Art logo

The Story of Me

A painting that my coworker made for me- and the story behind it

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 11 months ago • 3 min read
1
Art by Emma-Lynn Edwards

“The artist sees what others only catch a glimpse of."

― Leonardo da Vinci

This is by far my favourite piece of artwork that I have ever seen- and there is a little bit of a backstory behind it's creation.

I bought a piece of artwork from this girl I knew in the community that I live in a few years back on Facebook Marketplace. It was a glow-in the dark alien piece and I LOVED it. However, when my ex-partner and I broke up, I left him all the artwork in the house.

Last year, I started working with her at my family business. We got talking about her art and I brought up the alien painting that I had bought from her all those years ago.

She laughed and told me she would steal it out of the house for me, but I told her that was not necessary. As my ex-partner would have utterly lost his own damn mind if that thing went missing. Plus stealing is wrong.

So instead she decided to make me a new one inspired by that piece and well, me. And I honestly have never loved a piece of artwork so much before.

I got chills from the moment I received it above my head.

I have been going through a bit of a hair colour phase ever since I started working in the bar scene. (I don't think that is changing anytime soon either as I already have my next colour picked out) But, my hair was dyed blue at the time of the painting's creation so my friend painted my hair blue. She copied my style and also happened to include my tattoos and my very spiritual side which utterly melted my heart when I received the painting. I fawned over the piece instantly. I never owned something so beautiful before.

There was a quote on the back of the painting that read this:

Angel of Courage

When life tosses you a challenge, or maybe a few, and you have to decide just what to do, this "Thoughtful" little angel will be right there to spread your wings with courage so you can do what you must do, to follow your hopes and dreams and make them all come true!

The actual angel is hanging on the painting itself.

I never fell in love with a piece of artwork before. But this was love at first sight. It was made specifically for me and I know it too. Everything about my friend's artistry is amazing in my opinion. It was similar to the first painting that I bought but honestly this piece was just perfect for me.

The friend of mine that gave this painting to me, she is beginning a career as a tattoo artist. I have never been more proud of anyone before- I mean besides my own two kiddos. She is a truly inspiring woman and I miss working with her on a regular basis. She made me laugh a lot. She easily became one of my favourite coworkers that I have ever had.

When I moved in May, the first painting I hung up was this piece in my bedroom. Along with my moon picture and the skeleton one I have.

She does not have a business page or an art page yet. She just creates because she is an artist. I would honestly kill for a tattoo from this woman because of how talented she truly is with her art.

What do you think of the painting? I truly love it and the friend of mine that created it.

Chloe Rose Violet

Mixed MediaPaintingInspiration
1

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.