Beat logo

5 Comedians You Didn’t Know Are Under Record Labels

Some you didn't even know did music.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

For the most part, while music and comedy are both under the same umbrella of entertainment, the acts from both sides never seem to successfully cross over. It is hard for musicians to be taken seriously as comedians, and for some reason even seemingly harder for comedians to find success in music.

While of course there are the few like Basketmouth who have been able to do it to relative success, for the most part, it's hard to see people who find success doing both.

Today, we'll be counting down 5 Nigerian comedians who you may not know are signed to record labels. Are you ready to jump in to see who they are? Then let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Basketmouth

Ace Nigerian comedian Basketmouth surprised fans all over the world when he released his album, Yabasi in 2020 to huge success.

Now, Basketmouth is gearing up for the release of his second album, Horoscopes in 2022, and it looks like this new project is going to be released under Barons World Entertainment, a division of the EMPIRE record label that is also home to such acts as Kodak Black, King Von, and Anderson .Paak. This is where Basketmouth's new musical home is.

2. Broda Shaggi

Another comedian who has also ventured into the music scene is popular comedian and skitmaker, Broda Shaggi. Broda Shaggi has released a couple of projects and is under the record label, Mad Solutions LLC.

3. Akpororo

Another Nigerian comedian who does music and is looking to do more music in the future is the one and only Akpororo. Akpororo has over the years released a number of projects and is part of the label, House of Roro.

4. Kenny Blaq

Kenny Blaq, a man that is known for mixing his comedy with music is no surprise to anyone also a professional musician. Kenny Blaq has released musical projects in the past and is reportedly working on releasing new music in the near future. Kenny Blaq is under UNICMADE Entertainment and Records.

5. Nas Boi

Instagram comedian, Nas Boi, popular for his impersonations and hilarious skits revealed during an interview with The Punch that he actually got signed to actress Omotola Jalade Ekeinde's record label. He said:

I am actually a musician. I was a musician before I started making comedy skits. I was a proper musician. I was even signed to Omotola Jalade Ekeinde’s label. People don’t know that and I don’t put it out; people don’t know the fact that I was a musician. I kept it on the low because I have a lot of plans for music. Musically, that will be the only time I would decide to work with Davido. doing music won’t be a bad idea and I am not saying that because I want to use music to ride on my comedy platform. I would love people to hear that part of me.

I can't wait to see what Nasboi serves us up in the musical department.

Which comedian's music do you enjoy the most? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.