Beat logo

5 tracks to get ya into Kendrick Lamar

He is not your savior

By MC Flo BufPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2022
16

By How-Soon Ngu on Unsplash

Rigamortis:

"Got me breathing with dragons , I'll crack the egg in your basket, you bastard , I'm Marilyn Manson with madness , Now just imagine the matches I light to asses"

Prod. by Sounwave & Willie B

This is the track that put me onto how dangerous Kendrick can be on the mic. It was the end of my sophomore year in high school. Me and my friend Sam were sitting in computer class listening to some rap. He said that Kendrick was next up and I wasn't hearing it. Back in those days I was heavy on Drake, Future, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Childish Gambino and Wale. That's all I heard on the airwaves and these were the type of artists I was spending money on. I watched the music video along with song. I wasn't gelling with it at first so I left it alone. Then something kept urging me to see why I don't like the song, so every 5 times it popped up on my recommendations I felt compelled to listen. Then as I grew up and learned, as a hip hop fan, to respect the technique (see what I did there?), the visuals the message and execution. Sounwave and Willie B murk the production, Kendrick comes through describing how when he lyrically kills the competition, the corpse stricken with rigor mortis is oh so gorgeous. This is my go to song whenever I need to get some papers done for essays and I've hit writer's block.

By Ferdinand Asakome on Unsplash

Swimming Pools:

"Now I done grew up 'round some people livin' their life in bottles , Granddaddy had the golden flask , Backstroke every day in Chicago"

Prod. by Nikhil Seetharam & T-Minus

T-Minus and Mr.Seetharam set the moody backdrop to the single that would prove you can talk about the dangers of alcohol while making it look sexy. Peer pressure and controlled substances are a match made in hell. Kendrick paints the mental hellscape with sincerity, pain and wit that cuts deep while subconsciously seeping into the mind of the listener who maybe jamming this while getting turned up but the message remains long after the credits roll. I can't think about drinking without this song popping up in my head reminding me to have fun and drink in moderation. You ain't gotta get drunk to have fun. (If you know, you know).

By Yulia Khlebnikova on Unsplash

The Blacker the Berry:

"I'm Black as the name of Tyrone and Darius, excuse my French"

Prod. by Ken Lewis, ZALE, Boi-1da, KOZ & Terrace Martin

Self awareness is one of Kung-Fu Kenny's best attributes as an artist. He is aware of what he should feel and believe and what needs to change. He also recognizes that his past transgressions and thoughts and beliefs can lead to an internal struggle a lot of black people in America go through. The majority of us who are black in America have white friends and are seeing the progress. However the stereotypes and racism that were used and practiced in the history of this nation still leaves a bitter taste in everyone's mouth, and anger flares in place of the bitterness in the mouth. He also recognizes hypocrisy that he does practice. To be transparent about it in such a passionate delivery leaves the listener floored with nuance and dialogue to discuss.

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

Fear:

"I'll prolly die anonymous, I'll prolly die with promises , I'll prolly die walkin' back home from the candy house"

Prod. by Bekon and The Alchemist

Track 12 from the lauded Damn LP is a doozy. Fear never tasted so palpable. The production is so simple yet potent. Kenny is spitting about the feeling of fear through three different ages of his life; 7, 17, and 27. Each year fear is accumulated from his upbringing, to his growing mind and fascination with death, and the fears of losing out on his ability and "house" he built from scratch. A visceral but necessary gut punch. A thoughtful outro and a bible verse is the icing on the cake. This is a must listen, for sure.

By Gilly Stewart on Unsplash

Money Trees:

"Everybody gon' respect the shooter . But the one in front of the gun lives forever"

Prod. By DJ Dahi

By the time you get to track five of good kid, m.A.A.d city, you've been introduced to a lot narratively. You've been introduced to the protagonist; his background so far; his influences; his good and bad decisions and his temptations. All of this is recapped throughout this song. What's the motivation? To live life like rappers do. To have so much money it could block the sunrays just by how tall the cash is stacked. This thesis is illustrated perfectly over a sublime beat by DJ Dahi. Anna wise provides good vocals and Jay Rock provides one of his best features ever on this track. You can really feel every bar jay says with such urgency and gusto that you have no choice but to respect the technique (Get it?). Would very much recommend you give this a listen. Plus this song contains probably the funniest skit on the album. No spoilers :]

rap
16

About the Creator

MC Flo Buf

Just a rapper doing it for the vibers and the 925ers. I've always wanted to have my own blog. This is my haven for writing. Poetry and playlists a plenty. Enjoy

Bandcamp: https://mcflobuf.bandcamp.com/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Daniel Speirs2 years ago

    I will never forget listening to Swimming Pools for the first time, and I love the contrast of it being a fantastic party song, and yet warning of the dangers of drinking too! My honourable mentions for this list - King Kunta, and the single version of i.

  • Joshua Reuter2 years ago

    I love his music. His songs are really telling you we don't have to kill to get our point across talk it out because by killing you still going to jail an losing your life just as while as you took someone life

  • Lissa Bay2 years ago

    The first song that got me was “Money Trees” when that record was brand new. I also liked the Beach House song it samples so that caught my ear. Great song.

  • Natajia Curtis2 years ago

    I love his music. His songs are really telling you we don't have to kill to get our point across talk it out because by killing you still going to jail an losing your life just as while as you took someone life

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Damn good list! I loved his work since 'Pimp A Butterfly' and hearing 'King Kunta' (and he is a Pulitzer Prize winner)!

  • Lynn2 years ago

    I love Kendrick Lamar..He's one of the good ones.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.