Art logo

Obsessed With Flowers

Roses as Human

By Anthony TerryPublished about a month ago 3 min read
5

Roses as Humans

I love metaphors as a way to show what I'm thinking. I struggle to put words in my mouth but find my voice when writing my thoughts down. I struggle to speak but I thrive when I write. Roses as Humans is what has become my identity. We are all broken and in pieces, there's a thorn in our flesh. But despite these flaws and failures we were made beautifully and we are all beautiful.

We are Beautiful

Just as a flower is beautiful; we can be beautiful too. But within the beauty of a rose, there comes pain and hurt and disappointment. The rose is beautiful but it has also put up safeguards to protect itself from being hurt. The rose has grown thorns from its stem and when you try to pick it it punctures your hand and causes you pain. You can't seem to grasp it without being gentle and finding your way around the thorns. But they're small and hard to know so you must take time to learn about the nature of the rose.

This can be the same for humans. They can be beautiful but when you try to get close their safeguards from past experiences may prick you and cause you to hurt. We all have these buriers set up in one way or another. Whether we've been hurt in the past or struggled with a downfall or sin. We are all far from perfect but luckily we can work on being perfected by the love of Christ.

Lonely

We find ourselves lonely when we don't want to take the time to learn about someone else. When we won't let others in we struggle to come alive. We are social beings and need to have fellowship with others around us. Our introverted selves still need others to feel loved. We need the support of others to be alive. It's a cycle of life we sometimes try to avoid.

Sometimes for me, I would rather feel alone than work on making a friendship last. But that is unhealthy and out of a selfish state of mind and not a way to live a life. When I lost all my friends I thought it was over. But when I found new friends that cared I knew there was more to life than just having friends. You need to find people who align with you and support your dream. Be that person to someone else to help them feel supported and not lonely in life.

Friendships

The most important thing you can be in life is a friend. People need you to grow they need your love and kindness to thrive. We need each other and can't do this on our own. Don't settle for just anyone though. There are people in this world who will drag you down and then there are those who will help you climb a mountain. Take the time to find those who want to see your dreams and ambitions come true. Find those who want to be there for you and love you for who you are and not for what they can get out of you.

KNOW this. YOU are beautiful. YOU are needed. And YOU ARE WORTH IT. Don't ever forget how much this world needs you. You are a beautiful rose. We are Roses as Humans.

#####

Thanks for reading! If you like my content feel free to leave a like and subscribe so you don't miss out on my next post! If you would like to support my work consider leaving a tip or sharing this post with a friend or two! I appreciate all your support it means the world to me! You can also find me on Instagram @rosesashumans

InspirationProcessJourneyGeneral
5

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    like roses, our complexity and weaknesses contribute to our distinct beauty, fostering a deeper appreciation for both ourselves and the connections we have with others.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.