Beat logo

10 of the best hip hop artists of the 90’s -you might not know about Vol #1

If ya don’t know now ya know

By PRiMe PeRfPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

The 90‘s were full of a bunch of super lit hip-hop artists- I mean absolutely incredible moments they just can’t be replicated. And, there’s way too many amazing emcees to mention and just one article, so this article is volume#1 with many more to come and only on the Vocal.media platform.

______________________________

Everything from underground hip-hop to mainstream hip-hop, depending on what you had access to in the age of CDs you might’ve missed out on a whole bunch of amazing music- so let me help fill in the gaps

______________________________

Mad skillz

Most notorious for his yearly recap (before Uncle Murder took it over without requesting to do so from Mad skillz)

When I first got a hold of his first album, I knew I had one of the most lit emcees I’ve ever heard in my CD player

Quality bars, extremely well handled verses, and his perception on the subjects were incredible.

Check a recent Track from Mad Skills and Travis Barker:

Masta Ace

An obvious choice for anybody that knows master Ace Music-Those who don’t know, this incredible MC has always been highly underrated in my opinion. Full of amazing lyrics, his cadence seems to be very similar to the style Eminem used early in his career. His vibes are always pure hip-hop and his message always touches the truth of the culture. Check the track below -splash

beat from : Tony Touch

With many tracks about being in the game for many years and how regardless of your skill set after a certain point the high fades in even if you were one of the dopest MC$ in the game -he emphasizes that everybody has their expiration date.

To me, he remains one of the most underrated artists from the 90’s era.

______________________________

Poor Righteous Teachers

I remember the first time I popped this album man I was so impressed with the level of care for the culture, the lack of unnecessary violence, brilliant word play, MC styles, and extremely lit beats.

Brand Nubian

Comprised of four MCs that are all incredible, I literally could put each one of them on this list independently. I’ve learned so much from this group, especially Mc Sadat X-he spits the second verse.

______________________________

Bobby digital aka RZA OF Wu-Tang Clan

Everyone in the hip-hop community and rap community knows Wu-Tang is absolutely one of the most lit groups that ever came out of hip-hop in the 90s, but most people might not know about the one album Reza dropped in the 90s which labeled Bobby digital an alter ego completely different than RZA /Peep love Jones. Absolutely one of my favorite tracks in the 90s that most people don’t know about.

______________________________

Living legends

Comprised of some of the dopest MCs of all time, everyone in the squad is absolutely lit. I remember going to their shows in the 90s and thinking I can’t believe this is actually happening!! They would sell out Chico State and would have the place bouncing up and down like hydraulics on a 64 impala. Do your research and check out all the individual emcees in this group. You won’t be let down now for a single second.

______________________________

Anticon

Wow another group of super lit emcees. Each one of these guys again deserves their own category -but it’s just too much to pick from - there’s so many songs to pick from ...so, I’m gonna give you a group album, but before I do, this group followed through with their name and disbanded after they became too popular and felt like they were icons. I remember their 10th anniversary in San Francisco... their unforgettable poetic talent was a off the charts! Enjoy!

______________________________

Cannibal ox

Another amazing hip-hop group. Underground hip-hop at its finest, these emcees are nothing to play around with. Check it out for yourself-rug bars, rug beats-the sound is like the definition of underground 90s hip hop.

______________________________

Aceyalone

One of LA’s mightiest heroes in the hip-hop underground community, this guy has bars on bars on bars-creativity level has to be genius, in my personal opinion. The beats are epic and totally LA. I can talk about this guy all day I’ll let you make the decision for yourself.

______________________________

Kirby Dominant

This is my all-time favorite MC from the 90s. Met him in person and walked an hour and a half in the snow to a show I couldn’t even get into (because I wasn’t 21)! Living legends were performing that night in Reno and this guy was there right when I finally got to the venue. Outback, I kicked the freestyle to him -he let me on the tour bus and then let me inside the venue holding his gear, but enough about my experience.

Kirby Dominate’s lyrics are absolutely impeccable! His level of quality and hip-hop is exactly what the game needed at the time. I picked up his album in a underground store and never looked back! He still stands as my favorite Underground MC!

______________________________Hope you enjoyed! Until next time,

I’m -Mc /PRiMe PeRf

If you did enjoy this article, visit:

For off the dome Freestyles/ Tracks & MerCh.

Until Vol#2

Blessings to all /I’m out :)

90s music
2

About the Creator

PRiMe PeRf

MC /FreeSTyle hip hop expert/ Producer / Singer / Writer

Passion for Empathy

Performs at music festivals

Keeps it Liit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.