Art logo

The Last Gift

Unveiling a Father's Secret

By magic.ethPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Like
The Last Gift
Photo by Wijdan Mq on Unsplash

One day, Alice receives a letter in the mail, addressed to her from her father. She is shocked and confused, as she thinks it must be a mistake or a prank. She opens the letter and reads it. It is written in her father’s handwriting, and it says:

"Dear Alice,

If you are reading this letter, it means that I am no longer alive. I am sorry that I left you so soon, and that I couldn’t be there for you as you grew up. You are my precious daughter, and I love you more than anything in the world.

I know that you are going to marry Tom soon, and I am very happy for you. He seems like a wonderful man, and I am sure he will make you happy. But there is something that I need to tell you before you marry him. Something that I have kept secret from you and your mother for all these years. Something that will change your life forever.

Alice, Tom is not who he says he is. He is not your fiancé. He is your brother.

Yes, you heard me right. Tom is your brother. He is the son of me and another woman, whom I had an affair with when I was married to your mother. I never told anyone about this, not even Tom’s mother. I was too ashamed and guilty of what I had done.

Tom was born a few months after you, and he grew up in another city with his mother. I never saw him or contacted him, but I always kept an eye on him from afar. I wanted to make sure he was safe and happy.

When I found out that he had met you and fallen in love with you, I was horrified. I tried to stop him, but he wouldn’t listen to me. He said he loved you more than anything, and that he didn’t care about anything else. He said he would never hurt you or leave you.

I didn’t know what to do. I wanted to tell you the truth, but I was afraid of hurting you and ruining your happiness. I also didn’t want to lose your love and respect. So I decided to keep silent, and hope that nothing bad would happen.

But now that I am gone, I can’t keep this secret any longer. I have to tell you the truth, before it’s too late. Before you make a terrible mistake.

Alice, please forgive me for what I have done. Please don’t hate me or Tom for this. We are both victims of fate and circumstance. We never meant to hurt anyone.

Please don’t marry Tom. Please break up with him as soon as possible. Please find someone else who can love you and make you happy.

Please don’t let this ruin your life.

I love you, Alice.

Your father."

Alice finishes reading the letter and drops it on the floor. She feels numb and dizzy, as if she has been hit by a truck. She can’t believe what she has just read. She can’t believe that Tom is her brother. She can’t believe that her father lied to her for all these years.

She doesn’t know what to do or how to feel.

She doesn’t know if this is real or a nightmare.

She doesn’t know if this is the last gift or the last curse from her father.

General
Like

About the Creator

magic.eth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.