Beat logo

2020 Anthem

Use It Up And Wear it Out

By Warwick Holding Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
.

Shake shake your body down

Oh shake

Shake your body down

Oh shake

Everybody, all you people gather round

And get your body busy, move it up and groove it down

We're gonna use it up, gonna wear it out

Ain't nothin' left in this whole world I care about

I said one two three shake your body down

(Shake it down to me)

One two three shake your body down to me

(Shake it down to me)

One two three shake your body down

(Shake it down to me)

Ond two three oh shake

Bussy bodys, bodys lookin' good tonight

You got that hungry feelin' for some love and it's alright

It's alright

It's alright

We're gonna use it up, wear it out

Ain't nothin' left in this whole world I care about

I said one two three shake your body down

(Shake it on down to me)

Use it up, wear it out

Ain't nothin'…

The lyrics are simple, the song a floor filler, a fantastic example of the end of the disco age, which I was a bit to young to be involved in, when Odessey released this single in 1980. Although I remember the song, at that time, which coincided with leg warmers, roller boots and bad fashion in general.

The 80s seemed to pass with a blur, and it was not till 1990, that I noticed the song again, when it was bastardised by a manufactured ‘pop duo’ Pat and Mick, a couple of London radio DJs. Who in fairness to them, donated the profits to the Help a London Child charity. Although it would have probably helped the children more, had they not released the list of awful cover versions, that appeared yearly, like an unwanted STD.

In 1990, I thought I was far to alternative, to like disco, or Pat and Mick, which looking back was odd, as unfortunately, I had a very similar hairstyle to Pat Sharp. (See photo).

Looking, not so sharp

This style required a lot of time, and even more hairspray, and this look in general was probably responsible for the hole in the ozone layer. The photo doesn’t show the ratty long hair at the back. I’d like to think Pat copied me, and I strangely met him many years later, around 2005, and we discussed the bad hair days at length. In fairness he was still sporting his, but I’d opted for a more up to date style, as in most of mine had fallen out. Also in 1990, I couldn’t dance, I was far to self conscious, and uncomfortable, and the rare occasions when I did, I was usually quite drunk, and my friends used to laugh at my weird facial expressions, which were due to my concentration. That’s the trouble with dancing, the harder one tries, the worse the dancing. They say that women are attracted to a man who can dance, which probably explains my long periods of being single back then.

Then came the ecstasy age (don’t do drugs kids), which changed everything, for me at least. Gone were the inhibitions, and embarrassment of looking bad, or dancing out of rhythm. It was all about love and music. It was then I really discovered the power and importance of music, and dancing. The less effort I put in to dancing the better I became. It brought people together, created an energy and vibration, which felt strong, and right. I didn’t care, what I looked like, or what others thought, it was all about the music, and losing myself in the dancing, forgetting everything and anything else. It was around this time that I also realised, the importance of music through the ages, each genre, and style. I had a new respect for any music, even if I disliked it. So it began, my love for the music from days gone by, especially disco from the 70s. Sylvester, Sister Sledge, Donna Summer, Chic and many more. There is a feel good factor about these artists and their songs, it’s high energy at its best, and it forces me to dance. Its also embarrassing, for my 12 year old offspring, when I do it in public.

During the Covid lockdown, there have been times, when I have felt so low, as I’m sure have most people. As a cafe/bar owner, it’s been a particularly tough time, and I’m still not out of the woods. Being forced to close down at the beginning of a season, is a terrifying time, for a beach front business like mine. Whilst in my despair, I did get the motivation I desperately needed from someone, who persuaded me to try and embrace the opportunity to decorate and get the cafe cleaned up and ready for opening, when allowed. If it wasn’t for her, I think I actually would have gone completely mental. So with her help, that’s what I did. I also started to make playlists, to listen to, while working. I pumped up the volume and sang and danced as I polished the turd, that was my scruffy cafe.

The reason I love Odyssey's ‘Use it Up’ and it’s my 2020 Anthem, is not because it’s my favourite song ever, I do love it obviously, but it’s because a guy (called Guy) walked past my place one evening as I was working. He saw me dancing and singing to the song, and filmed me, and the short clip makes me feel positive and hopeful, and grateful. It’s not about one song, it’s about music, and dancing, and how those things can give you some escape, in the worst times, amid the scariest situations. They can also motivate, and without the music and that feeling I get from the song, I can honestly say, I’d be in a very different place. No matter what happens, no one can take away our music.

70s music
Like

About the Creator

Warwick Holding

I’ve always been a storyteller, I’d love to say I was a writer, but I can’t. If people were even reading this on the toilet. I’d be humbled.

I write short, but true stuff, I try to mix honesty with humour, because it’s the only way I know

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.