Beat logo

2020 Albums That Got Me Through The Year

Whenever you have a rough year, which is often every year, you can always count on new music to help you and this year was no exception.

By expositiffsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
2020 Albums That Got Me Through The Year
Photo by blocks on Unsplash

For those who have been lucky enough to be home, it could mean that you had even more time to listen to your favorite tunes. I might just be referring to my own experience, but seriously, this year's releases were especially needed.

No Song Without You - HONNE

I would say of all the albums, this is my most played on repeat. All of HONNE's songs from this year were like a literal hug from someone who knows that we're going through a rough time. All the songs are filled with warm reassurance that things will be alright in the end. If there's one thing we all need after this year, it's comfort vibes & optimism.

A few faves: free love, lines on our face, loving you is so easy

Wake Up, Sunshine - All Time Low

This album really reignited my love for All Time Low. It also might be because I was home all the time so I felt like I was back in high school where I was stuck & only went out when absolutely necessary. Nonetheless, I can't stress how good this album is & I'm looking forward to when live concerts come back because I definitely can't miss hearing the live version of these songs.

A few faves: Favorite Place (ft. The Band CAMINO), Summer Daze (Seasons, Pt. 2), Pretty Venom (Interlude)

Future Nostalgia - Dua Lipa

I'm honestly so bummed that I couldn't just be out listening to this album all the time with friends. It's so upbeat & as someone who moves a lot while listening to music, I can't help dancing along with these bops. I typically only listen to Dua's singles, but every song on this album is a hit.

A few faves: Cool, Boys Will Be Boys, Love Again

The New Abnormal - The Strokes

A few faves: Eternal Summer, Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus, At the Door

Heartbreak Weather - Niall Horan

This album could not have been released at a more perfect time to be honest. It was literally when the stay-at-home orders started in March. I remember a few weeks after, it was constantly raining which made for absolutely prime listening conditions. Also, if you're missing someone, these songs will without a doubt get you in a nostalgic sort of mood so beware.

A few faves: Everywhere, Cross Your Mind, Still

folklore/evermore - Taylor Swift

A few faves: the 1, invisible string, willow

Notes on a Conditional Form - The 1975

I remember only listening to the live version of If You're Too Shy for so long because the studio one had not been released yet that it felt so weird listening to the actual song. It probably goes back to the fact that I felt so robbed this year of live entertainment. With the cancellation of so many events, I had to try to imitate the feel of live concerts by re-living them through YouTube videos. Pretty sad, but it gave me enough happy brain chemicals to get through the year.

A few faves: If You're Too Shy (Let Me Know), Me & You Together Song, I Think There's Something You Should Know

Calm - 5 Seconds of Summer

A few faves: Wildflower, High, Red Desert

Positions - Ariana Grande

A few faves: POV, Just Like Magic, Love Language

Manic - Halsey

A few faves: Still Learning, Clementine, Finally // Beautiful Stranger

Non-2020 Albums That Still Got Me Through the Year

These albums were not technically released in 2020, but they were released in late 2019 that I listened to them an unhealthy amount so I can't not mention them. Plus, both Harry & Taylor were my most listened to artists of 2020 so it's definitely deserved.

Fine Line - Harry Styles

A few faves: Sunflower Vol. 6, Treat People With Kindness, Adore You

Lover - Taylor Swift

A few faves: Cornelia Street, I Think He Knows, A Thousand Cuts

list
1

About the Creator

expositiffs

balancing the posi·tiffs & the nega·tiffs one musing at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.