Art logo

The Truth About Gloria

There was an accident

By C. H. RichardPublished 11 months ago 13 min read
Top Story - June 2023
68
picture taken by author of Juno, Musuem of Fine Arts

photo taken by author using filters on Samsung phone

***Content/Trigger Warning. This story does contain violence and may not be suitable for some readers.***

My hands were trembling as I gripped the steering wheel of my 1979 white Ford Mercury that autumn night in October. The music of the 1980’s was playing in the background. I was sixteen, shy and trying to “fit in” my sophomore year in high school. My neighbor Siobhan, her boyfriend, Dan and his pal, Colin, as well as myself were at a Halloween party when Colin suggested we grab some beers and drive up to the woods where “she” was for some real fun instead “sticking around this lame ass party.”

The “she” he was referring to was this statue that all local teenagers in my neighborhood of Boston talked about, “the statue of Gloria.” Kids went up to the woods where she was located all the time to drink, smoke weed and mess around. The statue was cursed or something and would give you bad luck if you looked directly at her. She would send snakes after anyone who made her angry.

I secretly had a crush on Colin. My teenage eyes thought he was just so cool. He was tall, with dark hair and blue eyes. He walked with a swagger and confidence that seemed well beyond his years. However, as much as my teenage hormones were raging, I was hesitant about taking my car. I made a face towards Siobhan who was completely on board. She rolled her eyes at me “Come on, Annmarie you never want to do anything that doesn’t’ involve books! You are only young once!”

I took a deep breath and nodded. Before I knew it I was starting up my new automobile, a birthday present from my parents. It was my first car and though it was used, about 3 years old when I got it in 1982, to me it was the most beautiful vehicle ever made. The white exterior glistened in the darkness. It had an AM/FM cassette player that was somewhat special in those days. My mother was so proud to give it to me and added “how she could trust me to take care of it.” My ticket to freedom. I was able to drive myself to school, the library, my job at the mall and I guess to see a freaky possessed statue.

The guys piled in the back and Siobhan sat in the passenger seat as I drove. Siobhan and I were still dressed in costume, I was a rag doll and Siobhan, a gypsy. The guys had an assortment of horror masks that they kept switching around, every time they cracked open a beer. I knew as soon as soon as I hit the gas I had made a bad decision as Dan put on a scary clown face that was already giving me chills, but I could not find my voice.

Colin was the only one who had seen the statue. He sat directly in back of me and reached over from the back seat to stroke my hair which had fallen out of the red wig. I tried to listen as he gave directions. My cheeks were becoming flushed and not from the extra makeup.

“How big is thing?” Dan asked while pulling off his mask

“Not that big bro!” Colin answered as he stretched his arm out the open window in back flicking a cigarette.

By Amir Reza Hadizadeh on Unsplash

We had to cross over a one lane bridge as I tried to navigate in the darkness. The road to Gloria was dirt and overlooked a murky pond which had a foggy mist at its crest. Colin would share bits about Gloria’s history in between directing me as the road was full of twists and turns.

“She was a nurse that was raped and murdered while working at the local hospital like a hundred years ago.” He blurted out from the back seat. “The hospital made a statue of her. She will curse anyone who comes near or looks directly at her. A few years ago, a couple came up here to fuck and their car broke down. The guy went out to get help and the girl fell asleep in the car. When she woke up the next morning, she found him dead under a large tree branch. "

My instinct was to go back. The wind was starting to pick up blowing the leaves from the trees towards the windshield and then it started to rain. There was no way to turn around as the road had narrowed even further. Colin again reached over touching my shoulder. “Hey you okay, Miss Scary Doll Annie-Marie?”

I blushed again at the play on my name and costume as though it was some kind of compliment. “Yeah sure. Can’t wait to see this crazy little statue.” I took a quick glance at his hand on my shoulder and I held onto the steering wheel tighter to make the next turn as well as to keep my shaking hands steady.

“Oh, one other thing I forgot say,” Colin uttered out while he crushed his burnt bud into the backdoor ashtray, “There is an old abandoned mansion next to her. Sometimes a security guard will chase people out.”

“What! We could be arrested? Shit my parents will fucking kill me! I should never have let you talk me into this Siobhan!" I looked over at my friend who was staring over me with the look of sheer terror on her face.

I turned my head following her eyes and looked up to see a large white marble face appear as the tree branches moved. Gloria was huge! My voice came back as I screamed louder than I ever had in my life. Colin laughed and Dan was somewhat transfixed. I kept driving up and screaming. Siobhan was crying. “Shut the windows, shut the friggin windows!” She started to roll hers up.

photo by author

My whole body was shaking. I felt my heart racing as I pulled into the turn that led us right in front of this enormous figure, whose face was cracked and nose missing. Off in a short distance I could see the outline of building.

“Turn around Annemarie! Please! I want to get out of here!” Siobhan screamed.

“I’m trying Siobhan! I can’t see! There is no room!” I shouted back.

The rain was now coming down hard and the dirt was quickly becoming mud, I could feel myself losing traction as I tried to turn the car around. I thought I had cleared the turn when the car would not move. The tires were stuck in the mud. I kept hitting the gas and could smell the rubber burning underneath.

Colin yelled “Dan and I will get out and push! C’mon Dan don’t be a chicken shit!”

I looked back at Dan who was visibly apprehensive as he opened up the door. They both gave the car a few huge shoves as I pressed on the gas. Nothing, then another push, then another and with that the car flew across the drive almost right into Gloria. I slammed on the breaks just in time and came to a stop at the high pedestal below her feet. I could feel the eyes on me. I looked at Siobhan who was paralyzed in shock. I opened the window half way because somehow that was safer. I yelled for Colin and Dan. I could not see either. My teeth began to chatter. The rain made the night vision even harder to see. I could not hear them. I called out again.

“C’mon guys we want to get out of here!” Rain just continued to pour.

All of sudden headlights came on from the outside the old house. “Oh shit!” I mumbled as I rolled up my window.

“We’ve got to go Siobhan! I cannot be arrested! I’m sorry I don’t know where they went.” Siobhan just looked at me wide eyed and nodded.

I put my foot on the gas and sped as fast I could with the headlights following close behind. I tried to maneuver every turn down the narrow dirt road. I did not look up again at the statue. My stomach was in knots. I was determined to get out of there. I came down the third turn before the water when the clown face mask blew onto the windshield. I screamed and missed the next turn and my white ford Mercury went airborne then dove into the water.

By 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

I remember looking over at Siobhan as we were in the air and tears were rolling down her face.

“We will be okay I promise!” I tried to whisper

I knew that if I did not act fast no one would find us.

We hit the water with a loud crash. It felt like time stood still, but my beautiful vehicle was not intended to float and we sunk quickly. I was holding my breath and trying to keep water from entering my lungs. The headlights were still on and I hit the inside light to see before water completely filled the car. The water was up to my waist and filling quickly as the back door window was open. I took a breath and gasped holding my breath again I looked over at Siobhan who was knocked out. All of sudden a rock came through the passenger window and hit me on the head. I felt blood run down my face and turned as I saw Dan trying to pull Siobhan out of her seatbelt. He had opened her door. As he pulled her out, he gave me a frozen stare.

Just then this hand came across my mouth from the left side, I was being saved too! Then another hand came in front of me from the right side towards my neck I saw the tattoo of a snake on the middle finger. The hand started squeeze my neck. I could not breathe. I was not being saved! I was being attacked. I pulled and pushed, but the hands were strong and had a firm grip! I began to kick and tried to bite the palm covering my mouth. I tried to pull the off the fingers that were pressing into my neck. I couldn’t get that hand off. All I could think was my mother will be so sad. I tried to scream for help but I was losing air and energy. Then I heard this hissing sound.

I looked as this snake came through the now open passenger door. It came right up to my side and I heard a shallow voice curse in back of me as the hand let go of my neck. I grabbed the rock that had landed on my lap. I got my seatbelt off and turned to look as the figure was moving out the back window. I threw the rock above the water and at his head. He never turned around but a trail of blood followed him as he pulled through. I looked around quickly as the snake was gone. I crawled out the open door of the car. My wig fell off as I rose to the top of the water. I gasped for air as glow of blue lights from the police car on the road lit up the night sky.

When they pulled me out, I experienced a loss of consciousness. I had taken a hard hit to the head and suffered a severe concussion. I did apparently get a great deal of water into my lungs as well.

Siobhan came to see me in the hospital. She told me that Dan had saved her. She said Colin went to get the security guard who called the police though he never came down to the water. Colin also hit his head as he fell while running. I remember nodding in agreement I seemed to have blocked the whole night from memory and I could not remember.

I never really hung out with Siobhan again after that night. I would see her in class and sometimes our eyes would meet with the connection that we were both experiencing the same pain. Colin fell off the radar and I heard that Dan was killed in car accident while drunk a year later.

I left Boston when I went to college and only returned to see my family. I became a librarian as books were my place of comfort and I felt safe among them. I did not think about that night.

However, when the country started protesting and taking down statues, something woke inside me.

I did an online search for the Statue of Gloria and surprisingly her story popped right up. She had been repaired. She was not actually a Gloria at all, but rather a priceless Roman goddess named Juno who was relocated to Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. I looked in awe at the previous pictures and then at her new remodeled face. Memories started to flood back. Things started to connect that I could not see as a teenager.

photo of statue "Juno" by author taken at Museum of Fine Arts Boston

I found Siobhan on social media. She was still in Boston. We met for coffee. She told me she had been married and divorced. She had changed her job many times over and found it difficult to trust anyone or any situation. She said that night had changed her from a carefree teenager to someone with severe anxiety. “Annmarie I cannot even listen to 80’s music without becoming afraid!” After coffee we stopped at an exotic pet store to pick up food for her cat. It was enlightening to see her, but I knew I needed to go further.

I went to the museum early the next day. I was still apprehensive when I reached the special wing that had been dedicated to Juno. I walked slowly up and met her gaze. I felt a strange sense of peace. With her new face she looked serene. She was where she was supposed to be. I took a few pictures and said goodbye to the fear I had been carrying all these years. I then went to the place where she used to scare teenagers.

photo by author

I stepped back from the large rocks and waited. The pond still had a fog around it just as it did that night. Beautiful and yet this place still whispered sadness. I continued to wait. It was getting close to sunset. That’s when I heard the tires coming up the dirt path. A pickup truck that was flying up the road came to a halt. I watched him as he got out of his truck. I waited and the confidence I had been searching for my entire life rose within.

“Hi Colin!” I yelled as calmly as I could. He looked mystified then a grimacing grin of recognition came across his face. The years had not been kind to him. He was weathered and looked twenty years older than his age. His gray hair was greasy and slicked behind his ears. He walked slowly towards me. I moved towards the rocks at the end of the pond.

“Well Scary Doll Annie-Marie, the one that got away!” he snickered.

He pulled out a cigarette from his pocket and I could see the snake tattoo even from a distance.

Slowly he walked over. I kept my phone close. “Have you seen her since she was moved?”

“No! Don’t need to! The people that owned this place made a mint off the sale! Didn’t do me any good! They just let me stay here if I keep up the place."

“Does that include scaring and attacking girls for your own sick pleasure? One hell of a security guard you were!” I yelled.

“Killing a few bitches like you was no bother! It was just a thrill!” I had to take out Dan too! He thought we were just going to scare you both but I had other plans! He decided to be a hero! I invited him out to drink and then made it look like an accident when he was already dead as he ran off the road. I always made it look like an accident! That couple and all those stories were all me! You were supposed to be an accident too!”

He moved closer and was now on the same rock as me.

“You got lucky that night but your luck may have run out!” he reached for my hair and I stepped back. I held up my phone with the picture of Gloria to stare back at him. The sun light burned a red glow from the phone and he became angry. “Get that fucking face away from me!” he yelled

I moved back and he stepped onto another rock. I continued to hold the picture facing at him. The snake that I had purchased from the pet store slithered around his leg but he was unaware. He kept trying to reach for me and the phone. He went to move as the king cobra struck up and bit. He screamed in agony while he fell into the foggy water hitting his head and bleeding. I watched as the snake pulled him further into the pond. The color drained from his face. His body soon floated off. I grabbed the large pet carrier from where I had hidden it in the woods and walked down the dirt road. When I was over the bridge I texted Siobhan;

“ There was an accident! Put on some old tunes. We are okay now!"

This tale is a work of fiction based on a scary memory of Juno who was known as the Statue of Gloria in my Boston neighborhood before she was relocated the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. When she was on a private property outside behind a wooded hill, there were many tales that she was possessed. Teenagers, me included, would drive up to see her to scare ourselves silly, only to be chased out by what we thought was a security guard. (Turns out it was the owner of the property who used to put on a mask to scare us away).

In 2012 The Museum of Fine Arts in Boston purchased her for a large undisclosed sum of money. She is so large that she was decapitated and a forklift was needed to bring her into the museum in two pieces. Two years were spent restoring her from the 150 years she spent outside into the statue that she once was so that she could be seen in a much less scary place.

Statue of Gloria in Author's Boston Neighborhood Scaring Teenagers.

Juno the largest Roman Statue in North America at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston

Sculpture
68

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I knew that Colin was a dick bag! 😁

  • Julygwynet5 months ago

    This is a great story. I enjoyed this story.I just published a new story . If you want to read my story then visit this link https://vocal.media/motivation/eternal-serenade-a-love-story-painted-by-the-sea

  • Winnie Asare11 months ago

    I love it!

  • Gerard Evans 11 months ago

    Very interesting post

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Enjoyed this very much, great story telling Congratulations

  • Congratulations on your Awesome Top Story❤️‼️

  • Interesting story. I enjoyed reading it. Congratulations on TS

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    Chilling, creative, satisfying!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story Cindy! 🎉

  • Very compelling. I was in for the entire ride. Great job!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Congratulations on your TOP STORY Cindy!!!!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    There's that Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Mercy Linda Tiro11 months ago

    I enjoyed this thoroughly. Excellent story

  • Kateryna Kovalchuk11 months ago

    Excellent story

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    This is fantastic. Your storytelling skills are so immersive, you weave a narrative that keeps the reader engaged. You have the gift.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Excellent story telling, never heard a story save by a snake until now. Colin, is always the good looker in the story. This was so captivating 🥰🥳

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Love the story and appreciate the back story. It's awesome when we find inspiration from our life's experiences. You put a creative twist on it to put us on edge. Loved it!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A very enjoyable read and a nice surprise ending.

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Wow. Gosh this was superb. Creepy and totally phenomenal. Great stuff.

  • I enjoyed this thoroughly.

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Awesome. It held me in the story, it is a fantastic thriller! I love this.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins11 months ago

    This was a good and scary thriller!!!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This was so good I felt like it almost ended too abruptly. LOL GREAT story!!

  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    Great storytelling!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.