Beat logo

3.15.20 Review

We say goodbye to Childish Gambino in his final album

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino

In 2014, I was 20 years old and had the greatest summer of my life. Part of the reason that summer was amazing was that I was introduced to actor, singer, rapper, writer, director, producer, and DJ, Donald Glover but some of you know him better as Childish Gambino. I was moving into a new house with my family and I was driving with one of my cousins or riding with my mom and stepdad in the car, we listened to the radio and I was listening to the song, "3005" and from there, I knew I was hooked. About a year and a half later, I would go on a Childish Gambino binge before I listened to his new album at the time, "Awaken, My Love!" and my, my, my, what a versatile gifted individual this man is.

Now that his new and final album, "3.15.20" aka "Donald Glover Presents" is finally out, this is going to be tough to review because I'm not a music expert or anything. I'm just a fan of good music who doesn't know a lot about melody, tempo, rhythm, etc. so please bear with me. Originally, I wasn't going to review this album because I wanted to treat it like every other album by an artist that I enjoy listening to. I just listen to it and talk about it with my friends later but this album is too good to not review.

The album starts with "0.00" and it's just a sound with maybe some altered vocals, the moment it started, I was fully enveloped into the album since I trust Gambino to deliver with his music. Then it transitions into the infectious "Algorhythm", its beat is just going to want to make you either get up and dance or bob your head to the beat. Two songs in and as long as you know that Gambino has evolved from your average rapper to a legit musician, you'll be fine.

After "Algorhythm", we jump into "Time" which has uncredited vocals from Ariana Grande and from the moment you hear its pounding beat to the guitar that helps carry the song to its end with him and Ariana Grande along with a few futuristic sounds in the background. Once "Time" has run its course, we go into the relaxed "12.38" and he sings in this one with some uncredited vocals from 21 Savage which surprised me because I didn't think I was ready to hear 21 Savage collaborate again with Gambino after "This Is America". "12.38" changes itself by the end but it manages to keep its melody.

"19.10", which is one of the best songs on the album in my personal opinion, is the song that you listen to and you just want to have fun because the beat is so classic like you'd hear it on a funk album or one of your parents' songs but it sounds like it's new and the vocals he provides makes you want to sing along. I can't go into detail too much, you just have to listen to it. After that, you get "24.19" which is a more slowed down jam session and the vocals sound like an old R&B/Soul song from back in the day.

"32.22" sounds like he collaborated with artists from Africa and made a tribal sound to it while it sounds like something you'd hear at a party when everyone starts dancing more intensely, I'm pretty sure there's a sample from Skylar Grey's "Wreak Havoc" in the background if you listen closely because it sounds vaguely familiar and I thought it'd be distracting at first but it just elevated the song even more. "35.31" starts as a simple, repetitive song because of the lyrics and it sounds like something you'd hear in a kindergarten classroom until it transitions into something that sounds like you can play it in reverse to hear what he's saying.

"39.28" is all vocals and occasionally, you hear the piano join in. When I first heard it, it reminded me of the beginning of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" and then it goes to "42.26" which starts with what sounds like animal noises at first until 2018's "Feels Like Summer" takes over.

"47.48" is heavier on the Funk than "19.10" is. It's a slow, funky song that has something to say about self-love and another thing that I can't put my finger on at the moment of writing this review. Then, "53.49" caps everything off with Gambino rapping one last time for us before singing the chorus that sounds like a hint of Rage Against The Machine mixed with funk.

Gambino delivers amazingly again but for one last time, he produces most of the songs along with his longtime friend and frequent collaborator, Ludwig Goransson including DJ Dahi, EY, Hodge, Riley Mackin, and more. The way that I'd describe this album is Gambino's version of Avengers: Endgame or Creed II because this is the kind of ending where everything comes full circle and wraps everything up nicely with a well-tied bow. I love this album and I recommend everyone to give it a listen.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.