Beat logo

4 Albums Released In 2020 I Didn't Know About

Brightest Blue; ALICIA; Punisher; SAWAYAMA

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

Although the pandemic has put a stop to many artist's tours, it hasn't stopped anyone from creating new music.

I would argue that this has been one of the best years for music, which is understandable because, if you're responsible, then you're staying at home and don't have much going on (as Taylor Swift would say).

Originally, I wanted to share my favorite albums released throughout 2020, but after thinking about it I realized that it would be pretty vanilla to talk even more about Taylor Swift or Ariana Grande. Instead, I want to explore some new music from a few artists who either I didn't realize released an album this year or from someone I've never heard of.

I'm excited to (hopefully) expand my music library a little! I'll give you all my first impression of each album and let you know what my favorite song(s) were during my initial listen. Without further ado, let's get into this music review:

Ellie Goulding - Brightest Blue

I was really surprised when I saw that Ellie Goulding had released a double-album this year, but as a fan of her 2015 album, Delirium, I was also excited to hear her new project.

Honestly, her lyrics are really mature and moving; they clearly showcase someone who's done a lot of inward reflecting and from that, has grown immensely.

She showcases some beautiful vocals mixed with her electropop sound which made me want to dance and cheer for her throughout the entire album. It's obvious, not just how much she's grown as a songwriter, but as a human too.

Overall, I think it's a good album and I would most definitely listen to some of the songs over, and over, and over again.

Favorite song(s) on initial listen: New Heights, Woman

Alicia Keys - ALICIA

Alicia Keys seems to always fly under the radar, so it's not surprising I didn't hear anything about her new album. From what I've read, this album is her most authentic (truly ALICIA) and considered to be her best; I have to say, if she keeps making music like this, I'll be tuning in for every new release!

She sings with confidence on each track and adds a funky feel to a few songs like "Time Machine". Also, she sings about serious topics like gun violence on track 14, "Perfect Way to Die".

It has a smooth and relaxed feel in some songs which makes this a good album to chill with. Her last two songs remind me that there are celebrities out there that care about others.

Ultimately, I don't think this would be a go-to album for myself, but I enjoy a few songs and would recommend to any R&B/Soul lover.

Favorite songs(s) on initial listen: Time Machine, Underdog, Perfect Way to Die, Good Job

Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

Punisher is the shortest album on this list, but it accomplishes a lot of great storytelling in its short track list. Her music has a more relaxed, Billie Eilish kind of sound to it. There's an eerie feel to some of the tracks and I love it!

Her lyrics are very imaginative and abstract - none of the songs are straightforward about their message, but I think decoding an artist's message is part of the fun of being a listener. However, you'll probably forget all about figuring out the song's meaning when you get entranced by her soft, lullaby-like voice.

This is an album I wouldn't normally choose to listen to unless I was in the right mood for it, however, I admire her creativeness and can understand why people enjoy it - it feels like the soundtrack to a heartbreaking indie movie.

Favorite song(s) on initial listen: Garden Song

Rina Sawayama - SAWAYAMA

Rina Sawayama is a bi- and pansexual musical artist who created one of the biggest albums of 2020 and as a gay man, I'm disappointed I haven't heard of her before today.

Her album, SAWAYAMA, is full of some much needed nostalgia that's reminiscent of the 1990's and early 2000's. Listening to her vocals, she has a sound similar to Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera, but adds her own twist by incorporating alternative metal into some of her tracks.

The metal guitar in "STFU!" may seem a bit jarring, but it actually works quite well and I think enhances her message about racism - a great track to bang your head to! Even with small influence from metal music, she still manages to create club-ready pop songs that will turn your living room into a dance floor.

Majority of this album is upbeat and fun and combined with her powerful vocals, makes an exceptional album that shocked me in many ways. This is definitely my favorite album on this list and I can't wait to see what she does next!

Favorite song(s) on initial listen: XS, STFU!, Paradisin', Love Me 4 Me, Who's Gonna Save U Now

Wow, I've really been missing out this year!

I'm really happy I decided to review music that was new to me; my musical taste has really been needing a palate cleanser.

And I hope that I might have inspired you to step outside of your comfort zone, even just a little.

Until next time, keep on dancing!

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, then please share, leave a like or a tip, or check out some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram/Twitter - @doitlikederk

album reviews
4

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.