Art logo

Your Final Journey

Fly Free, Sweet Soul

By Cathy holmesPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
53

The artwork featured in this piece is a print of a watercolor painting by British Columbia, Canada artist Donna Hanlon. Donna is an extended member of my family, through my brother, who was married to her grandmother, and I was happy to support her creativity.

I fell in love with her work when I first visited her home gallery in around 2010. I own several of her prints, including the piece featured in the cover picture of this story.

I’m not sure how much Donna is painting or dabbling in any other artistic ventures currently. I do know that she’s got two kids now to keep her busy, but I do also hope she’s finding time for her art as I am a true fan of her talent. She does have a Facebook page if you’d like to check out her work https://www.facebook.com/tinypurplepebble

I’d never claim to be an art aficionado, but there was something about Donna’s paintings that drew me in, this featured one in particular.

At first glance it looks as though the human hand has a hummingbird tethered to a chain, holding the bird back, preventing movement, stealing its freedom, and eventually, its life. As we humans seem to have a knack for living our lives to suit only ourselves, not caring about the very nature that sustains us, it made sense.

Except. The title of the painting, “Follow me,” may tell a different story. The title leads me to believe that the hummingbird is taking to the skies and encouraging the human to follow, dragging the human along, even. But follow where? Where is the hummingbird going? Are they trying to teach us the errors of our ways? Maybe by showing us their view of this beautiful rock we share with all creatures; they hope we’ll get a better understanding of our own part in nature - that we all have equal importance.

Or maybe it’s got nothing to do with nature. Maybe it’s just what it looks like on the surface; a hummingbird chained to a human finger. Or maybe it’s more surreal. I’m sure there are times in our lives when all of us felt trapped in one way or another. Maybe we are the hummingbird, the chain is our anxiety, and we just need to let go.

What the artist was specifically going for with this piece, I do not know for sure. As I’m confident she would tell you herself, it means whatever you want it to mean. Just like all art, it’s subjective. I’ve had this print for approximately ten years, I’ve admired it many, many times and even I hadn’t quite decided what I think it means to me.

Today that changed.

Those of you Vocal friends who are also Facebook friends of mine are aware that my brothers and I recently lost our mother. Some of you who subscribe to me on Vocal may also be aware of our loss from a poem I wrote just last week. Before I go further, I’d like to say thank you for your kind words of support.

Today, when I looked at the print of the hummingbird tethered to the hand, I got a whole different perspective of what that painting means to me. I did not see the hand holding back the bird. I did not see the bird trying to teach the human a lesson. I saw the bird leading, carrying, helping the holder along a journey and I finally figured out where they were going.

This short, simple poem is dedicated to my mother, Regina, and based on my interpretation of Donna Hanlon’s painting, “Follow Me.”

If I had hands to hold you,

I’d carry you along the way.

If I had arms to cradle you,

I’d hold you close today.

I know you fear the journey,

fear you travel alone.

But there’s no need to worry,

I’ve come to take you home.

*

Don’t fear that I can’t hold your weight.

Your spirit’s light and free.

I’m here to help you on your way,

You are no burden to me.

I know you see your loved ones,

and that it hurts your heart

To watch them mourn your earthly life,

and miss you when you part.

*

Don’t cry for those you’ve left behind,

I promise they’ll be okay.

They’ll travel with you, in your heart,

Till you meet again someday.

As they hold you in their hearts and minds,

they’ll know your soul is free,

and that you’ve taken your final journey,

So come and follow me.

PaintingInspiration
53

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Cathy, I love the personal connection you shared about your connection to the artist. I really appreciated you sharing your insights and interpretations of the painting! I love your perspective that all art is subjective, that really resinates with me! I am so sorry for your loss, my heart goes out to you! 💕 The poem dedicated to your mom and inspired by that work of art was breath taking! It was inspiring, emotionally evoking and just so touching! 💜 I teared up at the line “I’ve come to take you home”. This was overall such a beautiful piece, I find it hard to find words to do justice to express my thoughts to you. Congratulation on Top Story, I can see why you earned this badge! 🎉

  • I love the poem and the art. I'm sorry for your loss. I've just lost a son and your poem is deeply touching.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! Lol, I know I'm a tad late but I've been behind on Top Stories for about a week now. Just had some time today 😅

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Oh my! So lovely. So emotional. I am sorry for your loss, Cathy and Gerald. She must have been a wonderful woman, your Mum. My thoughts are with you both.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Cathy ~ Such Lovely Touching Depth ~ Brings out memories within all of us ~ The other day I was rolling down the driveway in my 'lectric wheelchair while my Garden Friendly Flock of 'Hummingbirds followed-bombarded to the 'Humm' of my chair motor - True Story - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    First of all, accept my deepest condolences on your loss. It's never easy to lose a loved one. I really enjoyed your story and the poem. I relate to them a lot. The beauty of true art is that it is free from the constraints of one-sided interpretations. We can attach any meaning we want to it, and it will teach us important lessons. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Denise Larkin12 months ago

    Your poem resonated with me about my own mother. It was so deeply expressive and personal. I really did love it and sorry for your loss. The painting is wonderful too. Congrats on a top story.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing on your personal journey to help heal. Beautiful words written from the heart.

  • That was such an emotional and beautiful poem for your mother, Cathy! It's so amazing how something static can give us different meanings at different points of my life. I don't own any artwork but I've experienced it through movies when I rewatch them after many years. It's so intriguing how art works this way. Subjective to different people and at diffirent phases of life.

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Aw this is so beautiful, Cathy - a perfect way to pay homage to someone who I’m sure was so important to you. I’m really sorry to hear about the passing of your Mother. Wishing you and your siblings the best ❤️

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful and so moving, my friend. 🥹❤️ A very heartfelt and exceptionally wonderful tribute to your mom. 🥹❤️❤️ Sending hugs ❤️❤️

  • Holly Pheni12 months ago

    Oh Cathy, what a deep and meaningful poem. Thank you for sharing so genuinely. Beautiful painting as well! Clearly, talent runs in the family.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Magnificent story Cathy. 🥰

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    There is such simple beauty in her art! I'm so glad you wrote this!! Thank you! 💖

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    If this isn't a winner I don't know what is ♥️

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I am truly sorry for your loss. My deepest condolences. I look at birds as a symbol of a love one visiting. This was a beautiful piece. Sending you hugs and comfort to you and your family. I am glad I got the chance to read this story. I was so busy last week . 😔

  • Kathryn Darason12 months ago

    Excellent

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    I am so sorry for the loss you and Gerard have suffered. I can only imagine how hard it's been for you all, so you have my deepest and warmest condolences. This painting, and poem are both beautiful and a fitting tribute to your mother. Now I need to go and speak to my own mum. Anyway, well done on being able to write so beautifully on something so raw and congrats on a well-deserved Top Story.

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    I am so sorry for your loss, Cathy. This is a beautiful painting and a gorgeous poem. ❤️

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    I'm sorry for your loss. 💔 Beautiful poem.

  • Heather Zieffle 12 months ago

    Inspiring! What a beautiful and healing poem. Congrats on TS, well deserved! 🕊

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. This was a beautifully written expression of not only the lovely painting but tribute to your mom. The poem brought me to tears too. Sending many virtual hugs. ♥️

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Yes, art is subjective. I’m learning to accept that. We can’t control how other people interpret our creations. Artists are hummingbirds, guiding people through their own healing journey. This was such a beautiful poem. I’m sorry you’ve lost someone so important to you. I’m very grateful for your words.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I was in tears reading this knowing how hard this has been on your and your family. What a gorgeous piece of art. I love that you know the artist and how the meaning of this scene has changed and evolved for you. And the poem was everything. An outpouring of pure love. Hugs to you my, friend, and congratulations on Top Story :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.