Rough Soul" video featuring April George. I was instantly sucked into the effortless flow that Goldlink brought in this video. I was obsessed, I must have rewatched it a thousand times and put it on every car radio every time I had the aux chord. I remember sending it to all of my friends who were always thirsty for new hip-hop music. Also, this was before Goldlink was well known so it felt cool for me and my friends to feel like we were ahead of the wave because being able to support an artist who is on the come up is one of the best feelings. With the help of Colors, we were able to become Goldlink fans before everyone else in our town heard about his music.

This resulted in me not only being curious about what Colors was as a channel and platform, but I was curious as to how many more new artists that I could discover through their channel.

Through the Colors channel, I discovered modern day jazz/hip-hop artist Masego with his song "Navajo." I was beyond ecstatic to stumble upon an artist who incorporated jazz groove with electric funk music. It was refreshing to find an artist who was on a new wave, bringing their own style to hip-hop and dance music. With great gratitude for Colors, I am now a huge fan of the talented Masego and his work.

Another video I fell completely head over heels for was Anne-Marie's "Alarm." Her raspy voice is so naturally comforting but powerful all at once. I was intrigued to hear a stripped back acoustic version of this popular chilled-EDM song and I was very happy when I stumbled upon it.

MTMBO's song "The Hill" was instantly added to every playlist I have made. Once I watched this Colors video of MTMBO performing I researched further on who he was as an artist and what other work he had. His voice consumes you and almost puts you in a daydream of lyrical comfort. MTMBO's gentle slowed down tempo is the perfect mixture of RnB with a hint of blues complimented with some electronic keys and beats.

If you were looking for more modern jazz artists, Poppy Ajudha's voice will have you tapping your foot or swinging your head in no time. I discovered artist Poppy Ajudha through this Colors video of her stripped back version of her song "Love Falls Down." Being a big fan of jazz, I really loved every moment of this performance it made me feel like I was sitting in a jazz club as she gracefully made her way through the song.

Artist Yellow Days has become another favorite of mine after discovering his song "So Terrified Of Your Own Mind" on Colors. His alternative-pop vibes will have you jamming out while diving deeper into his lyrics. I would describe Yellow Days as an acquired taste but a very fine wine if you give him a chance. He is very talented and if you are looking for some new alternative-pop music that you want to either connect with or jam out to, I recommend checking out Yellow Days's work.

I have been a Mac Demarco fan from early days in his career and when I saw that he did a performance on Colors I was so eager and excited to listen. His emotional and close to the heart song "Still Beating" has been one of my favorites on his new album "This Old Dog." This performance made it feel like I was just sitting in a room with Mac listening to him strum away on his guitar singing his heart through his lyrics. It was a treat to watch an intimate performance such as this one which brings a different feel from Mac Demarco's psychedelic synthesized vibe we have all grown to love.

I have so much gratitude for Colors from not only a creative aspect but also from a music discovery forum. Their message of joining artists and bands through colors and not genres is essential in a society where we are constantly being defined and put into categories. It is a chance for artists and bands to express themselves on a platform that focuses on their creativity and talent. I urge everyone to take a look further into Colors YouTube and social media sites and give them a chance, you may discover a new band or artist without even trying!

bands
Like

About the Creator

Christie Ciberey

Graphic Designer, Artist, Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.